We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent bar, but not cheap” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent bar, but not cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I did not stay at the Soho hotel unfortunately, but when strolling down the road I spotted this trendy hotel, I kind of guessed that they would have an interesting bar, and I was right. The bar is beautiful, with a great choice of beverages, The bar food is delicous. I had the Mezze Platter (£12.50): Hummus, guacamole and pita, marinated olives, foccacia chips. Next time, I will have diner there too. Despite the elegant and sophisticated atmosphere, the staff is warm, helpful and friendly. I preferred this bar to the May Fair bar in the May Fair hotel where I went the following night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BidaLokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,159
    175
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
187
666
85
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

This was my first time staying at the SoHo hotel in London and i loved it. Staff was great, professional, helpful and didn't get too annoyed when i asked to switch rooms 3 times. You may think that is obnoxious, but because of this i can tell you that not all rooms are the same (although i admit.. they are all pretty similar...)

Anyhow, I really like the location of the Soho- easy to walk to many locations and tube stops very close as well. The lobby and bar has a great fun vibe and is always crowded with a good energy. There are also a couple of cozy, slightly more mellow "den" type rooms off the main lobby which are great to relax or have a midnight drink and a game of chess, courtesy of the honor bar which is open 24 hours a day and well stocked with whatever you might need for your late night revelries.

Good combination of young, cool crowd and older, but still cool business people. The Soho can cater to high class guests but it is definitely not a stuff hotel like so many in London- they provide 5 star hotel service without the formality and pretension.

Like the rest of the hotel, the rooms are each decorated in a particular color scheme (i think it is different on each floor) but the lay outs are pretty similar. There is definitely something a little English art deco about the decor, but it is all fun and the beds are super comfortable. The est part is the luxurious marble bathrooms with desperate tub and shower and 2 sinks. As you may read in some of my other reviews, the bathroom is important and can make or break an experience for me and the Soho bathrooms are first class!

Other highlights-
- Great pub right out the back door
- Room service is open late

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotel_snob0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

The room was charming and very generous in size (double room). The concierge staff was very good---got my boot's heel fixed and delivered up to my room in less than 20 minutes and for only 6 BP; recommended a great walking path to an address. The restaurant has a very nice continental breakfast buffet with gorgeous homemade muesli, diverse selection of fruit and nuts, and both sweet and savory pastries. Wifi was quick and very reliable. It is a lovely intimate hotel in which I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValueSeekerRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This was my 4th or 5th stay at the Soho and it invariably ends up for me the best choice when I visit London for business or pleasure because it delivers at so many levels. I begun bu staying one night on my way to Wales, where I traveled with my partner to spend Xmas with his relatives, for a single night I booked one of the Luxury Rooms, which is on the smaller side considering the spacious larger rooms, still because each room is different, each one is a surprise, their beds are among the best I've slept on, and this hotel manages to block out noises, from inside and outside. After our visit to the Welsh countryside, we returned on December 30th to London and we brought along my partner's mother with us, treating her to a splurge of a NYE celebration in the city. The concierge staff of the hotel assisted me with all the bookings and reservations I needed, which I planned with their help via emails from the US. Multiple times back and forth, planning car pick ups for NYE (it's not a good idea to ride the tube on NYE in London, packed) theater tickets, restaurant reservations and a few other minor things. The concierge staff helped me with everything I needed, always with a smile, and fast. I booked a Luxury Junior Suite and they graciously provided with a change replacing the existing sofa for a sofa bed queen size, to accommodate all 3 of us in the same room. We got a room on the 4th floor, where you enjoy better views, their windows are big, their ceilings of good height, and the rooms at the 4th and 5th floor are filled with light when you open the drapes. We've stayed before at a suite on the 5th floor where you get a balcony, which is also rare to get in London.
The Soho is centrally located near the lively scene of Compton Rd, but it's also a walking distance from one of my favorite shopping spots in London, New Bond Street. It also has multiple restaurants nearby, and if you decide to stay in, their restaurant Refuel is excellent, which brings me to another reason I continue to book there: my partner is very allergic to gluten, and this is one of the few hotels that offers gluten free bread, pastries and cookies, and they will make any changes to any menu item to suit this need as well.
Every time I return, there's a small gift, be it a candle or a fancy soap with a handwritten note from the hotel manager that just makes things a little different when I walk into the room. This hotel is all about the details: wherever you turn there's art or a whimsical framed print, unexpected wall coverings, fabrics, textures and materials that are a feast for the eye without being overwhelming, a lot of thought and careful planning went into the design of the rooms, they are luxurious but cozy, casual yet refined, contemporary without being overly trendy and the play with color is out of the ordinary but so tasteful, it is definitely a decor that will uplift your mood after a transatlantic flight. The bathrooms are spotless, sparkling granite, Miller Harris toiletries abound, lofty towels and robes, excellent water pressure for either an invigorating shower or filling up the tub quickly for a soaking bath. The closet provides an umbrella (it's London) shoe mitt, garment brush, extra shopping bags and their laundry staff won't take more than 3 minutes to come pick up that shirt you need ironed for the evening.
It is a property that caters to a particular clientele in the arts, fashion, media and otherwise very visual industries, so you will see those types at breakfast, at lunch which is invariably buzzing with activity, and at dinner, when you can really enjoy people watching while sipping one of the bar's concoctions. This time I tried their Passion Fruit Ginger Caipirinha, made with real Brazilian cachaca, I lived in Brazil for a few years, so I know how to make those, and I gave that one a full 5 stars.
With the astounding number of hotels in London sometimes I think about testing here and there one of the other big names or small boutique properties owned by either big chains or specialized boutique chains, but I always end just booking the Soho because I know what I will get, and it's always been very consistent. Hotels in London are not cheap and are infamous for small rooms, and by now I know I'll have to shell out over 200 British pounds for a good room, it may as well be one that I know will be spotless, tasteful and spacious, even their standard rooms are larger than other hotels I stayed at. Since it's a small property, you get more personalized service and while it may not carry the name or seal of a big luxury chain, it delivers luxury at so many levels with such ease and quirk that's hard not to get used to.
Whether you are visiting London for the first time, for a single night, on a business trip or taking a significant other, reach out to the concierge of this hotel and explain your visit and your tastes. You will not be disappointed. If you bring your significant other, chances are you will pleasantly surprise them, I think it would be hard to have an unpleasant experience there.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 4th or 5th floor if you are staying for a few nights, even though their are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRHalac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

My first time staying here. Wonderful room - very spacious and comfortable, with all the expected facilities and treats. Lovely bathroom, with amazing shower. Great location and quite quiet considering where it is. Room service meal served promptly and hot! Staff attentive and friendly, without being overly fussy. Loved it and would stay again and recommend to others!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoapBoxStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#14 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#33 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $543 - $2,494
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing