We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time had by all”

Hidden Depths Canal Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We have 2 boats for hire for a party or sightseeing cruise on the Regent's Canal. Our larger boat, Freda seats up to 42 and Lapwing seats up to 12. Meet at Granary Square, King's Cross for a trip through a lock to either Camden or enter the 200 year old, underground Islington Tunnel which is only accessible by boat and leafy Islington. Bring alcohol, food and music. In the event of rain or cold weather the boat has transparent covers.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had a wonderful time on 'Freda' celebrating a milestone birthday with 40 friends and family. There was plenty of room for us all, and the wet weather did not spoil our enjoyment at all. The boat was beautifully decorated and the crew very helpful and welcoming.
We brought our own drink and music and thoroughly enjoyed partying along the canals. The tunnel was a particular highlight!
We all had a great time and would recommend this trip for any group with something to celebrate. Thank you Barbara and crew for making our birthday celebrations so special.

1  Thank debzee35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Hidden Depths Canal Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We are really pleased you enjoyed your boat trip and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hen do"
in 10 reviews
"kings cross"
in 11 reviews
"canal boat"
in 7 reviews
"summer party"
in 5 reviews
"hour cruise"
in 5 reviews
"granary square"
in 4 reviews
"larger boat"
in 2 reviews
"long tunnel"
in 2 reviews
"great event"
in 2 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 3 reviews
"fantastic trip"
in 3 reviews
"fun activity"
in 2 reviews
"toilet facilities"
in 3 reviews
"brilliant fun"
in 2 reviews
"history lesson"
in 2 reviews
"birthday treat"
in 2 reviews
"two hours"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018

Booked for my birthday night out and had a great time. The boat crew were really accommodating and fun and the actual trip itself was great, lots of cool views and spooky tunnels! Absolutely fantastic and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a fun night out as something different to do in London

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank NoMagRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Hidden Depths Canal Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for taking time to leave us a lovely review, see you onboard again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

It does what it says on the tin.

There's room for loads of people and alcohol is permitted.

If you are a Londoner you will probably be fascinated by the underground network of canal tunnels and their history. It is quite astonishing to think that there is a whole different London underneath all the parts we already know.

The staff give a brief but educational history lesson as you go up and down the canal. Going through the Islington tunnel which is about 3/4 of a mile long is a weird and truly fascinating experience.

There is a little toilet on board which was clean and the staff are very keen on their health and safety. The trip should last roughly an hour and a half. We all enjoyed the experience and particularly as a Londoner it is an absolute must.

1  Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapwing L, Owner at Hidden Depths Canal Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Hi Charles,
Thank you for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your trip with us. Some of the crew are happy to give an informal talk regarding areas of historical interest when asked but this is not a standard part of the trip. We also have a minimum 2hr booking period which allows sufficient time to experience Islington Tunnel and Canal locks. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

The only thing I could have asked better from this day was the sun to come out! which is beyond their control. It was drizzling but there was a cover and was a good temp. Barbara was great and efficient at getting back to all my enquiries during the booking process, and the crew was more than helpful with letting us get on a bit earlier to set up, and helped me destress a little with all the organisation for my sisters 30th. The crew gave us some history about the canal and the tunnels and Denise was more than hospitable helping me out amazingly with chilling our drinks :). I really appreciate the time and effort from everyone involved and helping us out on the day. Will definitely recommend to others looking to hire a boat!!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank amandaduu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Hidden Depths Canal Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for taking time to leave us a lovely review! As every trip we do is an important party for someone, we always try to make sure that each group feels special! It was lovely to meet you. Thank you Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Amazing captain/crew mates, very well looked after and an even more amazing ride down the canal. The tunnels were especially cool. 5* would thoroughly recommend!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank philipstevenmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hidden Depths Canal Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Hidden Depths Canal Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing