We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel, ideal location.”
Review of Abercorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abercorn House
Ranked #431 of 928 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We booked a private double room, travelling from Argentina to see a concert at the O2.
Our stay at Hammersmith Rooms was good, rooms were a bit small and the double bed was hardly a double one. If you go with your couple I suggest you get a twin room. The hostel is very close to the Hammersmith Underground Station and to the Hammersmith Bus Station, which is absolutely fantastic since you are a 3 minute walk away from them. Coming from Heathrow is great, the Piccadilly line takes you directly to the hotel. It is a good room for the price you pay, and the staff is very nice and helpful.

One thing I found odd was that they charged you for Internet, and I thought Internet was available for free. They charge 1 Pound an hour and you can log in and log out to administrate your time online.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabianaDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 321 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2011

When i arrived i paid for my single room two nights then went to my room it was clean and big with a double bed & two towels soap & shower gel plus a plate, bowl, cup, knife, fork and spoon all i all i was very pleased with my room, also it was within easy walking to and from hammersmith station, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuernseyJes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I've stayed twice now, having booked a single online for thirty pounds. First time I arrived early and got a free upgrade to a double, which was cozy, clean, with fridge, table, sink, plates and cutlery, towels and soap. In the corridor, the shared toilets were clean, and the kitchens are plentiful, clean and have toaster, mic, big bin, oven etc. The second time I stayed I didn't get a free upgrade, but the single was fine.

The location's good, two minute walk from Hammersmith underground. Exit the front, turn right and it's second on the left.

The only issue was that the noise carries. There's no incessant noise like parties, but I was woken a couple of times by people closing doors or whatever. Then again ... thirty pounds for such a good location is a steal, and I slept well both times.

Room Tip: Higher up away from reception, and also away from the stairs, is a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lifemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

In short lines:
Just got back from this hotel. Whole building is old. Rooms are smelly, dirty and there are a lot of cockroaches in room and in toilets (didn't have the courage to use the kitchen). I am not demanding but conditions that this hostel provides to guests are really unbearable to live with. I was lucky too book this hostel just for one night. Avoid!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antonella1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Abercorn hostel is located minutes away from Hammersmith station which is probably its best selling point. The appearance of the hostel could be worked on- at first it appears quite unwelcoming and run down. The layout of the hostel (because it is so large) is a bit confusing. However, the toilets, kitchen and shower rooms by our room were very clean and modern. The room itself was basic but fine- you are getting what you pay for so cannot really complain. probably the worst thing was the noise at night! Fine for a short stay but wouldnt want to stay there for too long!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#33 of 928 in London
1,235 reviews
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Hammersmith / Fulham
St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#65 of 928 in London
2,157 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#147 of 928 in London
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn House

Address: Abercorn 28-30 Bute Gardens | Hammersmith, London W6 7DS, England (Formerly Abercorn House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 928 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: $29 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abercorn House 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Abercorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammersmith Rooms Bute Gardens Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing