We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cheap hotel”
Review of The Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel
Ranked #585 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable but DO NOT BOOK IF YOU ARE DISABLED.
My partner is disabled and we requested a ground floor room, unfortunately the only disabled room they had was unavailable and my partner had to struggle up 2 flights of stairs.
As we were only staying one night we just put up with it but it did mean we couldn't leave the room until we were leaving.
Good hotel if you if you want somewhere cheap and near the tube station.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julesnoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for The Gateway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 101 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed two nights here recently as it was convenient for a family visit. It is close to shops, cafes and restaurants and the underground. Very friendly receptionist and we were allowed to leave luggage in our room though we were very early in arriving.
At £80 per night for a twin this was not cheap. This did not include breakfast as they were 'short staffed.' We were asked to pay on arrival as reception was not always staffed: in fact, after check in we saw no staff at all though the room was serviced. We were shown a side door which we were asked to use for entry and exit and just dropped keys in a box on departure. The room was serviceable but the chair was worn, the carpet had a hole in it and the wash basin was cracked. The hotel is close to Balham Hill which is a very busy road so were kept awake by traffic noise, frequwnr sirens and loud voices in the street. On these grounds we would not reuse.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TonyWebUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

great location stayed here for two nights in October , very freindly near the clapham south underground located near shops, i enjoyed my stay here it was very reasonable especially for London would highly reccomend . On a busy road but london is busy great location would definatly stay here again many thanks for a great stay at a lovely freindly hotel.

Room Tip: i would rccomend the double ensuite room very reasonable priced for london
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amzz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed here with another couple in the middle of July 2011 for 2 nights. Our friends were in Room 9 (1st floor) and we were in Room 2. Room 9 was on the front of the main building and quite bright but noisy because of the busy road outside.

Room 2 was down some narrow stairs in the basement. The smell was the first thing we noticed, a sort of musty, mouldy old ash-tray smell – I realise it’s an old building but this smell was not right. The guy who showed us to the room left us at the bottom of the stairs outside the room, handed us the key and left. When we entered the room the smell got worse, the room itself was dark, dank and dirty.

The bathroom and toilet were old, dilapidated and frighteningly filthy, the toilet seat was broken and hanging half off. The shower was an ancient “over the bath” type with a grimy head which gave out a trickle of water directly over the taps so water sprayed everywhere. The bedroom was no better, the walls were mouldy and this was badly hidden by a coat of white paint. There were thick and dusty cobwebs in every corner and on the light fittings. Then there was the very nice welcome gift of a dead mouse in the middle of the carpet.

We went back to reception to request a room change and were told that there were no other rooms available that night but we could change on the 2nd night, but they would, very kindly, remove the mouse! When we pointed out that this was not acceptable the guy called his manager, we were then offered the choice of a) having the room for free or b) they would call another hotel and get us in there for 1 night. As there were no vacancies anywhere else and we were staying with another couple we decided to stick with what we had. We were told that the room was due for refurbishment and that the building was old. I have no idea how this justifies the poor cleanliness of the room – it costs nothing to clean something properly especially when you are asking someone for £75 a night for the privilege of staying there! In all the staff did not seem that bothered or surprised by what we were reporting.

We went out relatively early and spent the rest of the evening in the bar/ restaurant, The Avalon, next door, which I would thoroughly recommend! The nights sleep was not very good at all as the fridge in the room made a lot of noise and kept us awake as did the thought of more mice creeping about the room!

The next day we went out early and returned late to avoid spending any more time in the room, we found that all our things had been moved to Room 6 even though we had not asked them to do this. Room 6 was a vast improvement on Room 2 it was small but brighter and with a shower cubicle. However our room did have a Power cut because we put the extractor fan on for the shower. The room was still not the cleanest but was better than before. The room was also at the front of the hotel near the main road which was very noisy with lots of buses stopping outside. Don’t get me wrong I didn’t expect peace and tranquillity this close to central London but the windows seemed to keep none of the noise out.

One thing this hotel has going for it was the location, 5 mins from Clapham South tube station and Clapham Common with lots of local shops and places to eat.

This place is worse than Fawlty Towers, at least that was probably cleaner! For a hotel in the country’s capital you expect better standards, I can’t imagine what impression this must give to tourists staying here visiting London. Safe to say we will never ever stay here again and will not be recommending it to friends and family.

Negatives: Dirty, noise, dead mouse

Positives: Location

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here make sure you dont end up in rooms 1 or 2 in the basement!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hobnobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I was looking for a cheap hotel in London for one night. Although some reviews found in the Internet were negative I decided to book this hotel. I enjoyed my stay. All was great. The most important that it was close to the Tube station and the room and bathroom were clean.

Good location and value for London. The hotel is 10 min walk from the Tube; Bus Stop is right in front of the hotel. The hotel was very easy to find. The room wasn't huge but served its purpose, and was very clean. The bathroom rather small but clean. Nice area with places to eat and parks; many stores within walking distance. No complaints really.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank pelcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Balham
Travelodge London Balham
#377 of 1,072 in London
555 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Windmill Clapham
Windmill Clapham
#106 of 1,072 in London
565 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Premier Inn London Clapham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Clapham Junction Hotel
Church Street Hotel
#519 of 1,072 in London
430 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#345 of 1,072 in London
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel

Address: 14 Balham Hill | Clapham Common, London SW12 9EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in London
#343 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $108 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing