We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish flat in upscale Notting Hill”
Review of The Main House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Main House
Ranked #62 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed a week at The Main House, quiet and well-situated in luxe Notting Hill. Our room was quite spacious with lovely tall windows and natural light. It was well-furnished with white linens, wood floors, and sparse antiques -- all stylish, if perhaps a little masculine.

All in all, it's great value for London -- stylish and quiet with ample space.

I found owner Caroline to be very helpful and lovely...

Downside: The beds are very firm, uncomfortable. And there is no breakfast at this bed and breakfast: it's tea or coffee only. Our guest attendant forgot coffee on Saturday morning and was late with it another day.

There is a terrific cafe one block away where we enjoyed our morning lattes and casual food / brunch, including poached pear waffles and vegan couscous salads. Veg-friendly...

It's around the corner from high-end fashion and artisanal stores of all sorts. Walk to two tube stops in 10 minutes. One block from famous Notting Hill Antiques Market / Carnival. Fun!

She also provides discounted guest access to a posh private health club with luxurious amenities...

I would stay here again. Next time, I'd take the spa and soften it up with candles and fresh flowers. Needs a little softening...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VedAura1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 119 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

Location is great,next to hip Westbourne Grove, with many bus stops nearby and to a 10 min walk to the tube (district line taking you to the touristy places). It was a real pleasure to come home at night, to a peaceful hood away from the crowds. And on Saturday of course you are 30 secs away from Portobello Road.

Rooms are gorgeous, sunny, huge for London standards but cosy at the same time. Furniture is very comfortable and antiquy, providing accommodation a big personality.

Moa is charming and very helpful indeed with good Info on places and sightseeing tips.

I highly recommend it. It might be pricey for some people but it is worth every penny. I have been in London in worse and much more expensive hotels. I will come back for certain. As for the booking I did book one month in advance and got the second floor room with the huge bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spagleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My sister and I just returned from a trip to London. I always do a lot of research when planning trips because I want to make sure I stay in great places without breaking the bank. The Main House was a perfect choice. It's located in Notting Hill, right by shops and restaurants with buses around the corner and the tube a short walk away but still very residential. Our room was lovely-- with large windows, lots of sunlight, and a bathroom large enough for two women to share. The owner, Caroline, will give you excellent advise about anything you need (ask her to send you to the Pakistani restaurant near Spitafields Market) and her assistant, Moa, who is wonderful, will take great care of you. Thanks to both for a fabulous trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily3307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Having attempted to check in at The [inevitably-full] Main House on every visit to London for the past 2 years, I had pretty high expectations when finally we managed to bag a reservation. Staying in one of the large apartment-like suites here, you can enjoy a fantasy life as a Notting Hill resident. As a homesick expat of over 2 years, this meant the world to me. When your body clock's 4 hours ahead, breakfast takes on a strange significance, and it's great to have an infinite choice of fab places to polish off some quality eggs. Come 8am every day, we were battering down the doors at Tom's Deli, the Electric, 202, Daylesford and Lucky Seven (who do an excellent rendition of my favourite breakfast: huevos rancheros). We loved meeting up with friends who live in the neighbourhood and popping in and out of shops like Joseph, Helmut Lang and Agent Provocateur. At Seven, I tried on about 500 pairs of jeans, while the charming assistants cooed over all the silly toys my husband had bought at the marvellous R.S. Currie's on Westbourne Grove. To be fair, he was less entranced by The Main House than me. His issues: the stairs (we made an almighty racket humping luggage up and down them at 5am), the zipped-together bed (a pet hate), the plumbing (plenty of hot water though), an admittedly scant supply of (old and unfluffy) towels, the curtains (definitely not blackout, rather a godsend for peeping Toms), the mismatched antiques and the creaky floorboards. But then he's a 5 star luxury boy and this is an entirely different proposition. For the first time visitor to the area, Caroline Main, a truly delightful host, is offering something very distinctive, soulful and charming here (quite apart from the unbeatable value): a genuine insight into life in a unique London enclave. I enjoyed my stay very much.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the first floor to avoid stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanielleNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

It's huge, it's calm and in a wonderful position to visit the main City attractions. Maybe breakfast is too simple, but this is a great place to stay. I love its big rooms and the wooden floor. The double bed is really comfortable. In our room there was a sofa and a TV with DVD player just in front of the bed. Guide books and a fridge are available at first floor. Moa is really kind, she arranged for us transfer from and to the airport at a good price. We were there also in 2010. It's becoming a little hard to find a room, so plan your visit and book in advance!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#479 of 1,077 in London
192 reviews
Notting Hill
New Linden Hotel
New Linden Hotel
#612 of 1,077 in London
776 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#357 of 1,077 in London
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#317 of 1,077 in London
2,355 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Main House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Main House

Address: 6 Colville Road | Notting Hill, London W11 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $197 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Main House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing