We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Single” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abercorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abercorn House
Ranked #410 of 816 Speciality Lodging in London
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Value Single”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

I've stayed twice now, having booked a single online for thirty pounds. First time I arrived early and got a free upgrade to a double, which was cozy, clean, with fridge, table, sink, plates and cutlery, towels and soap. In the corridor, the shared toilets were clean, and the kitchens are plentiful, clean and have toaster, mic, big bin, oven etc. The second time I stayed I didn't get a free upgrade, but the single was fine.

The location's good, two minute walk from Hammersmith underground. Exit the front, turn right and it's second on the left.

The only issue was that the noise carries. There's no incessant noise like parties, but I was woken a couple of times by people closing doors or whatever. Then again ... thirty pounds for such a good location is a steal, and I slept well both times.

Room Tip: Higher up away from reception, and also away from the stairs, is a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    220
    197
    98
    117
See reviews for
72
289
60
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zadar, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

In short lines:
Just got back from this hotel. Whole building is old. Rooms are smelly, dirty and there are a lot of cockroaches in room and in toilets (didn't have the courage to use the kitchen). I am not demanding but conditions that this hostel provides to guests are really unbearable to live with. I was lucky too book this hostel just for one night. Avoid!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonella1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Abercorn hostel is located minutes away from Hammersmith station which is probably its best selling point. The appearance of the hostel could be worked on- at first it appears quite unwelcoming and run down. The layout of the hostel (because it is so large) is a bit confusing. However, the toilets, kitchen and shower rooms by our room were very clean and modern. The room itself was basic but fine- you are getting what you pay for so cannot really complain. probably the worst thing was the noise at night! Fine for a short stay but wouldnt want to stay there for too long!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Everything about Abercorn Hostel is fine. For £21 pnpp you can have a perfectly acceptable private double room.

We turned up earlier than we were meant to and as such our room wasn't quite ready although it was cleaned and serviced extemely quickly without any obvious corners being cut.

If you're expecting a star rated hostel, forget it. As far as we could see there was no star rating. Don't let that put you off. If you want somewhere cheap and close to central London that's clean and functional then this is certainly a hostel worth considering.

While it's evidently a very old building that could do with some love and care, aesthetics are not what's important here.

Our £42 (for 2 of us) covered our private double room containing: double bed(!), basic wardrobe, sink, chair, duvet/pillow and clean linen, a fridge/freezer, 2 large clean white towels, soap and shampoo sachets, 2 plates, 2 glasses, cup, cutlery and access to a very clean shared kitchen (oven, hob, microwave, all clean and working), clean shared showers and toilets (plus a number of toilet rolls to take to the bathroom yourself).

One review states bedmites and cockroaches.

I can confirm that we saw nothing of the sort.

The hostel is not the quietest that we've used but the location, friendliness of staff and the clean, functional aspect of it make this stay a bargain.

If you book a cheap hostel, you can't expect matching bedding, concierge service or breakfast tone thrown in.

We will be staying here again and recommend it to others wanting a cheap stay in the city.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sublimelyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

It is cheap and nasty. I got bitten by bed bugs.The staff and manager are unhelpful. If you are unlucky enough to get a room above the 1st floor the kitchen and bathroom are not kept clean. Some kitchens have toasters and microwaves but the one near our room did not. There are cockroaches in the kitchen and the toilets smell like urine. It is noisy with doors slamming all night so is difficult to get a good night sleep. It is cheap and has good transport connections but it is just not worth it.

Room Tip: If you dare to stay here request a room on the first floor they are kept much cleaner. They do start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank An0nym0us_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith
Hammersmith / Fulham
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seraphine Hammersmith Hotel
Hammersmith / Fulham
St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#32 of 816 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#147 of 816 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Earls Court
Saint James Backpackers
Saint James Backpackers
#119 of 816 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn House

Property: Abercorn House
Address: Abercorn 28-30 Bute Gardens | Hammersmith, London W6 7DS, England (Formerly Abercorn House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #410 of 816 Speciality Lodging in London
Price range (per night): $44 - $78
Hotel Class:2 star — Abercorn House 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Abercorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammersmith Rooms Bute Gardens Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing