We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My retreat in London”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Archer on Thames

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
The comfortable living room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Living Room
The comfortable living room
Living Room
The entrance to Archer House
Living Room
River path across the road
Living Room
Sunny kitchen
Living Room
Roomy family bathroom
Living Room
Comfortable big bedroom
Living Room
Living room
Living Room
Kitchen facilities
Kitchen
View of flat entrance from balcony
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
Communal outdoor area
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
A tanquil place to sit and read or enjoy a drink
The Master Bedroom
Kitchen
Bathroom
View from the window across the Thames
Bathroom
Kitchen
Bathroom
The nearby Chelsea Physic Garden
Bathroom
Kitchen
Bathroom
The beautiful Albert Bridge
Grounds
Kitchen
Grounds
Chelsea Flower Show
Grounds
Hallway
Hallway
Street
The London Eye - a short train ride away.
Street
Hallway
Big Ben
Street
Celebrations in Battersea High St for the royal wedding.
Street
My favourite player at Wimbledon.
Street
Kew Gardens - another day trip.
Hallway
Albert Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
London, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
eyecairo
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“My retreat in London”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Top line: a decent elegant spacious apartment not far from the heart of london

One very quickly feels at home after entering this elegant apartment, maybe due to its simple elegance, its easily appreciable functionality, its bright atmosphere.

The apartment is beautifully designed, furnished, and well cared for. The owner graciousness for her guests is evident in each and every detail. This was one of my best experiences in vacation rentals anywhere.

The apartment is in the top floor in a compound, with several garden courtyards in between its sections. The door to the apartment is on the third floor to which you come up either with an elevator or stairs. On entry to the apartment, you will find indoor stairs, which will take you one flight to the apartment area. A step in giving the feeling of sanctuary/ retreat to the place. You then come to a short wide corridor leading to all parts of the apartment, a spacious living-dining room, a comfortable bedroom, a wide well equipped kitchen, a wide bathroom. Wonderfully enough, all extremely well lit, with large windows, either into the street and the River Thames side view (both rooms)' or the inner garden courtyard (kitchen and bathroom).

The living room has a sofa bed and dining table. Luxuries of audio and video with an I-phone-pad docking unit, a large flatscreen tv, with satellite channels, DVD player. Several good quality games. A folder with detailed explanations of the apartment, its surroundings, and its amenities.

Bedroom is wide enough with comfortable bed, large wardrobe cupboard, a nice chair by the window. Kitchen is nothing short of fully prepared. Bathroom had an only issue of weak tap water flow but a powerful Shower operated by a pull-rope.

Other fine details in the apartment abound for the comfort of its visitor, and underlines the graciousness of its owners.

This is one excellent option for a stay in London for the choosy and picky, and when I go to London next time, I hope it will be vacant to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything
Liked least: Weak tap water
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large, airy, light filled rooms and the location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location close to battersea Park
Liked least: Noises outside
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
katkins99
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable London Flat”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Archer House was a great choice for our 6-day stay. We were in London as a couple, after visiting a couple of years ago with our kids. If you only have a few days to see the most popular sights, then it might be better to choose a more central location, but it was just fine for us.

There's easy access to the bus (170 and 44) to Victoria, and Clapham Junction tube/rail station is about a 20 minute walk. We enjoyed starting the day and ending the evening with the bus ride across the Thames.

One thing that turned out to be a fun bonus was that there is now a Barclay's (Boris) Bicycle docking station right outside the building. We are not confident street cyclists, but the part of the Thames Path that runs along the river west to Putney is mostly a wide pavement along the river (except for small detours around the heliport and the dump)--busy on a sunny weekend, but really pleasant on a weekday morning to take a nice 25-minute spin down to the Felsham Road docking station and then walk to the Grind Coffee Bar on Lower Richmond Road. We really intended to cycle to Battersea Park too, but the lattes kept calling us...

Booking the apartment was simple, and Annabel responded promptly to our emails, providing directions and answering our questions. Her daughter was there waiting for us when we arrived, and was very helpful getting us situated.

The rooms are large, and the side view of the river from the living room is pretty. The bedroom is on the same side as the living room, and the traffic on the road can be a little noisy in the morning. If you're very sensitive to noise, you might want earplugs. We didn't cook at all, but the kitchen is stocked with utensils, etc. Sometimes we'd run around the corner to Melanzana for the incredible sfogliatelle (filled crescents with lemon cream or gianduja, wow) and a latte in the morning, and one evening we ordered a pizza there for take-away. There are several restaurants that you could walk to in 5 minutes.

We were 100% pleased with Archer on Thames, and we'd be happy to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing