We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location”
Review of Avonmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avonmore Hotel
Ranked #906 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I have been staying at the Avonmore Monday to Friday for nearly 12 months as I'm working at Euston. The hotel is in a good, quiet location (usually) and is good value for money, price incudes english breakfast. The rooms are not large, I'm usually in single rooms obviously, but they are comfortable. I'm surprised at the comments about the breakfast staff, as other reviewers have said all the staff have been friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the basement do suffer from train noise and noise from the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterschofield37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

Good location. Reception staff excellent, however hotel let down by other staff. The woman serving breakfast was surly and rude to guests walking into the breakfast room. 3 girls walked in but were rudely told 'well you will have to split up and share table with somebody'. This could have been avoided if the tables were doubles and not for four, as each table of four had only two people at them. She also told another group ' you will have to come back' but breakfast was nearly finished so this would have caused further problems, There were four in my party. One asked for no beans, but was given beans and no sausage. another had stone cold beans. As vegetarian I asked for two eggs which came swimming in oil. We were given 2 slices of toast between 4 people, and had to ask twice more for more toast and each time it came, there was only 2 slices. That is 6 slices between 4 people when normally we would expect two each. Also only given a 2 cup pot of tea for 3 people. If the breakfast experience had been better we would have booked again for a trip in January however will now book elsewhere

Room Tip: Triple room very small, but quiet location looking out on the Avonmore sign!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Good: Friendly staff, nice breakfast, great location for Euston or King's Cross, and you can leave your luggage (though not necessarily secure)
Not great: I stayed in one of the very, very small single rooms. It was clean except for the squished bugs stuck to the walls, that obviously had been ignored by cleaners before my arrival. Very dated. Shower was fine, although temperature was not easy to control. Street noise wasn't unbearable, but the creaking stairs and floors meant waking when anyone went in or out of the rooms above. Internet wouldn't work, signal was too poor.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Cheap Hotel 10 mins walk from Euston and 10 mins walk from Russell Sq Tube station. I booked a single room but this was downstars and as another Trip Advisor contributor has said you can hear the trains. I was in Room 3 which is adequate for single occupancy although was very hot. Room very clean and the bed very comfortable but the door Yale lock was broken and not self locking. Leaving the key at 24 hour reception and having to buzz to get in was a bonus, the area seemed fine being as I was travelling alone despite a small park opposite.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, the breakfast was good and served with exceptional speed.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in a couple or with friends but the single room noise and heat was the only bad point but that wasn't the fault of the hotel really.

Room Tip: Don't book a single room or ask for a room upstairs rather than downstairs due to train and brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellysbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel is conveniently located ten minutes from the metro and train station Pancras and Kings Cross, in a safe, pleasant and plenty of food and fun, besides the British Museum which is a must. The hotel service is excellent, everyone is very courteous and helpful (a differential of the hotel), especially Alex who gave us great tips for tours and shifts the beautiful city of London. For those seeking location and good service this hotel is the best tip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcopa59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#569 of 1,076 in London
576 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#456 of 1,076 in London
731 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#533 of 1,076 in London
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#548 of 1,076 in London
452 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#948 of 1,076 in London
291 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#572 of 1,076 in London
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonmore Hotel

Address: 57 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #906 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $135 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avonmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avonmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonmore Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing