We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fawlty towers?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City View Hotel London
Ranked #399 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fawlty towers?”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

After reading other reviews I was dreading staying here but as we were just wanting somewhere to crash after going to the 02 arena we decided to chance it.Checked in and was given a top floor room with en suite.It was boiling hot, window was already open, train track outside.There was a mattress and fan outside on the landing.Bed linen was clean, as was toilet.Room looked like it had recently been painted.Carpet minging.Flat screen tv in good working order.Fridge in good working order.Kettle probably in good working order but didnt try it as there were no cups,milk,teabags etc.Dont really know why they were there!We left our bag and on our way out asked if it was possible to have a fan in room.Smiley man said yes.When we came back he brought a fan up to our room.We had it on all night it was so hot.Trains went by approx every 15mins up until about 1.15am and then they stopped until sometime after 8.I was expecting them all night after previous reviews but this was not the case.Also they did not 'shake the room'.Ideal location next to tube station.Bed was quite firm but slept ok(was knackered from a long day of travelling and drinking)
Woke in the morning, got in shower, bath clean but dots of black mould all over shower curtain.Hot shower.
Partner got in shower, covered in foamy soap suds, water ran out!No water !!!Had to go down to tell reception.Man came up to room and gave us a key for another room to go and rinse off in.Partner toddles off in his towel to other room, unlocks the door and walks into a naked woman!! He came back a bit sharpish and i had to go and see what was happening.Got to other room and reception man was there with another bloke and this woman was sticking her head out of the door.I told him it was somebodies room and he said 'it is fine,she will go downstairs and take some tea then we can use shower, it is an emergency'.
I went back to get partner and he insisted i go with him to the other room incase of more funny business.We went in room and there were suitcases, the headboard was hanging off the wall, the bath had mould all around the edge , i was glad we didnt have that room.Someone was obviously staying in there though!.We went back to our room got our stuff together and left avoiding the breakfast although there seemed to be a few people having it.Didnt see what it was like though.Oh and forgot to mention the wall to wall carpeting all along the entrance hall and up the stairs, must have cost a fortune, a sight to behold.A very amusing experience overall but i will not be returning!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nuttych0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    33
    58
    39
    167
See reviews for
30
83
50
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL it is apsolutely disgusting.... my partner took a video of the hotel which we will upload on here... I mean I know it is in Bethnal Green so I wasn't expecting it to be 5* but seriously I wouldn't ever stay here if they paid me. Completely horrible. Dirt everywhere , stained pillows , --- in the toilet , mould everywheer and stained carpets and fag burnt chairs... omg something out of hostel the movie I think !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

So dirty: blankets with yellow stains (don't know if they were dirty or clean but old), fitted carpet dirty with little insects, walls yellowish. Room is not being clean any day of your stay.
Breakfast was included but I didn't have the courage to try it after seeing the lack of cleanliness of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuria137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

If you are on a very tight budget this could be a good choice for you. I wanted a very cheap accommodation and thought this was ideal but it certainly was not. I booked a room that had a shared bathroom and that bathroom was horrible. The window is actually broken and there are chunks of it missing and no one seems to have been bothered to fix it. It was also very dirty. The room was terrible as well. Bed side table broken, fridge made a horrible sound all night long. The room was facing the street and the windows are not double glazed and the noise from the street is terrible. Constant traffic of cars and buses all night long. The tube seems to run under the hotel and there is also a railway track at the back of the building. The walls are very thin and you can hear everything from the next rooms. If you just want a cheap room and dont care about anything go ahead and stay there but bring ear plugs and an open mind.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StefanOrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

My husband and I spent one night at the City View hotel after going clubbing in Bethnal Green and although it wasn't luxurious, it offered us a clean and comfy bed for the night and a basic breakfast in the morning for some of the cheapest prices you can get in London.

If possible, ask the staff for one of the rooms towards the back of the hotel- that's where we stayed and it was very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadamUnderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The RE London Shoreditch
#556 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Town Hall Hotel
#171 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Viking Hotel
#849 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CityStay Hotel
#934 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
East End / East London
CityLodge London
CityLodge London
#318 of 556 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Hotel London

Property: City View Hotel London
Address: 287 Cambridge Heath Road | Bethnal Green, London E2 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price range (per night): $86 - $183
Hotel Class:3 star — City View Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your City View Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing