We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Blades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blades Hotel
Ranked #235 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed for four nights in March 2012. This was my fourth visit to London but my first stay at the Blades Hotel. Bedroom and bathroom were both very clean, location was quiet and the breakfast was very good (toast, cereal, cold meats and cheeses, juice). Room was cleaned and bed made up every day.

We found it to be a great location, only a couple minutes' walk from the Pimlico station. Pub, pharmacy, grocery and Indian restaurant all close by. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    280
    70
    29
    16
See reviews for
197
166
59
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Probably one of the cleanest hotel rooms I have stayed in in a long time. Yes, my room was not huge but i had a double bed, space to hang some clothes and a kettle and hair dryer, what more do you need :) I was on the top floor but did not mind the stairs. For the price paid this is a great little hotel and I will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bladeshotel, Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing a positive review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Blades Hotel. We are pleasd you enjoyed it.

If you or your company needs accommodation in Central London we do have the best available rate for the whole year. Also you have seen that we maintain a high standard of cleanliness and our location is great - three minutes walk to the Tube Station and one minutes walk to the Bus Stop. The 24 Bus takes you past Downing Street, the Cenotaph and on to Travalgar Square, finishing in Camden.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Blades Hotel again soon.

Best wishes,

Claudia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I am sorry to have to write a bad review for this hotel. We booked a room last July, 2011 for a stay in Sep. Our plans changed and I cancelled the reservation more than 4 weeks before the trip. They charged us the USD176 deposit anyway. I emailed them multiple times and even called several times and was promised that it would be corrected, but nothing was done. Finally, I disputed the charge through MasterCard. Several months later it was corrected (I thought). Then they charged me again! Only after another dispute was it corrected. They would not quit however and charged me a third time!! I am going through the dispute process for what I hope will be the final time. I am fed up with what I hope is their sheer incompetence rather than dishonesty. Needless to say I will never stay there and recommend that anyone considering booking with them take my terrible experience into account.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bladeshotel, Owner at Blades Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
I have read with dismay the comments of this guest. As the owner of Blades Hotel I have asked for a ful report on the allegations made, of any delay and additional charging. When we contacted the credit card company about the situation, we had just refunded the client, and that was when they told us that the client had been refunded already by the Charge Back' office of the credit card company. I would like very much to give a personal apology to the guests for any inconvenience and stress caused. In conclusion I also would be delighted to donate GBP 100.00 to the guests favourite charity as a token of my personal regret. Noreen. Owner of Blades Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here in the family room (No.1) with our three children for a night and were delighted. The room contained a double and 3 proper single beds. It was attractively furnished and clean with plenty of room for us all and comfortable beds. The shower room was located down the corridor but there was a basin in the room and this didn't inconvenience us at all (good shower!). Good choice of cereals, bread, crumpets, etc etc for breakfast. All the staff were very professional and friendly. Great, peaceful location and lots of good restaurants on the doorstep (we like both Mekong & Grumbles in Churton Street). Would definitely go again - ideal base for enjoying London with good transport links.

Room Tip: Family room No. 1 on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyofFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This hotel is well placed, being within walking distance of both the Underground at Pimlico and Victoria station. The rooms are basic with some en-suite but all are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is continental, with cereals, toasts, fruit juices, cold meats and cheeses among the choices. While the on-line booking system is fine I preferred to book by telephone. This hotel was recommended to me and lived up to my expectations. When staying in London I try to make a booking here first.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxtr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#198 of 1,068 in London
1,348 reviews
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#107 of 1,068 in London
2,074 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#516 of 1,068 in London
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#558 of 1,068 in London
434 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#549 of 1,068 in London
742 reviews
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#397 of 1,068 in London
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blades Hotel

Property: Blades Hotel
Address: 122 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#105 Best Value Hotel in London
#324 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $155 - $314
Hotel Class:3 star — Blades Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blades Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing