We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gower house hotel, nice and lovely location place”
Review of Gower House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gower House Hotel
Ranked #629 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gower house hotel, nice and lovely location place”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Very nice staff. i liked staying there. it is very good located. very central and great for Soho, Oxford Street and British museum. it is budget place, simple, but very clean and better then other more expensive hotels in central London. would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    89
    58
    16
    11
See reviews for
55
70
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NY,NY USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The Gower House Hotel ( b & b) is located in Bloomsbury. The hotel is undergoing remodelling but did not hinder the stay there. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you are expecting the Hyatt-Regency, this is not your place. It is clean and efficient...but ideally located within walking distance to the central portion of London. The rooms are clean and on the small size (we had a double) and the breakfast was ordinary. However, the location to the tube (Goodge) and nice atmosphere certainly made it worthwhile.

Room Tip: perferably on the back side ..away from the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I chose this hotel based on previous guest's reviews. Sure, the facilities are simple, the decor is old (although refurbishments are underway) and the rooms are small with some traffic noise if you are facing the street. But the hotel is basically clean, the beds are comfortable and the staff are very friendly, efficient and helpful. If you want 5* accommodation then don't stay here, but if like me you want a bed for the night close to the west end at a reasonable price, then you could do a lot worse than the Gower House. They provide free shower gels and shampoo, a flat screen TV and tea/coffee facilities in the room, free a cooked breakfast (included in basic room price) and a safe for valuables. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter as are rooms higher up. No lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We didn't expect too much, so overall we had a pleasant stay in the Gower House. It is a budget hotel, however it is located near a subway station (Goodge) and pretty close to some main tourist attractions. The facilities in the room were a bit outmoded, but we found that everyhting was very clean. Breakfast is sober, but sufficient.
We'll consider another stay when we are back in London!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yooree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Hi, enjoyed my stay at your hotel, would definitely consider a stay there in future.

Swift check was excellent. Room 12 (on top floor), which I was assigned, was a nice room although, some minor issues - also, I was advised in e-mail, when originally booking, that this room had a nice view - however, this was not the case. Very noisy at night (due to windows being open, because of the hot weather), also the street being constantly busy (and noisy all night - also, the sirens from the emergency services). I was disappointed however on Saturday afternoon, whereby I had to ask at reception for replacement teabags/milk/sugar, etc - the cleaner had been into the room, and tidied the bed (which didn't need much done, as I had already tidied this), but forgot to replenish these items. Also, the table at the side of the bed was holding "old" water below the plastic, which I had to dry with a towel - I am not sure what had happened to this, prior to me having the room. At breakfast yesterday, I did ask for boiled egg and bacon - but only got the boiled egg, so don't know what happened there!

Hotel was within easy reach of Tottenham Court Road, Oxford Street, Covent Garden, Soho and many more other places of interest in the centre of London. Also, a short walk from Euston Square Tube Station - if arriving by this means of transport. Also London's King Cross Railway Station.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room at the rear of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#810 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#537 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#542 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#133 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#90 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#532 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gower House Hotel

Property: Gower House Hotel
Address: 57 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #629 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): $146 - $294
Hotel Class:2 star — Gower House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gower House Hotel is a pleasant, Bed & Breakfast hotel, offering accommodation in single, double and family rooms. All of them are en-suite rooms with private bathroom equipped with LCD TVs and tea & coffee making facilities. Wireless internet access is available in all rooms. Situated in a terrace of Georgian town houses in Bloomsbury, this listed building is typical of the architectural style of the area. We are directly opposite the famous Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, and just a short walk from the British Museum. The many shops, theatres, cinemas and restaurants of the West End are all within easy reach, as are University College Hospital, several London University college sites, and the newly built British Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Gower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gower Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing