We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel does not offer four-star service, we underwent a false fire alarm”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Aloft London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft London Excel
Ranked #260 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
“This hotel does not offer four-star service, we underwent a false fire alarm”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My family and I visited the hotel for a three day visit. We were awoken the first morning at 6:30 a.m. by the sounds of what turned out to be a false fire alarm!! My two young children were petrified and in tears during the course of this, obviously no one slept afterwards and our day planned with sightseeing ended up being exhausting. What upset me the most is that we received a letter from the Manager hoping that apart from the fire alarm "the rest of our day was uneventful" explaining that although this was a false alarm we should have evacuated the hotel!!! I was expecting some form of apology in the form of a complimentary beverage or meal, unfortunately the management of the hotel doesn't seem to understand the concept of how to make their guests happy. Breakfast was stingy and poorly organized, the coffee machine had no milk, then there were no coffee beans, no rolls...as I often stay in hotels from the Starwood group in my opinion this hotel did not meet the standard of a four-star hotel. Oh and there is no toilet brush in the bathroom, no bathrobes or slippers although the hotel has a pool, and there is a mini-fridge in the room that is turned off and empty and when I informed the front desk that the mini-bar was empty they explained that the hotel does not provide guests with a mini-bar the sauna was out of order, the pool was cold.....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    698
    201
    53
    38
See reviews for
182
573
102
628
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

My second time staying and I would choose here every time if I was staying east end of London although the DLR will take you into london in a short trip. Lovely gym/pool/spa area, small but enough to swim and workout in. Great, large and comfortable rooms. Friendly and helpful receptionists and dont forget the free shuttle to and from Canary Wharf, this was a godsend for me, every 15 mins in the morning and every 30 at night but remember to book it to pick you back up or it doesnt come out (it's not a Scheduled bus after all). Very new and trendy interior and the fridge in the room is useful too. Havent eaten here, looks nice but bit pricy. Overall a really great hotel.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tesad29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We booked this hotel as a mystery hotel through lastminute.com & got a great deal for the May Day Bank Holiday, 2 nights for only £138, usually costs in the region of £200 I believe. On arriving at the hotel by car you are let into the car park by contacting reception who raise the barrier for you. I was told by reception that this would cost £14 per night but they never added it to my bill when we checked out. Reception was in the centre of the entrance lobby & very friendly although the disco could have been turned down a bit. The lifts only operate with your room key card which is great for security. All the decor is very modern & the rooms, ours was a double on the 6th floor, are very comfortable. Huge double bed, digital 42" tv with 20 or so international tv stations & the option to upgrade to pay tv or internet access. The open plan design of the rooms gave you a wash basin by the door with separate toilet & shower room. The location is next to the Excel exhibition centre & the Prince Regent DLR station making it an ideal base for anyone visiting the Olympics this summer or even the O2, Canary Wharf or even Central London. This hotel is definatly on our list of hotels that are worth returning to!

Room Tip: For the DLR do not go through reception, get out of the lift on the 2nd floor & go out through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, Surrey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Let's start with the pros.

# Modern and interesting design.

# 15 metre walk from the Excel Exhibition Centre and Price Regent Station.

# Lovely bar with a pool table and a very fun barman.

# Clean rooms with a nice TV plus HDMI and USB inputs.


And now the cons.

# The barman was super friendly and really fun but the of all the reception staff, I never saw one of them smile at anyone.

# There is a laundry room that you can use to do your own laundry but there is no option of paying for a laundry service, nor is there any contact details for a local laundrette/dry cleaners that may offer this service. If you are exhibiting at the ExCel centre then your days are very long and your evenings are often spent entertaining. It is not easy to find the time to do your own laundry.

# We called down to reception and asked if they could call us a taxi into town one evening. We were told "I'll give you the phone number and you can do it". Is it really that hard to call a taxi for your hotel guests? We ended up having to use my mobile to call the aforementioned phone number as calling an outside line from the room phone never seemed to work (we followed the instructions on the phone).

# There is a computer and printer set up for guests to use but we had no luck with printing our documents from it. We are all fairly experienced in IT but there was no way to change any settings on the PC so we were unable to resolve the issue ourselves. We didn't have time to ask for assistance as we had a meeting to get to.

# We were told by other guests not to bother using the hotel restaurant FEDE as the service is slow and poor. We saw 2 reviews on tripadvisor that said the same so we ate in Canary Wharf most nights.

All in all, the only thing that let's this hotel down is it's attitude towards being friendly and helpful. The 'help yourself' ethos will suit some people but having the choice of a personal service should be offered. When you are spending several thousand pounds on 3 rooms for 10 days then you would hope this would be the case.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mslouisebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Really fun and comfortable hotel. Enjoyed the bar and the rooms; they were much bigger than I expected them to be. The staff were very attentive and caring. Amazing hotel to stay in; its just quite a distance from central London.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughannak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#295 of 1,088 in London
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#463 of 1,088 in London
1,942 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#555 of 1,088 in London
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft London Excel

Property: Aloft London Excel
Address: 1 Eastern Gateway, London E16 1FR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Business Hotel in London
#193 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $145 - $510
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft London Excel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel directly connected to ExCel London International Convention Centre (ICC), Aloft London ExCel features 252 Guest Rooms and Suites, a w xyz(SM) bar, re:fuel by Aloft(SM) where guests can grab a snack 24/7, and the re:mix(SM) lounge. Complimentary wired and wireless high speed internet access is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft London Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing