We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little B and B/Hotel with a great location!”
Review of Harlingford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harlingford Hotel
Ranked #561 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Mom and I stayed here in for four days in September as a friend recommended it from her last trip. The rooms are not large, but if you have stayed in large, old cities and historical buildings, this is normal. Room was decent, clean, and there was room for your stuff in the closet and to hide your suitcase and you were not crowded. Mattresses were new, bedding soft and comfortable, and they had memory foam toppers, which was my favorite! In all the beds I stayed in on this trip, it was the best. Inside the hotel is quiet. Cute reading room as you enter off the right side, warm and inviting. The flat screen TV with satellite in the room was nice, but we barely turned it on, except for news and background noise. English Breakfast is included and every morning we were asked, "brown or white toast?" Food was good, but there is a short wait as they make it as you order it. There is a continental breakfast too. I love this location for its convenience. It is a short walk (mind that in London a 20 minute walk IS short) to the British Museum and the Russell Square tube stop (15 minutes of leisurely walking.) (Note: There are several tube stops within a short walk, if needed.) Harlingford was very close to King's Cross and Euston stations for quick train day trips. Area is very nice and I felt safe to walk anywhere the entire stay. The Bloomsbury Brunswick shopping centre was just up the street with everything you could need....Boots (pharmacy/chemist,) Super Drug (chemist,) Waitrose (grocer) and many restaurants, like Nando's Peri-Peri chicken (ah, another review...) and other shops to visit. There is launderette (coin laundry) just around the corner, which was a help. And there is a plethora of small mom and pop restaurants' around the corner, as well as, small grocer stores for wine, beer, water, and snacks- if needed. Charles Dicken's house is around the corner- closed until January, 2013.

Drawbacks: next to the University of London and our windows face the dorms. They can't smoke inside so they loitered on the side walks until 11 or 12 o'clock. I had ear plugs, so I never noticed, but my mom sure did. There is no air conditioning, which is normally okay and you really don't need it, but it was warm when we arrived so we could only open the window. And only one opened. It was chilly at night so, it was closed anyway. There is no elevator (lift) so I carried my mom's and my bags up three short flights of stairs. We were on the first floor which was easy at least. Every time we shut the bathroom door, small panel would fall off sink. (Got funny after a while.) Front desk staff were pleasant, but not overly friendly. Since there is not a safe in the room, I asked the front desk to put our passports and other valuables in their safe and it seemed as an inconvenience. Wait staff at breakfast were Asian and sometimes did not understand what you wanted for breakfast.

Overall, nice hotel for a base jumping off point. You never left hungry, slept comfortably, clean and everything was replaced daily. I would come again for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back for quiet. Leave time for breakfast made to order. No Safe in my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cworth2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 189 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for four nights while we toured London. It is very close to transport to any part of the city. The hotel itself is very nice. It's clean, comfortable, and the breakfast is very satisfying. You have many choices from fruit and yogurt to a full English breakfast. You'll never leave hungry! The only problem I had with the hotel is that it is located across from the University of London and while they are in session it can be pretty noisy outside. Fortunately it quieted down about 11 or 12 o'clock.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Have stayed at The Harlingford before, but this recent trip (in October 2012) was made all the more enjoyable because of the hotel's proximity to the tube (Russell Square Station) and the train stations (King's Cross St. Pancras for the Chunnel train, and Euston for a day-trip out to Birmingham). Friendly staff, great location and decent rooms make this one of my go-to places in London. London can be frightfully expensive to stay in, but The Harlingford makes it affordable and comfortable. Travelled with a friend who hadn't been to London in years ... and she would totally go back to this hotel again. Quiet hotel, comfortable rooms, decent beds, good breakfast options. My only caution would be if you're a light sleeper, being on the street side may be challenging because there's what seems to be a school residence diagonally across where students hang out after hours talking and laughing. And if you're looking for a breakfast that runs for a few hours, this isn't the place to find it. 7:30 to 9 only (except Sundays, when it's 8 to 9:30). They could expand the breakfast hours a bit more. After all, some of us are on holiday and don't want to get up too early. ;) But, all in all, The Harlingford Hotel is the ideal spot for affordable and comfortable accommodations in London, perfectly located for the extensive London tube system (remember: the Piccadilly Line, where Russell Square is a station, runs to Heathrow) and for trains to do day-trips out of the city. Check them out!

Room Tip: Streetside rooms may be louder. No AC but good and fast heaters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TO-Gord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Having stopped at the Harlingford over30 times it always gives what it says clean comfy rooms nice friendly staff, great breakfast with continental or full english.The great thing about the hotel is the location. Cartwright gargdens in the historical Bloomsbury area is close to euston station kings cross and st pancras. Few minutes walk to russell st station and two stops away on the tube you are in the heart of the city or 15 min, walk.highly reccomended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back for a quiet night or front for a view of gerdens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petertony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

All I had done so far was to make a reservation mainly based on TA reviews. Something was wrong with my email and I was not receiving confiramation from the hotel. This hotel is so welcoming they called me (from London) to assure me all was fine and reservation was made as well as special requests I had made. That is service!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
2  Thank donnie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#547 of 1,077 in London
265 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#584 of 1,077 in London
591 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#444 of 1,077 in London
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thanet Hotel
Thanet Hotel
#539 of 1,077 in London
349 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#268 of 1,077 in London
2,063 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#81 of 1,077 in London
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlingford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlingford Hotel

Address: 61-63 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#164 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $154 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harlingford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harlingford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harlingford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing