We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Afternoon Tea”

Ting at the Shangri la Hotel
Ranked #2,329 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Price range: USD 3 - USD 38
Cuisines: Asian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southwark
Description: Ting restaurant presents a modern European menu with subtle Asian influences, made using locally-sourced ingredients and served within an elegant and contemporary setting of Chinoiserie design. Set within comfortable furnishings and with a feeling of subtle glamour, Ting lounge offers a distinctive a la carte menu of authentic Asian specialties alongside classic comfort food and two types of Afternoon Tea. Signature dishes include hand-dived scallops from the north-west Highland coast cooked a la plancha and served with carrot, ginger and a light yuzu and grape seed oil dressing and organic Welsh lamb from Rhug Estate, glazed with mirin, sake and soy sauce served with root vegetables and Kentish apples. The London restaurant features views overlooking the meandering River Thames, Tower Bridge, Canary Wharf, Maritime Greenwich and out towards the historic counties of Kent, Surrey and Sussex.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had the Asian-inspired afternoon tea at Ting on our visit to London, and we were delighted with the experience. It all starts with hand towels brought on a tray that has dry ice in the bottom. Scented water is poured on top to create a mist that covers the entire table. It was quite a presentation.

The tea and the food were both incredibly delicious. We loved that the foods utilized Asian flavors and were not your typical tea snacks. The service was perfect, and the view is simply amazing. This was a fantastic way to spend an afternoon in London!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-LaLondon, Director of Food and Beverage at Ting at the Shangri la Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

David G,

Thank you for reviewing your afternoon tea experience at Ting. We are elated to read that you were warmly accommodated during your visit.

We also pleased to read that you enjoyed the scented ice presentation while eating those delicious Asian-based flavours and tea selection.

Your feedback is valuable to us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Aurelien Mouren
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 207 of 2,266 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Went for a friend's birthday yesterday, needless to say the view was amazing, but i wish the food was at least substandard so we could leave somewhat satisfied.
The service was great and the appearance was immaculate.
However,the salad seemed like it had come out of an iceland ready pack, and was dressed with a dollop of mayonnaise. The stuffed cabbage was almost inedible and my friend left her plate full.
The duck main was overdone and lacking flavour. My friend's cod main contained pork which she was not informed of.
Altogether the shard does not meet the standard of any of the surrounding michelin star restaurants which are all in the same price bracket.
Go for a photo or two, but never return. Look towards london's other fine dining restaurants if you are after quality food.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank Farimah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-LaLondon, Director of Food and Beverage at Ting at the Shangri la Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Farimah F,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Ting.

It is naturally concerning to read of these aspects you have expressed disappointment with. We want to extend our apologies for this as it is not a true representation of our standards and service.

These issues have been investigated and rest assured should you choose to return to Ting we will spare no efforts in making your experience seamless.

Yours Sincerely,

Aurelien Mouren
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We’ve been looking for an afternoon tea in our first visit to London. We came across this restaurant. We were seated by the window as requested to make my mom’s birthday celebration trip more special. Our waiter’s service was really superb and made us comfortable. The afternoon tea experience was excellent. They did not forget my original request months prior to make it special for my mom’s 70th birthday. They surprised my mom with little chocolate greetings!

We will surely definitely go back next time we are in town.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank GPTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-LaLondon, Director of Food and Beverage at Ting at the Shangri la Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear GPTinker,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your afternoon tea experience. I am overly pleased to read that you were greatly accommodated for your mother's 70th Birthday. I am happy that our team were able to match this great occasion with some superb service.

We will pass on your kind regards to the restaurant team and hope on your return to London that we can welcome you back with us in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Aurelien Mouren
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Booked the shard for my husbands birthday breakfast, I did ask for a window view was a little sad when we didn’t get one (was told this wouldn’t be guaranteed)
Our jackets were taken on arrival and staff made a lovely chocolate birthday plate for my husband. We were a little disappointed but the breakfast, expected abit better- however wasn’t so bad. Husband enjoyed the overall experience. The views were nice too!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank RBabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-LaLondon, Director of Food and Beverage at Ting at the Shangri la Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear RBabi,

Thank you for reviewing your breakfast experience at Ting. We are very grateful that you selected us to celebrate your husband's birthday occasion and that the staff were very accommodating. We can only agree that the views are indeed amazing.

I would also like to apologise for any aspects which brought you disappointment and hope to welcome you back again as we will spare no efforts in giving you a seamless experience.

Kind regards,

Yours Sincerely,

Aurelien Mouren
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I normally go for Aqua Shard so decided to change the venue. Before committing to a full-blown Friday evening with my family. First impression was good, greeted by the host in a friendly welcoming manner, asked if we have coat to deposit to the clock room. Web arrived early so were advise to have a drink in the bar, staff very helpful and efficient.

Once we seated to our table and host offered a stool to put my bag rather than in a floor, which was a nice touch. We don’t have a window table though it was plenty of space. We had Duck & Foie Gras, Salmon & Scallop to start; followed by Fillet Steaks and Cornish Lobster that’s were cooked to perfections. Definitely complement to the Chef! Great service however I did feel I have better experienced of personal touches in Aqua Shard.

Overall the restaurant was outstanding and beautiful ambiance.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sstaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-LaLondon, Director of Food and Beverage at Ting at the Shangri la Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear sstaley,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on our TĪNG Restaurant.

We are highly grateful that you selected us to enjoy your family evening and can assure it was a pleasure serving you. Thank you also for your comments regarding the your meals.

We will pass on your kind regards to our restaurant and culinary teams for review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely,

Aurelien Mouren
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ting at the Shangri la Hotel also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Ting at the Shangri la Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing