We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price”
Review of Arsenal Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arsenal Tavern
Ranked #585 of 896 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We had a shared room with bunk beds (3x3). It was really difficult to climb up to the top bed and come down, especially with other people's luggage all over the floor. The room was cramped with no place to put your luggage, except on the floor which made it difficult to walk around. Oh well, we didn't even bother to stay in the room a lot because there were ALWAYS people lying in their beds, doing nothing all day so it was a bit weird. And we had more intersting things to do.
There are several toilets (most of them with tiny sinks) in the hostel and showers are gender-specific. I had a bit trouble finding the female showers since they are on the top floor. But no toilet next to them. You need to use the stairs to get to one. The showers are fixed to the wall so it's easy to wet your hair even if you don't want to.
Overall cleanliness is very good. We saw the staff several times, cleaning the floors and toilets and there was always more than enough toilet paper.
The staff were very nice and helpful.
The breakfast included in the price (toast and jam) has proved not to be so filling for our fast pace of the days but we were pleasantly surprised with the breakfast offer in the pub. We shared (!) a serving of a very tasty English breakfast that gave as enough energy for a few hours of sightseeing. A nice touch is the discount for the guests of the hostel.
The location of the hostel is pretty convenient. There is a bus stop nearby, as well as a tube station.
To sum up, our stay in Arsenal Tavern Hostel was not ideal, but bearing in mind that the price was low, it was within our expectations. After all, all we needed was a place to sleep since we spent the rest of our days outside.

Room Tip: If you can, avoid rooms with too many beds because it tends to get pretty cramped.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jasmina_klc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Arsenal Tavern
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Good location and very close to Arsenal Underground Stop.Also there is a bus station near the hostel that takes you down town.
The rooms don't look that good, but they're clean.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

pretty cool location next to the emirates stadium. the hostel is not very clean but that maybe depends also on the roommates. bar and social areas are pretty cool

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flizzer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I spent tree nights in the hostel with my girlfriend. The first in one shared room with shower and WC. I was a nine beds room, but we where only five. It's a good choice if you don't mind to sleep with people that you don't know. I booked this room the same morning on internet.
The next two nights we had a double room which I booked two month ago and it was more than ok. The hostel is very close to Finsboury Park Underground stop.
The only bad points are the shower in our double room and the breakfast is a bit poor.
If we will be back to London we definitely will book again the Arsenal Hostel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuperMario85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Daniele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Best Western London Highbury
#540 of 1,072 in London
501 reviews
Pembury Hotel
#895 of 1,072 in London
397 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#64 of 896 in London
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#23 of 896 in London
721 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#42 of 896 in London
581 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#27 of 896 in London
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arsenal Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arsenal Tavern

Address: 175 Blackstock Road, London N4 2JS, England (Formerly Arsenal Tavern Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #585 of 896 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: $21 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arsenal Tavern 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Arsenal Tavern From our location the best of London and all of its attractions are within easy reach. Getting around is quick and easy with both Arsenal Station & Finsbury Park Station within an easy 5 minute walk from the hostel. We are only 10 minutes from King’s Cross St Pancras station! Unique to the hostel, Stoke Newington and its huge amount of independent restaurants, pubs, shops and cafes serving the best coffee in London are only a 10 minute walk from the hostel. When you get bored of Shoreditch, come check out Stokey. We are not far from Dalston and Hoxton either. Arsenal Football Club and the Emirates Stadium are a very short walk away. Our bar and the hostel are a great place to be on match days. Clissold Park and Finsbury Park are 10 minutes walk from from the hostel. We do daily walking tours and pub crawls Our extra-large bar and common area are the heart and soul of the hostel. With a stage for live music, large cinema screen and pool tables you will never be bored. We also have free super fast Wi-Fi throughout the hostel. We love entertainers so get in touch if you want to perform on our stage. Got a talent or skill you want to share? Again get in touch with us. We are proud of our hostel and keeping the place clean and our facilities are cleaned and maintained 24/7. We are big on security and provide lockers free of charge, CCTV throughout the hostel and 24 hour reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Arsenal Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing