We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Goodenough Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
London Ryan(London)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Arriva Hotel(London)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
160
220
61
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
220
61
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftmecklenburgh squarelondon housequiet squarebritish museumcontinental breakfastprivate parkinternational studentskings crossharry pottertennis courtsrussell square tubebrunswick centrefull englishthird floorsingle roomcommon room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A lot of money has obviously gone into converting a stylish row of houses in a quiet square, and I can see why some guests like it, as the building itself has some charm and the club offers a certain level of comfort at a competitive price for London. However I found myself looking at the place quite critically. I had a worrying moment on arrival, when I was informed categorically that my booking had been cancelled (it hadn't). There is not much in the way of service (no one offered to help with my luggage for example). I have never been so cold at night in a hotel - partly because the central heating does not seem to work well, partly because there is no double glazing and the windows let in draughts. Plus there was only one spare blanket for a double room. Probably winter is not the ideal time to visit, especially as breakfast at weekend is served in a student canteen a 5-minute walk away from the hotel. The furniture I found functional though really not very aesthetic; but the lighting in the bathroom was frankly inadequate (no light anywhere near the wash basin). If only a bit more effort had been put into making this place live up to its potential. (Forget disabled access, by the way!) Visitors who do not know London should be warned that while the location may look central it is actually quite a walk from major attractions, and the walk from King's Cross/St Pancras is unsalubrious.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikos051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

... but its not. Still its a gem to share with a friend. Not luxury but good - and quiet. I was in London for 3 days with meetings in a variety of places North & South of this location, all within bus travel armed with my Oyster Card. Breakfast is sufficient - note the location has changed and is now not in the Great Hall - and in the evening I recommend the pizzas. But there are other good resturants around. And, to share another secret, there is also The Lamb, an excellent place to drink Youngs, and enjoy some pub grub.

Room Tip: no lift and stairs are steep, so unless you enjoy a climb ...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strollerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed in Goodenough club hotel for 4 nights and it was great.The location is perfect.Very close to University of London,British museum,Covern Garden,Soho,Kings Cross.All within walking distance.The undergrond tube Russel Square and King's Cross 10 minutes walk from the hotel.The staff is very friendly and helpfull.The room was great,big,clean with comfortable bed.Breakfast was in different building across the street,which was not very convinient in January.The breakfast was decent,I've seen better,but since it was included it was fine.There is great italian restaurant Chao Bella 5 minutes walk from the hote for dinner . If you decide to stay in Goodenough Club,make sure you request room on 1st floor,since there is no elevator in the hotel.But it is very good place for the value,and great location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

A clean hotel in a central location in a quiet square, so you can get a good nights sleep. We had a spacious triple room with a view of the square and a huge comfortable bed with big fluffy pillows. The shower room was clean with a powerful shower and complementary toiletries. There was plenty of hanging space in the wardrobe and a hairdryer. The room also included tea/coffee making facilities,TV and Wifi connection. The Full English Breakfast taken in the college over the road was fantastic with a super selection. The staff were welcoming and accommodating. A brisk 20 min walk will get you to Leicester Square and less than 5 min to the nearest tube station. The hotel is less than a mile from St Pancras train station. The only negative point is that there isn't a lift, we were on the third floor which wasn't a problem for us so you might want to request a ground floor room. We would recommend this hotel to friends and stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzynruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This is basically a nice college dorm -- well, nicer than the ones we stayed in during our college years! When we travel, we don't plan on staying in the hotel very much, so all we look for is a good location, cleanliness, comfort, and certain amenities like laundry and internet. Goodenough Club ticked all those boxes and then some: the staff were helpful and pleasant (they appeared to be college students), the room we had was quite large, the bed was comfortable, there was ample closet space, the location was very quiet, there were a few tube stations within a 10-15 minute walk, and the complimentary breakfast down the street was quite good. (The husband loves an English breakfast, and as we were just returning from the continent, he was thrilled to have eggs and bacon on the menu.) Goodenough Club is reasonably priced for its excellent location in London, and we would definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christiiiiine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews