We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic dorm base in London”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King's College Summer Accommodation
Ranked #523 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
US and UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic dorm base in London”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

The room was small and basic. Upon arrival I was given a little toiletry bag with shower cap, shampoo, etc. The first morning of my stay I was awoken by the fire alarm and had to vacated the room during the drill. There was no toilet roll in the room when I arrived and had to go down to the cleaning cupboard to ask for a roll. The bathroom is actually a shower room where the sink, toilet and shower are all located in one room with no division. It was fully functional. It is located close to Waterloo Station. I found it a bit expensive for the type of accommodation however the locations was perfect for me, so I was willing to pay.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yedra78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    20
    9
    11
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Louis Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

I stayed for just one night at Stamford Street. The room was adequately sized, and it was nice to have an ensuite bathroom with plenty of hot water. The downside was that the carpet was dirty and the towel stained with someone else's makeup. One curtain only reached half way down the window, so a light from outside shone in all night. My key also didn't open the door, and I had to get the security guard to open it for me. It would also have been nice to have had a light by the bed. However, for the price, the room was well located- very near Waterloo - and it's unusual to get your own loo etc at their rates. If you take our own towel, and an eye mask, you'll be fine!

Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JongoStLouisMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollyrancher50
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

I arrived in London on a low budget and not expecting to find much for my money. I cannot tell you how pleasently surprised I was at how great value for money Stamford Street Apartments are.

I had my own en suite facilities and was able to use the fairly spacious kitchen, which also had it's own television. The linen was
clean and my room was cleaned daily.

Best of all about my experience at Stamford Street Apartments was the kindness, helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. The manageress ensured that the staff saw to my every need and on one occassion when I came home, tired, fed-up and drenched I was offered a towel, hot drink and a seat.

The security team were also very friendly and I would often stop to chat on my way in and out of the building.

Yes the rooms are very basic, but they are clean and the location is fantastic. If you are travelling to London on a tight budget this is by far the best accommodation to stay in.

Will be back next year!!

  • Liked — Value for money and staff
  • Disliked — Carpets need replacing!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollyrancher50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2006

Stamford Arms is a college dormitory and nothing more. The space allocation is OK for a dormitory, but the beds are deplorable and need to be replaced. The springs come through the mattresses and cause a painful night of sleep, or lack thereof. The bathrooms are about the size of what you will find on a cruise ship (old cruise ship). When comparing the value of staying at Stamford Arms versus a low cost hotel, you should stay at the hotel. It is terribly overpriced for the value received, especially for a short stay. It is very centrally located and within walking distance of many sites and attractions. A good travel agent can find a better deal for you, though.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank H D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2006

Location was the asset to Stamford Street Apartments - you could easily get to any location in central London but...the rooms were very small and neat but furniture, carpet etc. seemed dirty. The elevator was out most of the month I was there in our building which was a pain when you were on a higher floor. Security at the entrance to building were not very friendly and at times were rude! The laundry room never seemed very clean either. King's College RAs were nice and helpful once you discovered who they were as many different groups were staying at the same location. Ventilation in the rooms is minimal so if you are staying more than a couple days you must buy a fan! Surprisingly, I will say I did not have a problem with noise from other rooms but sometimes outside noise was a problem.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank croney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#72 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#39 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#341 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#390 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,964 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Duchy House
Duchy House
#273 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hostel Strand Continental
Hostel Strand Continental
#360 of 573 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's College Summer Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's College Summer Accommodation

Property: King's College Summer Accommodation
Address: King's Venues, King's Building | king's College London, Strand Campus, The Strand, London WC2R 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hotel Style:
Ranked #523 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price range (per night): $51 - $110
Number of rooms: 2400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King’s College London is one of the capital’s most esteemed universities and offers summer guest accommodation to the general public from late June to mid September. Accommodation is available at our Halls of Residence which are located in a great range of central and suburban London locations.Two of our Residences; Stamford Street Apartments (Waterloo) and Great Dover Street Apartments (London Bridge), were recently awarded a 3-star Campus Rating from Visit Britain and provide modern ensuite accommodation near the vibrant South Bank; whilst our more traditional residence at Hampstead (zone 2), set in a leafy suburb, offers standard accommodation on a bed & breakfast basis and is ideally suited to those looking to escape the hustle and bustle of the city while still offering easy access to Central London. Our Moonraker Point residence is available for educational groups. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing