We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great little place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montagu Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montagu Place Hotel
Ranked #129 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed in this boutique hotel last September and were very surprised.
It was our first time in a small hotel, and we liked it a lot.
All the staff were very nice and tried to help in every way they could: recommending restaurants in the area, things to do and see and travel tips. They really went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

We stayed in the Swanky room which was decently sized (not huge). It is a really nice room with a very big bathroom which has both a shower and a large bathtub, everything looks really new and extremely clean, which is very important to us.
The Molton brown toiletries were also a very nice
Also the room is equipped with complimentary water, tea and coffee.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so I can't really comment on that.
The hotel is located in a very nice and quiet area, just a few minutes walk from the Marble Arch underground station and a few minutes the other way from another station.
At the corner of the street there is a bus station which we also used quite often and was very convenient.

The bed in the room was very comfortable for both of us.

Consider the fact that there is no elevator.

Overall we really enjoyed the stay and felt like it was money well spent, we are looking forward to stay here again for our next visit in London.

Sorry for the messy review, it is my first time writing one.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Goonzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    115
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
58
226
43
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a night in the Swanky room. The reception staff are fantastic and went out of their way, one chap in particular, to make our stay exceptional.
The room was fine, large, a comfy bed and everything you would want. The breakfast was a ok, there were no staff to greet us, and no menu given, an option of boiled eggs or scrambled eggs were given, but it was sufficient and set us up for the day.
Overall, I would say, the hotel is more of an upmarket bed and breakfast in a great location rather than a hotel, it misses the professionalism, and areas for bar / resturant of a hotel but in being a "posh" bed breakfast has a more intimate feel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is a decent choice for London. Stayed for a business trip where I pretty much just slept and left. For this, the room was fine. Bigger than I have normally found in London, the decoration was fine (calm, neutral colors) and the room was clean. The only negative point was that it was noisy. I was in a basement room (which was fine since I arrived late and left early) and the air conditioner and the water pipes were noisy. Everyone was super friendly and they kept asking what I thought. Aside from the noise (which seems to plague all hotel rooms in London), breakfast was the only real negative point; there wasn't coffee or tea to be found anywhere. (I didn't have time to hunt it down.) I would recommend this hotel and would probably stay again for business.

Room Tip: Room 2 (basement) was noisy. Try another one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happydiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

A simply top rate hotel in a quiet area, yet conveniently close to the shops of Oxford street. Tastefully decorated, with friendly and helpful staff. My wife and I stayed in one of the smaller 'comfy' rooms. Small, but very clean with a very comfortable bed - my wife being an excellent judge of such things given that she was 5 months pregnant at the time! Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This place is a good choice for all purposes. If you want to enjoy London and stay a decent place, and doesn't care much about the room size, do not hesitate. The staff was very assistive.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phillyRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#57 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#130 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#342 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#217 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#280 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Place Hotel

Property: Montagu Place Hotel
Address: 2-3 Montagu Place | Marylebone, London W1H 2ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in London
#92 Family Hotel in London
#109 Luxury Hotel in London
#153 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $228 - $429
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, boutique hotel, set in a listed Georgian townhouse, offers you stylish accommodation in a quiet residential street, just a short walk from some of London's leading thoroughfares. With just 16 bedrooms, the hotel is small enough to be cozy and welcoming, yet offers the amenities you would associate with a much larger hotel. With dedicated staff providing a high level of personal service Montagu Place can truly be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo and Wotif.com so you can book your Montagu Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Place London
Hotel Montagu Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing