We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous, convenient and excellent value”
other travellers have booked this property
Large family room - 30' long
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large family room - 30' long
Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Large family room - 30' long
Master bedroom
En-suite bathroom to Master bedroom upstairs
Downstairs bedroom has a 5' wide kingsize bed and window looks to back garden
Shower in utility room downstairs
Downstairs shower room / toilet and utility room
Upstairs bedroom has three single beds
Upstairs Master bedroom with super kingsize bed and en suite bathroom
Another view of triple bedroom
Open plan kitchen at far end of family room
Blue Bedroom Shutters
Downstairs very spacious hall
Upstairs landing
Upstairs landing with view of back garden
Blue shutters
Front door
Side entrance with parking
Side walkway
Aerial view of back garden
Red Rose in back garden
Bumble Bee Landing on our Lavender
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
London, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
skeckersl...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous, convenient and excellent value”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We wanted a base for a short family break in London, and this proved to be perfect.

We stayed in a guest suite which is attached to the main bungalow, near Croydon. This means that it is outside of central London, but with regular (half hourly) and convenient rail services from nearby (1 mile) Sanderstead Station which take you to London Victoria, we found this to be ideal for our needs. It is also close to Gatwick Airport and just 15 mins from the M25.

It was extremely easy to book (there is a sliding scale for rental charge based upon length of stay) and was ready when we arrived. Irene showed us around and even provided milk and juice. The accommodation is very comfortable and well stocked with as much equipment as could be wanted. It comprises of a large living area with cooking facilities, table and chairs, sofa bed and corner settee. Off this room, there is a spacious bedroom, dressing room, bathroom and a second bedroom with single and double bed. There is also access to the large and beautifully maintained gardens. Entry is through an independent door within a large private garaged area where you house your car.

Irene and her husband could not have been more pleasant or helpful. When I asked to stay a little later than my scheduled departure time so that I could visit Chartwell, she not only agreed to my request but very kindly left me leaflets to help my visit.

One small watch out is that there are low steps from the living area to the bedroom areas, which I kept tripping over!

We loved our stay here and although there are cheaper options, this really is outstanding value. We would love to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Spacious, comfortable with exceptionally helpful owners
Liked least: low step which i kept tripping over!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORUSAFami...
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint and Comfortable Apartment near London”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family of four stayed here for 4 nights. Although a bit outside of London proper, we loved the location. It was a short walk to the bus stop, which took us to a nearby train. The property is located adjacent to a park, which is a quick short cut to a wonderful market. There is a lovely garden and and everything one could need for a relaxing stay. It is very easy to get into London for all the sites and activity, but we enjoyed being able to easily escape the bustle of the city for some quiet repose. Irene is an excellent hostess. We would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment is very charming and the back garden is lovely.
Liked least: No air conditioning. Although I assume this is normally ok. It was record heat at the time.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChellePan...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
5
people found this review helpful

My parents and I stayed here in the July summer and decided to make this our London 'home base'. It was more than enough for just 3 of us, and the place would suit even a group of 5 - 6 most adequately.

Unlike the ridiculously expensive accommodation options in the city, you will not get London at your doorstep. HOWEVER, you will get to enjoy an abundance of space, comfort and privacy at the Guest Suite and for the entire week that we were out gallivanting in London and its outskirts (we went to Bath, Stratford, Cotswold, Bromsgrove etc too), we really looked forward to going back to a cozy place to wind down after a long day out. The bus and trains are efficient and I suggest downloading the official apps to track the timings (it was very accurate). All in all, it took us just under 30 mins from doorstep to London Vic (you will not waste much time in waiting if you time departure correctly using the apps). True you'd spend more on your Oyster card, but even so, the costs are so negligible compared to the overall living costs in the city.

The amenities available at the Guest Suite are great, especially the kitchen where we have taken advantage of. The Waitrose supermarket nearby is great for picking up frozen food, bread, juices etc so we have had breakfasts / dinners at home on a couple of occasions (economical too!).

Irene and Charles are THE consummate hosts - they were very welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. Irene was very helpful with tips on getting around as well as special requests (if you need calamine lotion but shops have closed!) Dad also got a special kick when he was invited to view Charles' antique cars!

All in all, it was a most enjoyable stay for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen amenities
Liked least: The wifi coverage drops frequently, especially when there are multiple devices trying to connect to the network.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Homely, private, perfect relaxed location”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Upon arrival Irene (host) was friendly, helpful and went above and beyond assistance when we needed it during our stay. Finally an accommodation in the UK with no stairs! Plenty of room, great facilities everything was a few minutes drive, Train station, shops, pubs. Would defiantly use again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing after a busy day of sight seeing.
Liked least: Needed a local phone sim to call for taxi to train station.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This property really is flawless. It is a beautiful little house, which is tastefully decorated with a real homely feel. The cleanliness is excellent. You enjoy exclusive access to a beautiful garden, which smells amazing.

Irene is a very accommodating hostess and really goes out of her way to make your stay comfortable.

You can be there from Gatwick airport in under 20 mins, then a short (£10) taxi journey from the train station to the house. It takes the same time to get into central London.

I can’t recommend this hidden gem highly enough. Thanks again Irene!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable bed, nice surroundings & beautiful garden
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing