We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extra helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #5 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extra helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I have booked for five nights at 51 buckingham gate because of the wonderful reviews on trip advisor. At the last minute I have asked to change my booking, the reservations staff have gone out of their way to accommodate myself and family on what is to be a very special occasion. If this quality of service is anything to go by I am looking forward to a wonderful holiday!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jtgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    136
    28
    11
    1
See reviews for
550
452
43
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

These folks know how to treat their guests. They start making sure your visit is enjoyable before you even arrive, and then welcome you with smiles, knowledge and offers of any help you might need. A special thank you to butler, Iara Dias. She was especially warm, upbeat and gracious. Our suite was very comfortable, plenty of room and kept sparkling clean by an excellent housekeeping staff. Complementary cocktails in the library and elegant but relaxed breakfasts are a bonus. This is a tired traveler's refuge, simply a great place to stay in London!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Our family of four stayed here in August 2012 (post-Olympics) for five nights as the beginning of a two week European trip. We booked a 2 bedroom suite in the Falconers building. The apartment was comfortable and well appointed, if a little compact. The service was excellent. We particularly enjoyed room service: efficient and tasty. The complimentary bottled sparkling and still waters were a nice touch. Housekeeping was excellent. Every request was responded to immediately and the concierges were great with arranging our transportation from Heathrow to the hotel, giving directions, etc. though we planned most of our touring our own. The location was perfect for touring: five minute walk to Buckingham Palace and a short walk to Westminster and not much further to the London Eye. The tube was also very convenient. The only real "con" was that the all in one washer/dryer was difficult to figure out how to operate and took forever to dry clothes. The architecture of the hotel buildings themselves are beautiful. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JessLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Great service went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable! helped with a car rental restuarants late check out so we could see the changing of the guard! Everything went seamlessly the cocktails and appetizers from 6-8 was a real treat after a long day of site seeing!

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom 2 bath suite lots of room very enjoyable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1LoveItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear ILoveItaly,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for the descritption of your stay.

I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your suite and also to know that we were able to provide you with the flexibility you neede to make the best out of your time in London.

I sincerely hope you will return to 51 Buckingham Gate and to make sure that from a great experience your next stay with us is your greatest experience.

With many thanks and warm regards

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

I am currently traveling from Australia visiting London for a few days with my sister and 2 young daughters. From the moment we arrived (today- I am that impressed!) we were treated like royalty- I have had the privilege in staying at many 5 star hotels around the world with my kids and can attest not one hotel has greeted my children and I with such warmth and genuine hospitality - usually, no matter how much we pay- having young children gets u dirty looks at nice hotels.
The service has been the best I've ever encountered, we were upgraded on arrival, we had popcorn and movies brought to our room for the kids, room service food was some of the best food I've ever had in any fine restaurant, our dining table was formally set for us.
Also- my daughter had complained of a sore ear on Saturday and we were unable to see a doctor over the weekend in the small village we were staying at- so I emailed the concierge a day before our arrival to ask directions to the closest doctor surgery- they arranged a doctor to visit our hotel room within 2 hours of checking in, needless to say he was one of the most nicest doctors I have ever met, sure enough she had a ear infection, but hotel staff sorted that out too and within an hour after doctor had left the script was brought to us in our room!
I have always been a ritz devotee - but I can safely say that thus far, bucking ham gate 51 has been the best hotel I have ever visited and I will recommend it to all I know!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear CharlieC

Thank you very much for your amazing review and most of all for reviewing us on the first day of your stay. I am truly delighted to know that from the moment you arrived you felt looked after.

It was a great pleasure to have you, your sister and the girls staying with us and really happy that our doctor also influenced your experience of the services we offered you.

We love to have families staying with us and the large suites such as the one you enjoyed are just perfect to have a most comfortable stay and whenever you travel to a Taj Hotel be sure you young family will receive a wonderful welcome.

I thank you once again for your wonderful review and I very much hope to see you back at 51 Buckingham Gate very soon again.

Warmest regards and best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#7 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#23 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $513 - $1,379
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing