We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit and just as nice”
Review of Georgian House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Georgian House
Ranked #13 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We loved our stay 2 years ago and so booked again. Our room was great and yes you climb stairs. But that just meant we could eat more and then get our exercise. Like before the staff go out of their way to help and are so friendly. We love the location as well. Top notch!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BelleauLakeGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

I booked to stay here for two nights for a conference and was given a tiny single room with the bed tight against the window (and a wall at either end of the bed.) I lugged my suitcase up a narrow flight of stairs past floors "decorated" with cheap chairs. I indicated that I was not happy with the room. I offered to pay to "upgrade" to a bigger room and was told that this would cost somewhere over £250 for such a change (additional to the amount I had already paid), which was insulting given the state of the place. The "hotel" needs an upgrade itself urgently: the carpets are dirty, worn and frayed and the walls need more than a lick of paint. it was so depressing to return to that after an uncomfortable night (street noise can't always be blamed on a hotel) I checked out the following morning and booked into a real hotel with proper familiar hotel services. The staff member to whom I handed my key displayed no interest or concern that I was abandoning my room early or why, which summed up the hotel. Perhaps I wasn't the only occupant of this "room" to abandon it and seek refuge elsewhere. If a customer isn't happy, and likely to post a negative review, why insult them by seeking to charge an extortionate (and unfair) amount to move them to a more satisfactory room? The hotel, though about 15 minutes walk from Victoria station is out of the way. I cannot believe that some of the positive reviews came from people who stayed in the same hotel as I did. I would in all fairness offer 2 stars for the place. The only praise I can offer is for the skill of the photographer whose website photographs for the hotel managed to make the place look attractive.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Given how "historical" this hotel is, the bathroom was amazingly updated. Very pleased with that. However, the room itself was a bit smaller and I couldn't stand up straight when I'm in certain parts of the room (we're on the top floor). Great view of course, but the no lift thing wasn't doing it for us much. Loved that the breakfast was included and it was a great selection of items. The handy phone was a great idea but we needed to learn to use the windows phone and it was clichy!!! Also, be careful around there...the St. Georges Drive address is closely located to a St. Georges square which scared the crap out of us thinking we'd booked a ghost hotel lol...

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was on the upper floor (no lift) away from the road and quiet. The room and bathroom were small but nice and quirky, fine for a short stay. The hotel is a short walk from Victoria station which is very handy. Breakfast was great with lots of variety of freshly cooked items.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Warm welcome by staff close to victoria station.Very clean room fresh towels and beds made daily.Only downside no lift we were on top floor if staying again would opt for a lower floor.Breakfast was good quality sausage and bacon with pastries.Thankyou for a lovely stay in London.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank janeevans77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#207 of 1,077 in London
4,304 reviews
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#114 of 1,077 in London
766 reviews
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#179 of 1,077 in London
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cleveland
#19 of 573 in London
626 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 573 in London
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian House

Address: 35-39 St. Georges Drive, London SW1V 4DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $183 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Georgian House 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, elegant and contemporary, the Georgian House is your perfect London retreat. Located in the vibrant heart of the capital and just a short walk from Victoria Station, our hotel is a central base for events and attractions. Since its construction in 1851,the family business has been growing and developing, now with freshly renovated and simply stunning guest rooms. With all your essentials such as Wi-Fi and drinks facilities alongside inspiring decor, you'll feel right at home with us. The world-famous Wizard Chambers themed rooms are also hidden mysteriously within our walls and waiting for you to experience the magic. Wake up to a locally sourced, high-quality and delicious breakfast menu in our newly refurbished Pimlico Pantry dining room and host your important meeting in the Cubitt Room. With a 24-hour warm, helpful and friendly service from our skilled team, you will certainly be looked after and will have a memorable experience at the Georgian House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Georgian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Hotel London
Georgian House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing