We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
137
158
43
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
158
43
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrussell squarebritish museumbedford placequiet streetfull english breakfastno liftbloomsbury areafirst floortop floorcovent gardenwest endsmall hotelyogurtsingle roomwithin walking distancefamily roomperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel in September 2011. Very good location. I guess £115 per double room should still count as "budget" in this location but ... I think the hotel needs a refresh - especially bathrooms. Our room had scratched walls, there were plenty of cracked tiles in the bathroom and the sope holder was coming off the wall. The furniture in the room was very ordinary - nothing to match the really nice style of the building itself. Generally the deco rather out of touch with the overall building style what gives a general feeling that the hotel needs some attention. The breakfast was definately a plus - generous, varied and tasty. The breakfast room was very nice and stylish (so it can be done!). Good service at the "reception" and during the breakfast. Be aware that they have rooms in the basement. This is really strange when your only window overlooks ... the pavement and is barred - certainly not a room with a view! If you don't like the basement you need to make sure that they don't give you a room there when booking as no one will mention that you will be in the basement. My suggestion to the hotel management is that rooms in the basement should be cheaper. Overall the hotel is ok but nothing special as for where it is located. And the current price for a double is a bit too much for what you get especially if you are placed in the basement.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get a room in the basement
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Magge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed for a de-stressing couple of nights in August. Was a little perturbed to find the hotel covered in scaffolding but received a nice welcome. The hall area is nice but the hotel does need a bit of a refresh, especially in the rooms. I was given a bigger (family) room on the top floor, so had plenty of space. The room was 'quirky' but was clean with a nice bathroom. Bathroom looked like it had just been refitted and was lovely. TV was fine. Room was in the attic so a bit of a climb up, 3 flights and not for the feint hearted. Was glad I only had to do it once or twice a day! The only bad point is that I was slightly nervous travelling on my own and this room wasn't very secure. The sash window didn't lock which normally wouldn't have been a problem but there was scaffolding right up to the window; and there is also no chain or bar on the door. Breakfast was included and was great - small cold selection and freshly cooked full english. Staff were lovely and really helpful when needed. No problem leaving luggage on check out, to collect later. Best of this hotel is it's location. So handy for everything. Literally 2 min walk from British Museum and in the middle of great bus links for everything else. 10 min bus to Leicester square and covent garden. Good area so felt pretty safe coming back from Leicester Square and Shaftsbury Ave quite late on. Would recommend. I booked thru Laterooms @ £78 per night. It's not a luxury hotel but then again for £78 in central London it's a good find. I would stop here again for a short break, just on location alone.
(I booked a theatre ticket thru 'Compare Theatre Tickets' (Encore Tickets) and got a fantastic deal. Paid only £16 for Priscilla and not restricted view. Was a good seat.)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodmojoPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Thanet Hotel in the Russell Square area two years ago and were glad to return for a few days in July 20ll. Cleanliness, friendly service, great breakfasts, and a good location (convenient to subways, buses, and restaurants, next door to the British Museum) are the main sources of appeal. The staff is ready with helpful advice, willing to print boarding passes or find a different hair dryer. The street-side front rooms are noisier than the back ones and the decor is a bit shabby but , overall, the hotel is comfortable and unpretentious--good value for the price. I was pleased to find that wifi had been added since our first stay; it was more reliable in the public area than in the bedrooms, but ok near the front windows.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherlocky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed here overnight as we were going to the Shaftesbury Theatre and didn't have a fortune to spend on West End hotels. We had a triple room on the third floor. The last flight of stairs would be a bit tricky with luggage as its quite narrow and curved. That is the only thing I could say that wasn't 100% positive. The owners and staff were friendly and cheerful, the room was spotless and the bathroom was small but really pretty. The location was brilliant..an easy 10 minute stroll to the theatre and being in a residential street it wasn't noisy even though we had the window open all night. Breakfast was great too!! All in all it was great value for money, I will definitely book again!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debduck67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

a very good private b&b hotel indeed; good value for central London and only a stone's throw from the British Museum; also,well positioned being relatively close to 2 tube stations (Russell Sq. and Holborn) and not that far to walk to Oxford St ; excellent service all round:( check-in, breakfast service, to check-out) with friendly, courteous, and helpful staff.
Overall, my wife and I have no hesitation in recommending this place to stay in central London. When visiting London, we'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: a very good value b&b hotel in central London (Bloomsbury)
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AQABA15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews