We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located and relaxing hotel”
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #187 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed four days in May and we were very positively surprised. The people at the reception were very friendly, especially Ricardo (who took directly our ludgage to the room so we could go quickly to have dinner !). Very nice and clean room and excellent breakast. The hotel is small and that makes it more special. Very well located in a nice area: 15 minutes to Paddington train station ! (where you can take the express train to Heathrow) and 2 minutes walk to Marble Arch, full of busses and underground line. You cal also walk to the shopping area directly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanluisFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 638 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had a room in the basement of the hotel, which were equipped with small windows only. No really daylight, hard to belief that this hotel is a four star. The room was across the breakfast room, noise started at 6.30 am. Room was clean, staff was friendly. The location is good, close to Oxford Street and Hyde park.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed 7 nights. Couldn't ask for a better hotel or a better location. In a very nice neighborhood and only a 5 minute walk to the Marble Arch tube station. The restaurant/pub next door (The Portman) was great. Pub downstairs with seating both inside and out. Their dining room upstairs is beautiful and the menu prices are the same as downstairs in the pub. The hotel employees were fabulous. Always willing to help in any way they could. The buffet breakfast was very good with a wide variety of hot and cold items. There was a constant supply of fresh food. The housekeeping was great. Always came back to a refreshed room and spotless bathroom. Our room was in the back, on the 3rd floor, a very quiet area of the hotel. The beds were very comfortable. All in all, couldn't ask for better. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GloriaKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The hotel was as close to perfect as I've ever had the pleasure of staying. The place is a charming row house and the staff are all very helpful and go beyond the call of duty. It's tranquil inside without the rush, rush and crowds of a larger hotel. I found the lounge area with Mac computer to be like sitting in a private residence. It had a nice array of snacks and the extra delight was tea or coffee served with sweets at your whim!! We had a room towards the back which was very quiet and there was no traffic noise but you could hear the creaking floorboard from the room above. I guess it's to be expected in such an old residence. However, it didn't bother us at all. One very, very minor complaint was that the shower caddy was very rusted. I was unhappy to see that in a hotel of this price/caliber. It needs to be changed ASAP. Ricardo went out of his way to make us feel at home and was very professional and a pleasure. The hotel was very clean (spotless to be exact). The breakfast was delicious with a generous supply of fresh eggs, wheat toast, juice, meats, lots of cheese and other pastries. It is in a cheerful room in the basement, again because of the size of this hotel, there is no other space. Wi-Fi was just so-so in the room; actually it didn't really work at all. I suppose that it needs to be upgraded. I already miss this hotel and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I come back to London. I also found the bed to be extremely comfortable which is such an important part of getting a good rest. Bathroom was very modern and spacious. The room in general was a nice size for London standards, too. The street is very quiet and only a short walk to Marble Arch tube station and Hyde Park/Oxford St. It felt very boutique-y and definitely was an excellent choice for us. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Face the back away from the street but they may have double glazing, not sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mozisluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights the latter part of April 2012. Hotel was quite comfortable and staff was personable and responsive to all requests. Breakfast was excellent as well. Only slight downside was the small shower area and loudness of air conditioner. Otherwise, the hotel is close to Marble Arch Tube and near all attractions. Would stay here again. M. Wolfson

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#183 of 1,076 in London
231 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,076 in London
536 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#298 of 1,076 in London
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#436 of 1,076 in London
683 reviews
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#171 of 1,076 in London
2,002 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#89 of 1,076 in London
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#146 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $252 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing