We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artsy Locale but Great for Business Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #107 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Artsy Locale but Great for Business Travel”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Let me begin by saying that three free amenities offered by the Hoxton were the reason I booked; free WiFi, complimentary light breakfast (orange juice, yogurt and banana) and one hour of free calls including international calls to the U.S. The amenities coupled with the excellent nightly rate set the hotel apart before my arrival. Upon my arrival I could not have been happier with my selection. Check In was quick and easy despite my arriving hours before the stated check in time. The rooms are well appointed, clean and a decent size when considering hotels throughout London.

I rarely called on the services of the staff but when I did they were cheerful, knowledgable and responded quickly to any requests.

The bar and restaurant are a great spot to grab a drink or a bite and based on the crowds even during the week, it is a well known hot spot. The area is more on the artistic side than a business district but I always felt comfortable and it was nice to enjoy a little variety after meetings in the city all day.

The hotel is located just a short walk from the Old Street station which made jumping on the Northern Line to the Bank station a short and easy trip. It was also just as easy to walk to any number of local spots within 10-15 minutes. All in all a great location.

My only complaint had to be the pillows. The bed itself was quite comfortable but the pillows were lacking for my taste. In the interest of full disclosure, I rarely find a hotels pillows suitable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian_Cind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,971
    1,347
    202
    56
    35
See reviews for
459
2,160
311
792
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (850)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sw
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I've stayed here 3 times now since my first review and I still haven't managed to find any reason to not go back, if anything i'm starting to like Shoreditch more and more each time.
The staff now greet you with "good to see you again" it's probably something they are prompted to do on screen but hey it's still a nice touch.

Rooms are still spotless, still seem un-dated and generally this is just my favorite hotel all round out of any i've visited in London.. Sure there are bigger, better, slicker, posher, newer, but for the price £80-90 it's just unbeatable. The hotel is incredible, i promise you. I've even had a room from the £1 sale so it's worth trying for that also.

Tips.. Ask for a high room, the windows open.
If you're sleeping in late ask for a room with an inside view.
Eat in the bar and grill, it is amazing and reasonably priced. The drinks are also a winner!
Other than that just book it and enjoy, it's a little out of the way but as a guide Addison Lee will drop you into SW3 for £19 door to door..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marksw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Hoxton hotel makes all the best to treat guests. We enjoyed a great stay in a luxury and comfortable rooms. I try to book a room in this hotel when I visit London. Staff is helpful and cheerful. IT is always nice to eat and relax at bar and restaurant, but when you need more action you can always took a walk outside and visit one of lots great places not far from hotel. Hoxton is a really good place to stay with.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moglia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I really spent marevellous staying in this hotel: it is clean, well organized and the staff so quick and friendly for everything. I love the music entertainment during weekend in the hall with the fireplace..so cozy atmosphere, beautiful.
Cristina- Italy

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Can't really recommend the Hoxton enough if you want to stay in the trendy Shoreditch area -- just a few minutes away from central London thanks to great bus and tube connections (when they're available, that is -- Old Street Station was entirely closed for two of the three days where we were there), and just a few minutes from Liverpool Street Station where the Stansted Express can get you to Stansted in 45 minutes.

Excellent, friendly staff -- didn't pass a single employee in the halls without their offering a hello and a smile. The rooms are small but almost perfectly comfortable, with the beds being particularly terrific, somehow both firm and yet soft. Haven't had such a restful sleep on the road in a long time. The bsthroom was nice, with a terrific shower and water as hot as you can stand. Amenities include the free Pret Lite breakfast (yogurt with berries and granola, banana, and juice), two bottles of water, and a carton of milk (to go with the tea pot and selection of teas, if one would like).

And then the free wi-fi, which was reliable and relatively speedy. That did cause a problem, though: the desk is nice, has all the plugs you want... but there's only one chair in the room, so if you and your partner both want to type away on your notebooks or tablets, it's not really doable. There's a comfortable lounging couch, but no additional tables you could bring up to it to work on, either. Possibly if we had asked for one or the other, the staff could and would have provided -- I wouldn't be surprised, given how accomodating they were! -- but in any case, bear that in mind if you and your traveling companion are both on working holidays.

Room service was prompt and delivered with a smile; I've reviewed the food from the Hoxton Grill separately, but suffice it to say it was presentable, tasty, and at a pretty good value, with the only sour note being just how loud it gets during the evening.

Room Tip: I'm going to guess that upper floors are better than ground level, simply because the nightclub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balerion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#65 of 1,069 in London
1,564 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#353 of 1,069 in London
1,021 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#136 of 1,069 in London
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#138 of 1,069 in London
387 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#307 of 1,069 in London
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#95 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $202 - $396
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing