We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday roast”

The Flask, Hampstead
Ranked #3,125 of 24,659 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Iconic Victorian pub and dining room in the heart of Hampstead Village, serving fresh seasonal British food all day, every day. Famous for Saturday brunch and Sunday lunch.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Really nice roast lamb. So tasty. Nice atmosphere. Friendly staff and good service. Good selection of ales.

Thank nors280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse M, Manager at The Flask, Hampstead, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thanks Nors280, I’m really glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018

We had a lovely Sunday evening at this pub. It is located on a beautiful Hampstead street. It is a great boozer, with great beers (they have Beavertown on draft, amongst many others). The staff here were also excellent, extremely friendly and very helpful. The food was also good. However, we have had better roast dinners in London (hence the 4* not 5*), but this could be because we had our roast dinner at 8 pm as opposed to lunch time when it is all freshly cooked; it was still nevertheless nice. Nevertheless, we will defiantly be going back. Great pub.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oliver O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse M, Manager at The Flask, Hampstead, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi Oliver, thanks for your feedback, I'm glad to hear that you generally enjoyed your visit and will be back! The staff will be really pleased to hear your comments re service :-)

We prepare most elements of our Sunday roast freshly throughout the day rather than all in one go in the morning specifically with the aim of being able to still deliver a great roast later in the day and I think we generally manage to achieve this, so it's a real shame that on this occasion we weren't able to give you a perfect roast at 8pm. Our roasts are damn good at their best!

I do hope you'll give us another go soon!

Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We have tried to visit this pub on several different occasions but each time there has been no=one seated or very few but we were told all the tables were booked. We explained we only wanted a drinking would be happy to vacate the seats once the party for said booked seats arrived but were turned down.
The attitude of the staff telling us was not the most friendly and after the second time we decided just never to go back. Its a place we walk past often but there are other Great pubs in the area that door keep seats vacant for hours and expect people to stand. Its ok if one wants to stand and drink but we dont and I'm sure there are many visitors like us.
We wont be back there and have our round of eateries and supposing places that will now never include there.

    • Service
Thank londonlouise43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse M, Manager at The Flask, Hampstead, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi Louise, thanks for your feedback, could you possibly get in touch via flask@youngs.co.uk so I can find out when you visited and understand exactly what went wrong. Even at our busiest times - eg Sunday lunch - we always make sure that several of our tables are kept unreserved and we’re almost always happy for people to have drinks at booked tables beforehand, but there are some exceptions - for example in our more formal dining area where tables are laid out with glassware and cutlery etc. Perhaps this is the area you are referring to.

I do hope that you choose to get in touch directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

I visited Hampstead purely to meet up with family that I had not seen in a long time. We enjoyed Hampstead and especially our visit to The Flask.

Good range of traditional pub food and drinks for both adults and children. Good pace of service.

Recommended for family occasions.

Thank AtoZGuitars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse M, Manager at The Flask, Hampstead, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Huge shout out to Sylvia, Hazel and Phil. Lovely pub, lovely evening and even lovelier hosts for the night. Thanks gang!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse M, Manager at The Flask, Hampstead, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Glad you enjoyed your evening, see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Flask, Hampstead also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Flask, Hampstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing