We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LSE loving it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LSE Northumberland House
Ranked #138 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LSE loving it”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I was delighted to be invited to a swanky do at the Savoy, but as i work for a charity i was flummoxed as to where i could stay.
I used laterooms to find a good rate - unbelievable i should say (Savoy quoted £400 as 'best rate avaiable'!) and i went on trip advisor for reviews.
Based on that advice i requested an internal room (hoping sans kids duties and free top wine i would indulge in a lie-in until, say, 7am) and got just that.
I could open the door, fall on my bed whilst touching the bathroom door - just what i expected. But i also got fab, clean sheets, a great welcome and THE best location. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    113
    40
    20
    14
See reviews for
38
75
58
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Normally stay at a place near Marble Arch, but they were fully booked so I went to LateRooms.com...
This is student accommodation, so very basic and quite small, but clean, friendly staff, very cheap and less than a minute from Trafalgar Square. This is not a hotel, so if you want something fancy you will be disappointed. However if you just want somewhere to sleep in central London, you can't beat this for price and location...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suki351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

LSE offers great cheap rooms in a very central location, the rooms are kept very clean with a pod bathroom which is small but clean. LSE offers twin rooms, doubles and single rooms all with ensuite bathrooms.
Th share kitchens are a little smelly but handy if you want to cook up some chicken noodle soup.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest US
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed 6-12 Sep 2011; stayed each year for 6 years.
BEST POSSIBLE LOCATION in LONDON for access to
Trafalgar, theatre, opera, museums, parks, palaces,
Thames, South Bank
Keep in mind this is student housing, not full service hotel

Many ADVANTAGES:
Easy to book and pay via Internet; fast check in by staff
Friendly helpful staff for registration and housekeeping
Two efficient relatively large lifts; rarely waited one minute
En suite: efficient student room + small modern bathroom pod
Large bath/hand towels replaced as requested
Well equipped shared kitchen with tea/coffee making
items,including refrigerator and freezer space
Plentiful hot water in both bath and kitchen
Bookshelves in lounge--visitor can leave unwanted books
and take any book left on shelves
Tesco Express at corner for water + breakfast/lunch items
St. Martin's in the Fields serves br/lun/din at moderate prices
(~8 pounds for large main course; other items
somewhat expensive)

Just a few PROBLEMS/DISADVANTAGES
Several steps up to registration; small open-deck elevator only for wheelchairs
Two minor problems: debris behind bed and broken lamp; corrected immediately by staff
Had free unlimited computer/Internet use in past; no longer available; now costs one pound
for quick, daily email check
Didn't use Wifi in student lounge

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This was my second visit to Northumberland House and this time I was with my 7 year old niece. The room was lovely and clean with toilets and hand soap provided which was a bonus. The twin room was comfy and the right size for a stay where you spend very little time in. Beds were clean and comfy considering they were singles and I'm used to a double. The bathroom is a little pod which my niece thought was fantastic. That side the showers are amazing. No shortage of hot water and not too small that you can not wash properly.

The use of the kitchen(s) was fantastic. Only down side to this is not everyone returns their pots so sometimes you are short on a few things but after all this is student accommodation. Lots of storage space for food in cupboards and our kitchen had two large fridges and a freezer.

The only thing that let it down was the view, or lack of it. Our window looked out onto a brick wall and on the floor was lots of cigarette buts, cans and rubbish. Not nice and therefore we spent all week with the window and curtains shut. Not sure how easy it would be to clean this up but I wouldn't want to live with it as a student.

I would highly recommend this place just for the central location and lovely staff. If you don't mind basis but a little up from a hostel then this would be the accommodation for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Trafalgar Hotel
The Trafalgar Hotel
#357 of 1,067 in London
2,649 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#111 of 1,067 in London
4,564 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#196 of 1,067 in London
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Northumberland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Northumberland House

Property: LSE Northumberland House
Address: 8A Northumberland Avenue | Trafalgar Square, London WC2N 5BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
Price range (per night): $136 - $209
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Northumberland House 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northumberland House provides great value self-catered accommodation in a magnificent Grade II listed building just off Trafalgar Square.The accommodation is perfectly placed for all of the tourist attractions in central London- theatres, museums, galleries, Covent Garden and Regent Street are all within easy walking distance.With its historic building, great location, affordable prices and modern facilities (including en-suite throughout), Northumberland House is one of the most attractive places to stay in central London ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your LSE Northumberland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London School Of Economics Northumberland House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing