We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly fine, cheap and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dillons Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dillons Hotel
Ranked #231 of 556 London B&B and Inns
West Midands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“perfectly fine, cheap and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

If you want a reasonably cheap hotel, which is comfortable and clean, and don't mind a couple of extra stops on the northern line, this place is fine.

It is not a massively friendly welcome, i.e. no one there when we arrived and a note stuck to the doorway, and they are pretty inflexible about breakfast times, but for £65 for a double room I wasn't expecting bells and whistles.

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and its in a nice quiet area of London with lots of places to eat nearby

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDP-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    29
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
22
20
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We booked this hotel as we were struggling to find an affordable place to stay on a Thursday night and according to the website this looked like a cheap and cheerful, clean little B&B. In reality it was really horrible.

Although we had told the hotel what time we'd be arriving there was no one there to greet us and we had to ring a number listed on the door. When we got in our key was left on the table in the entrance hall - along with lots of other people's keys!

The bathroom was by far the worst bit - the sink was stained brown and there was a very old, very dirty soap wrapper filling a hole in the top of the shower cubicle. It had definitely been there a while.

The only positive I can think of is that it is in a nice area with some lovely little restaurants. I would stay in this area again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Kips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Just stayed here for 2 nights as my husband was rushed to the nearby hospital while working away in london. This hotel is perfectly adequate for a great nights sleep if you are out for most of the day. The staff here are very friendly and welcoming and its in a very convenient place for 2 seperate tube lines into london.
Breakfast is cereal and toast which is fine and compared to other similar establishments in the area its great value for money.
If you prefer everything ultra modern theres a premier inn just up the road but i like a bit of character and this place fitted the bill for my budget.
One thing i will mention is that there are a lot of stairs, especially to the 3rd floor so only for the fit and healthy!
We will definately use this hotel again next time we are in london.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

Stayed here with my brother and sister and my sister's partner a few days ago and was really surprised by how great it was. We were in room 10, a huge family room with sleeping for 5 and a separate bathroom with shower and toilet. The room was clean, bright and airy, and the beds were really comfy--we all got a great night's sleep.

The hotel itself is in a large building in a quiet residential neighborhood, We were 25 minutes walk from Camden Town where we went out the night we were there, stopping on the way for a meal in one of the many restaurants in the area. There is an Underground station about 5 minutes' walk from the hotel too. I saw buses running on the street outside the hotel also, so public transport is really close by.

The hotel was very quiet even though at breakfast the next morning we saw quite a few guests. Breakfast was a continental breakfast, with tea and coffee, juices, cereal, toast, yoghurt, and fruit. The lady who served us was very friendly, and she was pretty much the only employee we saw our whole stay!

Dillons has free Wi-Fi which worked pretty well once we'd figured out how to use it (there was a card in the room with all the info). There were also tea- and coffee-making facilities in our room--very nice to be able to have a cuppa in the afternoon. The only thing we didn't love was the water pressure in the shower. The pipes in these old places are tiny and the water was not more than a dribble really, so be warned you're not going to get an invigorating shower!

All in all we loved our stay and my sister said she'd be back for sure next time she's in London. The price was hard to beat--we paid around 110 pounds for four of us.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

In a pleasant part of London, well served by tube stations, lots of nice cafes nearby and Camden not too far a walk. The room I found to be like a student flat room, very basic, pretty rough, very tired looking – so don’t expect too much. If it’s just a room you are looking for and nothing else, then it will do. I spend 50 – 60 quid at Premier-Inns in Aberdeen (there was one 2 mins up the road from Dillons), these are much better value and are at least modern and you feel comfortable. The staff at Dillons were excellent I have to say, very pleasant indeed. Could not log onto their free Wifi having tried all four codes they gave me ! Also, B&B’s normally do full breakfast, these guys only did toast (coffee was terrific though). I would not rush back and will keep looking. My colleague prefers Belsize Apartments – but I have yet to experience the delights, it’s just around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Offshore-Trash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#619 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
The Langorf Hotel
#523 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Boutique Hotel
#310 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Avoca House Hotel
#149 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
East End / East London
Kadimah Hotel
Kadimah Hotel
#246 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillons Hotel

Property: Dillons Hotel
Address: 21 Belsize Park | Hampstead, London NW3 4DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price range (per night): $121 - $207
Hotel Class:3 star — Dillons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dillons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing