We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and staff make up for meagre (single) room”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #288 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I arrived about 11pm and was welcomed warmly by the front-desk staff. I had booked a single room with no en-suite bathroom. The room was predictably small but very clean. The bathroom was two steps across the landing but was a little aeroplane-like in its size and composition - shower, toilet and small sink. I didn't try the TV in the room but the wireless internet was free and worked very well. Some bits of decor in the bathroom and bedroom were in need of patching up but not to the detriment of cleanliness.

Unfortunately, the walls were paper-thin and I had to listen to a noisy couple yakking away until about 1am, hearing every word. Although there was good quality glazing on the windows, there was still a lot of police/ambulance siren noise audible throughout the evening in the room. Not the hotel's fault, of course.

The bed was very small (I'm 5'11") and the mattress not really the most comfortable. I was also quite hot and that was with the heating off - probably because I was on the top floor of the building.

In the morning, the breakfast was first-class. Exceptionally friendly and polite waiting staff brought me fresh orange juice, tea, copious amounts of decent toast - and, best of all for ANY hotel - COLD milk! Thank goodness! The sausage, bacon, egg and beans was great.

I wouldn't necessarily rush back here because I think I could probably get a bigger room for what I paid for this, but at the last-minute, it was OK value.

Room Tip: I would hope that the double rooms are a little bit more roomy than the single one I had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fraseyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 694 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Easily the best staff I´ve had in all my journeys around Europe. And it´s easy to know how they can be it, the owner of the hotel is the recepcionist, does the check-in and check-out, gives the tips and directions of all London and always says yes to your requests. London gets really better if you have a service with this quality every day of your stay.

All the rooms are clean (I´ve got two), their appartment is fantastic, nice breakfast and super regardful staff. If you want a nice hotel near to Kings Cross trainstation, this is THE hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get the appartment, its really good, with a nice kitchen and located in a very calm neighborh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guilherme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Had a really pleasant stay the room was lovely though the step into the bathroom was a worry in the middle of the night !! Found the managervery polite and helpful only downside was the waitress arguing with us over our breakfast order ! Highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The room was so clean you couldn't get in without sunglasses. It was Japanese clean. Staff are super-nice and I got the feeling that I was being hosted by people, not processed like a sausage. After I checked out I came back to the hotel to change in the afternoon and they helped me to no end. If you need to lay your head in London, there's no better place. Location, location, location...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adi-Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I was really suprised when we entered the rooms.It was really clean and as we were cold the temperature of the heater was perfect !
I didn't expect that kind of hotel as it was a school trip (we are used to go to very cheap hotel with nothing particualr --' )
This one provided everything we wanted : comfortable bed, friendly staff, a generous and yummy breakfast and an ideal position.
I totally recommend it (I have alreaddy done it) and I plan to sleep there and nowhere else next time ^^

Room Tip: I advice you to take the triple (even if you're alone ... kidding) => the TV was big enough a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isrou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#273 of 1,077 in London
2,040 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
The Westbridge Hotel
#100 of 1,077 in London
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,077 in London
1,260 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $107 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing