We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #6 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is the best hotel I've been so far regarding the service and the hospitality in general! The staff was way more than helpful and friendly as well. Loved the afternoon drinks and tea! Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkerbell_edi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Tinkerbell_edi

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at 51 Buckingham Gate and thank you for your kind words about the service you received from my colleagues.

I very much hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    132
    28
    11
    1
See reviews for
501
424
35
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Built by the cheapest contractors. Hot water around the wrong way. Toilet tilted so much you feel like you're about to fall off. Contractors working through-out the day with their loud drills. Staff are nice. Breakfast and internet not included in price, which is shocking for this day and age, especially in a five star hotel. Stay here if you want a headache.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Welltraveledkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Front Office Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Welltraveledkiwi,

I would like to thank you for not only choosing to stay with us at 51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites and Residences, but also for your precious time giving your feed back. I am Sorry that your stay was not to your satisfaction and that we could not come up to your expectations.

We take pride in our service and your satisfaction is paramount to us, therefore, we are also in the process of improving our Suites and to be prepared for much awaited Olympics. Our refurbishment work takes place between 10 am and 5 pm and I do apologise that the refurbishment work created inconvenience for you.

We take our guest’s feedback seriously and act on them without a delay, just so that we could serve you and all our guests better. If at all convenient, we would love to speak to you in person at your preferred time and I have furnished my E Mail address for any direct correspondence to gather a detailed feedback on your experience, as we would like to achieve excellence in all aspects of our Hotel and we would love to take your points and experience on board to get the services better.

Once again, thank you for your time and valued observations. The Team looks forward to welcoming you back to the Newly Refurbished and Contemporary Suites and meanwhile; please do let me know if I could be of any assistance, it will be a sheer pleasure to serve you.

Kind Regards

Gagan Sharma
Front Office Manager
E Mail – gsharma@51-buckinghamgate.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Wow. What a stunning hotel. The staff are amazing. So helpful and polite. Nothing is too much trouble. The early evening snacks and free drinks in the lounge are a treat and as for breakfast, just lovely and, unlike many hotels, breakfast goes on till nearly lunch time so a lie in is possible without missing it. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud with pillows amazing - as you can guess, we loved it. Such a great position, just by Buckingham Palace and easy walking distance to all the best attractions. Not cheap but nothing brilliant ever is in the hotel world.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kipims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Front Office Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Kipims,

I would like to thank you for your glowing comments and I am glad that you enjoyed the Library Services, it indeed is a beautiful cosy and inviting place to have a drink and also to entertain your guests, whether for breakfast or evening drinks. We do take pride in serving our guests and I am delighted to learn that the Team did come up to your expectations and you enjoyed your stay.

It will only be a delight to welcome you back and we eagerly look forward to see you soon at your London residence.

Kind Regards

Gagan Sharma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We booked via late rooms and stayed in a fabulous suite with 2 bedrooms - popcorn and dvds were on offer and fabuluous food from the michelin restaurant. The staff were divine and the ambience wonderful. I would love to visit again. We stayed just before Christmas and it really was a lovely pre-Christmas present.

Room Tip: The suites are lovely though a little pricey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

My husband and I have been living in London, on and off, for three years. We have stayed in many hotels and short term lease flats. Our last trip, which was in January, one of our favorite hotels, The St James Crowne Plaza, was booked. They suggested 51 Buckingham Gate, right next door. WOW....what a delight. Everything about this hotel is 5 star. The suites are beautiful but, truly, the service was exceptional. Breakfast is included and served in the quaint, cozy library. Each evening, between 6:30 and 8:30pm they serve complimentary cocktails and lovely appetizers. We will NEVER Shay elsewhere, if possible. Truly a pleasure!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mag774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear mag774,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review and most of all for following the advise from my colleagues at our sister hotel the Crowne Plaza London St James to try 51 Buckingham Gate.

I am delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found your suite and the service you received to your liking.

It is also wonderful to know that you enjoyed your morning breakfast and you decided to book a package with your breakfast included, The Libary is indeed a very cozy place to relax and enjoy the extensive breakfast offering in the morning and of course you also have the choice to take your breakfast in the privacy of your suite if so you desire.

The complimentary drinks and canapes is a lovely way to start your evening before you go out for dinner or to the teatre and The Library transforms itself into a very intimate setting with its candles and soft music playing in the background.

I very much look forward to welcome you back again at 51 Buckingham Gate soon and to make of our hotel your most favourity hotel in London.

Best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#8 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#6 Luxury Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $431 - $1,072
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Odigeo and Wotif.com so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing