We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a good pub should be”
Review of Roebuck Hampstead

Roebuck Hampstead
Ranked #7,277 of 25,464 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Description: Nestled in between Hampstead and Belsize Park, opposite the Royal Free Hospital and just a stone’s throw from Hampstead Heath, the Roebuck is a traditional local pub that has been welcoming people since Victorian times. We pride ourselves on always offering the warmest of welcomes and a great classic British menu. We are well known for our famous pies that changes by the season. Serving you handcrafted beers & ales, premium spirits from around the world, fabulous cocktails & a wine list to select your bottle from. To the rear of the pub is our beautiful garden, a true ‘hidden gem’! With an abundance of shelter, heaters and blankets, this is the perfect place to while away a summer’s afternoon or even to brave a chilly winter’s evening. Downstairs at the Roebuck, you will find Fawn Bar, a beautiful, cosy bar and lounge, perfect for private hire.
Restaurant details
Description: Nestled in between Hampstead and Belsize Park, opposite the Royal Free Hospital and just a stone’s throw from Hampstead Heath, the Roebuck is a traditional local pub that has been welcoming people since Victorian times. We pride ourselves on always offering the warmest of welcomes and a great classic British menu. We are well known for our famous pies that changes by the season. Serving you handcrafted beers & ales, premium spirits from around the world, fabulous cocktails & a wine list to select your bottle from. To the rear of the pub is our beautiful garden, a true ‘hidden gem’! With an abundance of shelter, heaters and blankets, this is the perfect place to while away a summer’s afternoon or even to brave a chilly winter’s evening. Downstairs at the Roebuck, you will find Fawn Bar, a beautiful, cosy bar and lounge, perfect for private hire.
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Three of us we went for a late Saturday lunch. The pub was quiet and we had a quiet corner area to ourselves. Food highlights were the watercress and pea soup and the smoked haddock. The staff recommended Urban Provence rose wine which was delicious, but not cheap at over £30 a bottle.
We found the surroundings pleasant and attractive with attentive service when you wanted it.
We also visited for a drink mid Sunday afternoon. The atmosphere was very different, full and bustling with diners. We sat in the sun on the very pleasant front terrace enjoying some of the Roebuck’s speciality gins.
The Roebuck is the sort of pub you want on your doorstep, timeless, unthemed and offering good quality.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OneBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroebuckh, Manager at Roebuck Hampstead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thank you very much for such lovely comments, hope to see you soon at The Roebuck!

Roebuck Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Had the smoked haddock fish pie here and it was fairly good. They have a good selection of beers on tap as well. The server was really attentive at first then towards the end she completely forgot about us. That just made the dinner not as good overall. Had to go up to the bar to get our bill after waiting over 30min and didn't get desserts as a result.

Thank timothy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroebuckh, Manager at Roebuck Hampstead, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for your review, your feedback is really important to us. We do apologise for the service, this was due to some internal problems of our power supply, where we had to eventually close the pub. I do hope we can make it up to you in the future, please email us at roebuck@youngs.co.uk to discuss further.

Kind regards,
The Roebuck Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch. Great food. Be hungry, portions are big. Slight wait as all cooked fresh. Anna was very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend it. Dog friendly as well. Nice garden and seating out front.

Thank nathantgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroebuckh, Manager at Roebuck Hampstead, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you very much for your review! We hope to see you soon!
The Roebuck Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We held an informal party for 40 friends and family in the Fawn cellar bar at the Roebuck.
Well, our guests are still talking about the food,room and service and how good it all was. Thank you to all the team for a lovely evening.
It was also the best value venue we found in the area when searching for a location for our function.
The sharing platters really must be tried !
Andy & Val.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank coulaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroebuckh, Manager at Roebuck Hampstead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you for the lovely review we really enjoyed hosting your engagement party and i am really glad you had a great time. Come back again soon!

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

As I walk in while I wait for my friends, a staff approaches me and offers to get me a drink while i choose for our table. As they weren’t that busy so i was told that i can sit wherever i like. This pub is really clean, posh and beautiful. It’s like it wasn’t a pub. Had my aperol spritz, got the menu and my friends came bit by bit and said the exact same thing. We ordered burgers, pies, fish + chips. Drank all the way through in their beer garden. The food is fantastic! Service is great. Cool staff members and the manager in was really lovely, taken really care of us and joked around. Hope the roebuck stays the same. Continue the legacy. Great food service and quality. P.s. great garden but the closing hours are sad 9:45pm, but rules should apply!

Thank kylajaworski95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroebuckh, Manager at Roebuck Hampstead, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Thank you kyla for your lovely review, i'm glad you enjoyed your time at The Roebuck, we wish we could keep the garden open later too. Please come back soon.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roebuck Hampstead also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Roebuck Hampstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing