We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i don t recommended it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Ranked #751 of 1,067 Hotels in London
?gios Athanásios, Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“i don t recommended it”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

it was the worst hotel room i ever slept...the room was depressive and tiny enough..there was a lot of noise..the bed's mattress was uncomfortable and 30 years old at least...the breackfast was not good..it was like you were sleeping in a hell....if i have the chance to choose a hotel,i will never choose this one...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dimitra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    203
    203
    96
    95
See reviews for
172
210
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

After reading previous reviews I was close to tears about booking this hotel. But we had a great stay, 7 of us went for a weekend in London we dropped our bags off in the morning and returned late at night and checked in. They staff were lovely and helpful the rooms were all clean I didn't need to use my anti bac wipes that I always take with me ! Breakfast was simple but perfectly nice and we didn't find the breakfast staff rude. We left our bags there the following day while we went shopping. On our return the girl behind the desk was lovely and helpful.

I am really picky and a bit bathroom OCD but we had no complaints (only about other guests) I had no reason to worry, in fact we all said we would go back ! Its a great location, great price, clean, with friendly staff.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 332Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Booked two nights at this "hotel", booked last minute via Booking.com.

Hotel is very easy to find and close to Earls Court tube.
Was told had to pay £5 for remote control, which I might add WASNT refunded back to me at the end of stay!
Staff walk in without even knocking, I found this really rude as I could of been getting changed or been with my partner!
Room was tiny, smelt and the shower wasnt working and only gave hot water, breakfast was poor.
On my 2nd night, I popped out for abit of a stroll and on my return I noticed someone had been in my room, as window was open, and my stuff was all over the place, and my debit card was missing!

Issued a complaint to the non English speaking manager and still awaiting for a response from them!
Terrible hotel, 1 of the worst I have ever had the misfortune of staying at and never again!

PLEASE AVOID YOU CAN GET BETTER HOTELS IN THE AREA!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manibainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

There was a heat wave in London during our trip but the hotel didn't have any kind of airconditoning. The only way to get fresh air (in general) was to keep windows open, even if it didn't help much. There was a kind of small ventilation system in toilet but you had to keep lights on in order to make it work and as it was very noisy, sao you couln't leave it on for a night.

The room had a wall to wall carpeting which is really something terrible from the 70´s but luckily we had medication with us due to allergies. The room was not vacuumed even once during our 5 day long stay. The room was very dusty. The closet didn't have any shelves.

Breakfast was ok, except the instant coffee..Location is the best asset of this hotel. This is a budget hotel in quality, not in price.

Room Tip: id you have allergies, don't book a room from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nopsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Our double room was extremely small. My husband is only 5’ 11” but his feet hung over the end of the bed. We had a bath towel each; no hand towel, no bath mat for the floor. The electric went off about 10.15pm; we waited a few minutes and then went downstairs to see what was happening. The people on reception could barely speak English and didn’t know what the problem was and were waiting for an electrician. An hour later we still had no electric. It was such a very hot night but we couldn’t shower. The next morning the electric was on but when we left the room we found the lift didn’t work. We had to carry our heavy suitcases down three flights of narrow stairs. The staff didn’t even apologise.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#711 of 1,067 in London
447 reviews
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#735 of 1,067 in London
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#511 of 1,067 in London
772 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#731 of 1,067 in London
416 reviews
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#709 of 1,067 in London
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Hotel Kensington

Property: Westbury Hotel Kensington
Address: 22-24 Collingham Place, London SW5 0PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #751 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): $121 - $264
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Westbury Hotel Kensington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, newly refurbished hotel with friendly staff - close to museums, Earl's Court and Olympia exhibition centers, underground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westbury Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Kensington London
Westbury Kensington Hotel London
Westbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing