We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“emblematic”
Review of Big Ben

Big Ben
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 52.40*
and up
Private Tour: Big Ben to Covent Garden Tour in London
More Info
USD 85.15*
and up
London Walking Tour Including Fast-Track Westminster Abbey Visit and Changing...
More Info
USD 13.10*
and up
Essential London Walking Tour
Ranked #5 of 1,656 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Elizabeth Tower is the name of the famous clock tower which stands at the Houses of Parliament. The name Big Ben is often used to describe the tower, the clock and the bell but the name was first given to the Great Bell. The Elizabeth Tower was completed in 1859 and the Great Clock started on 31 May. The Great Bell's strikes were heard for the first time on 11 July and the quarter bells first chimed on 7 September. All visits to Big Ben and the Elizabeth Tower tours are now suspended due to refurbishment with the last tour having taken place on 16 December 2016. Tours are scheduled to resume in early 2020 once the work is complete. Visitors can still book tickets for a number of other tours at the Houses of Parliament which take place on Saturdays throughout the year and on weekdays during Parliamentary recesses.
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“emblematic”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Big Ben is the deep bell not the tower, the tower is st stephens tower. However this is a sight to see a clock to witness and the chimes impressive. be here and hear the hour sound and you know you are in london, rain or shine you get different impressions but both express this fair city well. the bell has an interesting story - cast at the bethnal green foundry it was made to the deisgners recipe (not what the foundry would have used) hence it cracked. this crack has created the beautiful sound we hear today

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank couchbeings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25,335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17,578
    6,347
    1,281
    88
    41
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Boom, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
238 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“a big tower, with a clock”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The clock tower (official name) and the big ben (the clock inside) are ok to watch, you should pass by once... There is not a lot more to tell about this (it's a tower with a clock).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tommyvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful photo spot”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Ionic London site and photo-op. It's visible from London Eye and we passed it on the hop on hop off tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SeenaC-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great for photos-go on a clear day.”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

When we went there were many roadworks, you can't go in or near it but it is great to get photos in front of and an iconic sight to see. Go along Birdcage walk and you can take excellent photos from the traffic island there. Wait for the lights. There are still some red pillar box phones you can get photos in too.
See it while you are doing a walking tour of London you can see St James' park and Buckingham Palace too.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Marianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Big Ben”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Lovely place to visit and the place arroung is amazing as well! You have to go there yourselves to watch it, there are not words to desrcibe the beauty of Big Ben! Highly recommended from me!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Kats0uL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Ben also viewed

 

Been to Big Ben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing