We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Staff Ever!”
Review of Arosfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arosfa Hotel
Ranked #81 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
HK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Staff Ever!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is my best experience of London ever. For the price that I paid, there is nothing to fault with this stay, and lots to be happy about. The location is excellent as well - short ride on the tube to most of the major sites.

Breakfast in Europe will never be as crazy for choice as in Asia, but in Arosfa, there was everything I would expect in a proper hotel - English breakfast, eggs anyway you like, yoghurt, fruits, pastries all to standard.

The rooms were very clean, and comfortably decorated. Not shabby or mismatched, which is often the case in London B&Bs. Although Gower Street can get quite busy, the room sound insulation was fine, and there was not much disturbance from outside. During my stay, the place was fully booked out, but all the guests were very civilized too.

But the staff was just magnificent - always polite, never intrusive, and extremely attentive and sincerely helpful. Nothing was too bothersome, and they would be going around to everybody at breakfast to talk about the weather and offer umbrellas, just to make sure that that detail would not spoil your trip too much. They were absolutely lovely. It's rare to get that sort of sincerity in any hotel. Even in our early communications, they offered us any room that were available, even though I was a lone traveler, and updated us when they had cheaper options to see if I wanted to switch.

If I ever go to London, I would go there again... probably even if not on a budget!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    535
    81
    23
    17
See reviews for
472
425
335
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Having stayed at 4 different hotels on Gower St., the Arofsa is by far my favorite. Even though my daughter and I stayed for one night only, the welcome was overwhelmingly warm and competent, solicitous and helpful. Tessa explained the hotel, the amenities, the room (upgraded from a normal twin to a twin with two double beds), the Wi-fi connection with a winning smile and constant kindness. Given previous Gower St. experiences, we were quite overwhelmed. The room was cheerful ande clean, the bathroom fairly new and sparkling, there was a hair dryer, tea making facilities and crisp apples in a bowl.
If you're looking for spacious suites, Gower Street hotels are not for you. The nature of Bloomsbury houses forbid any kind of large room. For the same reason, there is no elevator -- if your feet or knees aren't what they used to be, be sure to ask for a ground floor or first floor room.
Breakfast is ample, continental, fruit, or full-on English, and served with astonishing speed by Attila. Check-in and check-out are efficient and speedy, you may leave your luggage until it's time to catch your plane or train.
The location is fabulous for the British Museum. If you're willing to walk 20 minutes or so, you can reach any theater in the West End on foot. Regent's Park takes a little longer, add another 20 minutes to get through the park to the Zoo. Well worth the walk through Regent's Park's flower plantings.

Room Tip: Be realistic about your ability to climb stairs. Rooms facing the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uhilborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I´ve stayed at the Arosfa twice this year and give nothing but praise!

Tessa and Attila will do everything to make you feel at home and enjoy your stay! I hope they never ever get bored with what they do, amazing dedication! :)

Lovely small hotel, tiniest bathrooms I´ve ever seen but who cares, how much time do you really spend in one? :) If your room is on the top floor be prepared to walk some stairs. That was no biggie to us eventhough it took my breath away, literally. Sooo badly out of shape this one. :)
The breakfast will keep you going the whole day (believe me I know...) and whatever information you may need about anything, Tessa and Attila are there to help!

Free internet, huge plus!

Thank you, I´ll be going back there for sure!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsysse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Arosfa hotel, especially the very kind staff and personal attention. Very nice location, situated close to public transport (tube, train, bus), shopping and places to eat (Charlotte St).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed here because of a meeting arranged at the last minute. the hotel is centrally located and is close to the British museum and would also be good for a shopping trip. The hotel is comfortable with very friendly / helpful staff, has a nice lounge with a plentiful supply of tea/coffe, Wi-fi and nice selection of books. Good breakfast and good value for money. I stayed in the single room and whilst small, it contained everything that was needed. Perfect for stay...would recommend

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#133 of 1,069 in London
1,231 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#66 of 1,069 in London
1,561 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,069 in London
3,243 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#543 of 1,069 in London
344 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#250 of 1,069 in London
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa Hotel

Property: Arosfa Hotel
Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in London
#91 Family Hotel in London
#132 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $173 - $295
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arosfa Hotel is a refurbished 200-year old Georgian Town House in the heart of historic Bloomsbury district, the former home of the famous Pre-Raphaelite artist Sir John Everett Millais. The cool white garden squares and wide streets of Bloomsbury have been a pull to thinkers for centuries, and it sometimes seems like every second house has a blue plaque denoting that a great writer, scientist or philosopher once inhabited the building. It was in Bloomsbury that Karl Marx created communism, Virginia Woolf defined the twentieth century British novel, and Charles Darwin first conceived the theory of natural selection. The imposing bulk of the British Museum, home to seven millennia of human art and artefacts, dominates the area, and there are plenty of other academic institutions including Birkbeck College, the beautiful University of London Library, and RADA, London's grandest drama school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Arosfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London
Arosfa London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing