We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Stay Here Under Any Circumstances”
Review of Blue Bells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Bells Hotel
Ranked #864 of 1,063 Hotels in London
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here Under Any Circumstances”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I have lived on five continents and travelled extensively, including all throughout Egypt and Guatemala (developing nations), but I have never been in a hotel as disgusting as this. I have never seen a hotel room so filthy. Everything was dirty: the sheets, the table, the chairs, the walls, the curtains, the end table, the carpet. The bathroom had mold in the shower, the sink, and the wall. I have never been so disinclined to touch anything in a hotel room. I booked this hotel for 3 weeks and left after the first night. The staff are an odd mix of dismissive and rude, and I cannot emphasize how run-down and dirty the building itself was. I was on the top floor, which is quite a climb, but it's also not quiet. The walls are astonishingly thin, so I could hear anytime anyone did anything, and there is a fire door that slams constantly. Do not set foot in this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lovingthetravelingli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    87
    109
    64
    91
See reviews for
98
87
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

bad moldy rooms. very poor staff atitude. Skip this place, any good reviws you see are not true.

Room Tip: Do not get a Basement room!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank badge_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Located a short walk from 3 tube stations and Kensington Gardens Park, the Blue Bells Hotel is centrally located. This, however might be the only good thing this place has going for it.

Considering I only paid $75 per night and that included wi-fi in your room and daily breakfast I can’t be too harsh on this place. More of a motel than a hotel, the room was small but relatively comfortable, the bathroom had some issues and stating the place offered cable tv in your room is an outright lie. Only three channels & no remote. I had no expectations going in, so I wasn’t totally disappointed, I just reminded myself that I was only paying 48 Pound Sterling. I paid more than that for dinner several times so the overall hotel experience is acceptable once you put it in perspective given the short amount of time you spend there.
If you expect a phone or alarm clock in your room, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WIKITRAVELPEDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

this establishment is truly not up to the standard of "hotel." My college dorm was in better condition. I am not sure when the photos in the brochure were taken but the room we rented did not have nice furniture- it was old, stained and broken. Carpet was dirty. Walls were dirty- had not been painted in years and a new coat of paint might cover all the stains and scuff marks and water damage, not to mention the holes in the walls. Curtains were falling down and windows were filthy. Lights around bathroom mirror were broken, hairdryer did not work, TV remote broken, only half the outlets in the room did anything. One night we were cold and there was not heat control in the room. Another night we had no hot water. We were there 4 nights and every day they promised to fix/replace broken hair dryer and it was not done until the last day. I am not sure what the maids did, other than remake the bed....dirty tea cups and trash was not removed....wet towels were not replaced, bathroom was not cleaned. Shower had only a half door so bathroom floor was flooded after showers and no bathmat or anything other than towels to mop up... toilets had to be flushed 3-4x.....the list goes on. Worst part was the staff was completly unconcerned and did nothing they said they would, in fact asked us to leave early so they could get someone else in the room. We were on the top floor and could hear the subway rumble every 5 minutes as it shook the whole building, I can't even imagine what it would be like on lower floors trying to sleep under those conditions.

Beds were surprisingly comfortable considering everything else. Location was great...thats about it.

Room Tip: the higher up (and further away from underground) you are the less rumble and noise you will have ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Even though it was n't the best hotel I've been, it was nice. The location is very good as the hotel near Notting Hill Gate underground station (5 min).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#826 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#608 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#495 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#605 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#344 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#422 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bells Hotel

Property: Blue Bells Hotel
Address: 14 Pembridge Square, Notting Hill Gate, London W2 4EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #864 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): $123 - $226
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wotif.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Bells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bells London
Hotel Blue Bells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing