We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish there was a four-and-a-half blob category!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #10 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I wish there was a four-and-a-half blob category!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at the Haymarket hotel for a weekend during October 2011. In most respects it was delightful; we received a free upgrade from "luxury" to "deluxe"; the service was polite, obliging and professional, the room extremely nice and the location very convenient.

The only reasons that I have marked it as "4 blobs" are (a) the first room smelled of smoke and we had to change rooms, and (b) there was a great deal of noise from revellers on nearby Haymarket. Obviously there is nothing the hotel can do to about the latter, but it is a factor that guests might like to take into account at weekends.

Apart from, those two small gripes, excellent, but I could not quite stretch to the "5 blob" rating.

Room Tip: Corner deluxe rooms are very nice, with dual aspect windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHusseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    88
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
175
317
55
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
159 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Fantastic location -central but peaceful - 50m from National Gallery, National Portrait Gallery, St Martins in the Fields church
Arty decor throughout - clean and modern
Changed our room as they put us in a town house room three flights up which was a bit chlostrophobic, but happy with our room on the ground floor. Although it was a bit noisy what with the window being by the stairs to the basement pool/party area.
Good range for breakfast - helpful and friendly staff
No kettle in the room was a downpoint - we wanted tea after a day out and about - charge to have it in the library was £10 for two.
Two sinks in the bathroom - separate shower and bath - you could watch the TV in the bath.
Powerful hairdryer.
However for £360 for one night (BB) was it worth it - as a one off, special treat - yes!

Room Tip: Not on the haymarket road itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

This is just great in every way. for me however its too expensive to stay here all the time but i reckon its one of the best hotels in London

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Having spent a weekend at the Haymarket Hotel I cannot fault it in any respect, I think it may be my favourite hotel ever. We had a stunning room, the staff were amazing especially in the bar, food was top class. We stayed in room 306 a beautiful junior suite, with 5 windows in the room in the center of London I worried that it would be noisy but it was perfect.
Wi Fi charges a little annoying, we were billed for £20 for 98 mins but I only used approximately 10mins!
Didn't get a chance to use the pool unfortunately but it gives me a reason to go back,
Interiors incredible and staff very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hashalalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

My husband and I decided to stay up in London and were looking for a hotel room at around 11pm. We were so lucky to find Haymarket Hotel. We got a whopping £140 off the room price and paid £200 (because it was a late, last minute booking) for one of the best hotel rooms either of us has stayed in. The bedroom was huge and so was the bed and very nicely decorated. There was a walk in wardrobe with well stocked mini-bar. And then we walked into a huge bathroom that was the size of most hotel rooms we've stayed in. There were 2 basins, a great shower unit, mirrors with anti-steam, gorgeous soft robes. But the best thing of all was a good sized bath and TV. It was so relaxing. This was made even better by 2 glasses of wine we poured out at the 24-hour honesty bar (you just write down what you drink). Lovely, lovely, lovely. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigittelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#14 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,255 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#2 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $536 - $2,708
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing