We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Ranked #266 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here as a family of four as we were celebrating my husband's birthday and were going out in Camden in the evening. The location was excellent, central to everything but also very quiet. We had adjoining rooms and they were both very clean and comfortable. We were really pleased with the personal service as in our room we had a complimentary personalised Birthday cake and some bubbly which was a lovely touch and really made our visit. Breakfast the following day was a high standard and they offered hot chocolate as an alternative to coffee for the children which was good. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and we would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Join Priority Club rewards and benefit from the later check out time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
… and an truly excellent review, thank you!

We thrive on special occasions and great moments. No, we don’t shy away from emotions and we love to make your cry … of JOY!

It’s good to share that passion with you. Thank you once again for sharing this back with us!

Eddy & the naughty Camdeners
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock, where you’ll certainly let your hair down
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    608
    137
    38
    41
See reviews for
415
495
91
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here as we were going to the Electric Ballroom and wanted somewhere convenient for Camden and its sights. Because of having hotels.com rewards saved up we managed to get a Penthouse Suite for £39 (taxes and fees) but normally it would have cost around £200 plus taxes booked a few months in advance. Even at this price, bearing in mind the location, I think it's pretty good value for the room. The room was bright and airy and had a balcony overlooking the lock which in the summer would be great. Even on a dull February day it was pretty nice though!

Check-in was fast and effortless although there was a mix up with the booking details it didn't cause us any inconvenience. Wi-Fi is chargeable but we didn't bother and having a suite meant that we had a couple of extras such as free water and a Kit Kat (spoilt, I know!). The room itself was nice a large and very clean.

The bathroom was very good with a large separate shower which I much prefer, although the water pressure wasn't up to much. The room seemed quiet and the air con worked perfectly. I assume it was quite quiet to get back to, but seeing as we didn't get back until 4am I think pretty much everywhere would be quiet at that time. We had room service which was OK. I've had worse and I've had better but the choice was pretty good and it seemed reasonable priced.

All in all, I think this is a great hotel, it has an outstanding location and, as with all Holiday Inns, you know what you're going to get, but with an upgraded room, it felt a bit more individual which made a nice change from the norm in a chain hotel. When we come back, this is where we will be staying.

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade to a Penthouse, do it. When we were there you only had to pay an extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buffgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Nice to have such a detailed review. we could use your service as mystery guest next time; and this is what a review site really is about.

Altogether, it seems that we manage to combine "brand standards" with "surprise". All of our rooms have their own characteristics yet Penthouses boast space, extra features (your own Nespresso machine, free water, juice, separate shower and bath, etc.), private terrace ... and what a view! If you come back in warmer days, you may enjoy drinks while watching the sun set. Nice, non?

On the side, I'll contact you directly through Trip's internal messaging service to get more information about your room service. I'd very much like to work on that one.

Otherwise, lovely to hear you had a great time at the Electric Ballroom and that you were happy about your base (us) in Camden. When are you back then?

Please let us know and we'll show you more about what a branded hotel could do.

Eddy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I have just returned home after a 1 night stay at the Holiday Inn - Camden Lock. I was there with my husband and daughter, we were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday and chose Camden as a base.

I cannot praise enough, Giovanni Valentini the Duty Manager / Guest Relations Manager. He made us feel like superstars from the first moment we stepped through the door.

He found us the perfect room with a beautiful view of Camden Lock. The room was prepared for my husband's birthday with a surprise cake, bubbly, balloons and a fruit platter, everything looked amazing. The room was surprisingly quiet despite being so close to the nightlife of Camden...

I was so happy with this present from the hotel, it really made my husband feel special when he walked in the room and saw all this just for him, along with a personal note wishing him a happy birthday from Giovanni..

I have had the pleasure of staying in many 4 and 5 star hotel all over the world thanks to my job as a professional singer but I found the service at Holiday Inn Camden Lock second to none. I will definitely be returning and would recommend it to anyone who appreciates great service and a tip top hotel.

Bravo to all the staff at Camden Lock Holiday Inn, especially Giovanni Valentini, who deserves extra kudos for being simply brilliant at what he does.

Thank you : )

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Executive room if you can, the rooms are big and airy with a fabulous view and lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eden-sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Saying just 'thank you' would be very little.

You cannot imagine how this made Giovanni feel ... and the loudness that ensued! But you did make us feel so special and it is very nice of you.

We take intense pride and pleasure in surprising our guests, and your appreciation is our reward.

So, whether on a special occasion again or for a little break in 'swinging London', the Camdeners will be here for you.

We all look forward to these new opportunities.

Eddy -Deputy General Manager- & Him (Giovanni) screaming in the background
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Everything about the Hotel was excellent. I arrived late in the evening and the reception staff "Pablo" in particular was so accommodating and pleasent. My room was very clean and had everything I needed for a two day business break. The breakfast in the morning was superb,with lots of staff on duty. From the reception to the Bar staff all were very professional and all with a smile. I requested on my day of leave for a late check out as my business meeting had run over time, and I was greeted with "of course madam ".
I have stayed at this Hotel three times before on family leisure breaks,and was so impressed then with the service and quality of the Hotel. The location is perfect for exploring London, with the tube station 3 mins away,and to get to the station you look into shops and markets stalls selling unique and sometimes very quirky items....so interesting. Great area for shopping, eating, drinking, and generally anything you wish to do you can do happily within 2 minutes of the Hotel. I had a lovely canal facing room which I requested on booking, and was delighted to see that the Hotel had written that on my request booking....that does not happen very often these days. Should you be travelling to London on business or pleasure you will not go wrong with this Hotel, and you will feel very safe, contented and if you have breakfast very full. Congratulations Holiday Inn Camden Lock you have got it just right !!!!!

Room Tip: A canal room would be great if you can get one as you can see all kinds of wonderful things. Ilike a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FUSSYTRAVELLER57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
YESSSS!!! Thank YOU!

This is a truly outstanding review and such an unusual post … you’re getting into the Camden vibe by the look of it! When feeling any withdrawal symptoms, please have a quick fix through our hotel video (we’re waving at you) … and come back soon.

We all look forward to more ‘Camden moments’ with you soon.

A big massive ‘thank you’ once again.

Eddy & the very happy Camdeners
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock, where emotions do happen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswaldtwistle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

we had booked a triple room for myself, husband and little boy - on arrival a very charming chap called pedro asked did we want an upgrade to the 'penthouse' with balcony and also with free breakfast thrown in - ummmm YES - only thing was there was only one huge bed that all 3 of us would have to share - guess they had double booked us - anyway decided to go for it - so glad we did the room was massive and lovely the balcony was huge with fab views of London ok so I has my sons foot in my back for most of the night but so what - the staff were absolutely lovely - the only bad thing was the breakfast - not great - glad it was free - all in all for a budget hotel - one stop on the tube from euston nice hotel great location in lively camden for £89 all in what is there to complain about - great value

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dozza17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your much valued feedback!

I’m afraid that I’m one of those who believe the ‘glass could be even fuller’. We had a miss on our breakfast, one of Holiday Inn’s staples. We also appeared as a budget hotel, yet I hope you didn’t feel discounted at all; there was meant to be an extra bed for your son in the room …

I just hope you’ll give us another visit to be of even better value.

Looking forward to it.

Eddy Brosse, Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#435 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
York & Albany
York & Albany
#623 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#250 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Property: Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Address: 30 Jamestown Road, London NW1 7BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in London
#188 Family Hotel in London
#198 Luxury Hotel in London
#213 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $210 - $379
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock. This modern, stylish central London hotel is located in the heart of fashionable Camden Town & directly overlooking Regent's Canal. Camden Town, Euston, St Pancras & Kings Cross Tube & Rail stations are located only minutes from the hotel with easy access to the Eurostar International Terminal at St Pancras. There are regular links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted and City airports via King’s Cross, St Pancras, Paddington & Victoria rail stations and the Underground. The hotel is located outside the congestion charge zone. The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock is sitting by Camden Markets and within walking distance to Regents Park, London Zoo, Lords Cricket Ground, Jazz Café, Koko & The Roundhouse Theatre. Make yourself comfortable in one of our 130 well-appointed rooms; with 1 or 2 double sized beds, plenty of room to swing a cat, hi-speed WiFi internet access (FREE in all public spaces) and also terraces for our fabulous Penthouse rooms! The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock now offers all-day dining menu throughout for your anytime and 24Hr munchies. The hotel also boasts 6 function rooms including the Glasshouse on the Lock with floor to ceiling windows can accommodate up to 350. The additional 5 conference rooms accommodate 4 to 180 delegates perfect for all occasions. See our event page for more and do look us up here, on TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock Hotel London
Holiday Inn Camden Lock
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing