We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
180
48
6
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
48
6
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnotting hillportobello markettop floorwestbourne grovehome away from homeeach morningantique furniturelovely neighborhoodgreat hoststhree roomsblock walklarge bathroomwonderful staythe location is perfectbus stopottolenghiaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Location is great,next to hip Westbourne Grove, with many bus stops nearby and to a 10 min walk to the tube (district line taking you to the touristy places). It was a real pleasure to come home at night, to a peaceful hood away from the crowds. And on Saturday of course you are 30 secs away from Portobello Road.

Rooms are gorgeous, sunny, huge for London standards but cosy at the same time. Furniture is very comfortable and antiquy, providing accommodation a big personality.

Moa is charming and very helpful indeed with good Info on places and sightseeing tips.

I highly recommend it. It might be pricey for some people but it is worth every penny. I have been in London in worse and much more expensive hotels. I will come back for certain. As for the booking I did book one month in advance and got the second floor room with the huge bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spagleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My sister and I just returned from a trip to London. I always do a lot of research when planning trips because I want to make sure I stay in great places without breaking the bank. The Main House was a perfect choice. It's located in Notting Hill, right by shops and restaurants with buses around the corner and the tube a short walk away but still very residential. Our room was lovely-- with large windows, lots of sunlight, and a bathroom large enough for two women to share. The owner, Caroline, will give you excellent advise about anything you need (ask her to send you to the Pakistani restaurant near Spitafields Market) and her assistant, Moa, who is wonderful, will take great care of you. Thanks to both for a fabulous trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily3307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Having attempted to check in at The [inevitably-full] Main House on every visit to London for the past 2 years, I had pretty high expectations when finally we managed to bag a reservation. Staying in one of the large apartment-like suites here, you can enjoy a fantasy life as a Notting Hill resident. As a homesick expat of over 2 years, this meant the world to me. When your body clock's 4 hours ahead, breakfast takes on a strange significance, and it's great to have an infinite choice of fab places to polish off some quality eggs. Come 8am every day, we were battering down the doors at Tom's Deli, the Electric, 202, Daylesford and Lucky Seven (who do an excellent rendition of my favourite breakfast: huevos rancheros). We loved meeting up with friends who live in the neighbourhood and popping in and out of shops like Joseph, Helmut Lang and Agent Provocateur. At Seven, I tried on about 500 pairs of jeans, while the charming assistants cooed over all the silly toys my husband had bought at the marvellous R.S. Currie's on Westbourne Grove. To be fair, he was less entranced by The Main House than me. His issues: the stairs (we made an almighty racket humping luggage up and down them at 5am), the zipped-together bed (a pet hate), the plumbing (plenty of hot water though), an admittedly scant supply of (old and unfluffy) towels, the curtains (definitely not blackout, rather a godsend for peeping Toms), the mismatched antiques and the creaky floorboards. But then he's a 5 star luxury boy and this is an entirely different proposition. For the first time visitor to the area, Caroline Main, a truly delightful host, is offering something very distinctive, soulful and charming here (quite apart from the unbeatable value): a genuine insight into life in a unique London enclave. I enjoyed my stay very much.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the first floor to avoid stairs!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanielleNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

It's huge, it's calm and in a wonderful position to visit the main City attractions. Maybe breakfast is too simple, but this is a great place to stay. I love its big rooms and the wooden floor. The double bed is really comfortable. In our room there was a sofa and a TV with DVD player just in front of the bed. Guide books and a fridge are available at first floor. Moa is really kind, she arranged for us transfer from and to the airport at a good price. We were there also in 2010. It's becoming a little hard to find a room, so plan your visit and book in advance!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This was a find tucked away in Notting Hill near the Portobello Market. Only three rooms/suites triple the size you’d find anywhere else in London for anywhere near the price. A bit of a hike to the tube, but worth the walk through a lovely and picturesque neighborhood and really more central than it seemed once you were on the tube or walking.. The bed was comfortable, there was lots of storage and the little extras like adaptor plugs and an alarm clock were there in the drawer with the hairdryer, plus a fridge across the hall. It’s not exactly a B&B, as there’s no breakfast, just coffee or tea, served elegantly, but still, it would have been nice just to get a croissant or something similar, doesn’t seem like it would take that much effort. Also while the room was lovely in a spare antique kind of way, the bathroom needed a shelf and lights directly over the bathroom sink, a plug there for the hairdryer and a few hooks to hang things from. Most annoying was that the only soap was the watery liquid kind; having heard about this we just went out and bought a bar ourselves. Moa was lovely and helpful and Caroline, the proprietor, was full of helpful information and tips. It wasn’t “staffed” in the traditional way, but Moa and Caroline were in the ground floor apartment and very available.

Room Tip: short climb if you take the first floor, but see the pictures online.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2travelersboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews