We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
John and Norma's Homestay B&B
Nearby Hotels
USD 306*
USD 284*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 380*
USD 348*
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
USD 216*
USD 163*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 302*
USD 276*
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 258*
USD 234*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 427*
USD 233*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Lancaster Gate(London)(Great Value!)
USD 287*
USD 261*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
London House Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
USD 158*
USD 131*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Rosewood London(London)
USD 591*
USD 494*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
USD 178*
USD 148*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
234
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmuswell hillalexandra palacelovely homewonderful hostssecond bedroomtube stationclean and comfortable roomspiccadilly linebreakfast tablefresh fruitperfect place to staybreakfast was excellentcentral londoncomfortable stayhot waterquiet streetexcellent stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Best place to stay in London! This was one of the least expensive places to stay, and by far the most comfortable. If you want to feel like you're at home away from home, book a room here today. John and Norma are extremely friendly and thoughtful. The location is north of central London, but a short tube ride from central London and close to the tube station. Look no further, there's no reason to stay anywhere else. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Explr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our review title says it all really. What an absolutely fantastic short break staying with John and Norma.

We knew we were onto a good thing when John offered to pick us up from Highgate tube...how many other hoteliers or B&B owners would even consider that as a courtesy? Handshakes shared and smiles all round, we journeyed the short drive to their gorgeous house where we were greeted by Norma and offered a welcoming cup of tea and shown to our room.

We entered the (very large) bedroom and honestly?...Wow. Lovely wooden flooring, so, so comfy bed (so comfy we enquired as to where we could buy one on our return to Lancaster!), flat screen tv with digibox, gorgeously decorated with enough built in cupboard space to fill 20 times more than we could, PLUS lots of hangers too.

Next door to our bedroom was the lovely large bathroom, spotlessly clean like the bedroom, with cast iron bath, shower, sink and loo. You can always tell how good somewhere is by the cleanliness of the bathroom...and the make of the loo roll. Let's just say it was 'strong and very, very long'.

Once we unpacked, we went to have a brew with our hosts and were shown the breakfast room. Beautifully appointed and homely. Over a jolly decent cup of tea (definitely not 27p for 80 teabags from Morrison's) we had an enjoyable natter with John and Norma who gave us plenty of info on the 'what's, where's, who's and why's' of the area and they offered us the use of their Oyster cards.

We then said our farewells and ventured out on our first day out in London.

We returned, exhausted about midnight, fell into bed and slept like babies until morning time.

When we came downstairs for breakfast and entered the breakfast room we couldn't believe the amount of gorgeous looking food on the table. There was melon, strawberries, bananas, grapes, yoghurts, six types of cheese, various crackers, fresh warm bread rolls and croissants, orange juice, pineapple juice, a big pot of tea, various jams, marmalades and spreads, cereals, baby plum tomatoes and cucumber.

Now this is where things happened that will stay with us forever and just goes to show what marvellous hosts John and Norma are...we had casually mentioned on arrival during our natter that we liked scrambled eggs with spring onion and fresh smoked salmon, so imagine our surprise when exactly that was served to us on top of the feast already laid out before us? We ate like kings and were so full that even after a day and night walking all over London we didn't eat again until nearly midnight!!!

After our second night of restfull sleep we came down to breakfast again to be greeted to more of the feast plus the added lovely touch of some illuminated hearts and a handmade heart with 'Happy Anniversary' on made by Norma. How fantastic?

Unfortunately our stay with this lovely couple was short and sweet. They have a truly gorgeous house, a positive attitude to life, the universe and everything and we cannot wait to repay them a visit in the not too distant future.

Once in a while you meet people that you instantly know are going to be part of your life...we KNOW that whenever we visit London in the future, John and Norma's Homestay B&B will be number one on our 'places to stay' list.

Daz and Mel Thompson
Lancaster
Lancashire
dazcthompson@hotmail.co.uk

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Daz1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is by far the best B&B I have stayed in over the years. John&Norma are real people persons and they will do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Breakfast fantastic, rooms and bathroom spacious and very clean. Location is very good in a quiet neighbourhood, convenient communication to city centre, 5 min on the bus and 30 min on the tube.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ABRCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Having traveled extensively in Europe, this is the best B&B I've stayed in because of the attention to detail, the warmth and genuine interest shown by our hosts, John & Norma. Our breakfast was 5-star standard in variety. The location is a 5-minute bus ride from the Bounds Green Tube station. The neighborhood is quiet for a good night's sleep after an exhausting day & night in central London.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We, 3 generations, 'occupied' both of the rooms at John and Norma's homestay. It was great! John and Norma are really warm, as warm as the house. They are friendly and helpful. The house is esthetic and lovely. It's true, you will not find a better place to stay in London.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Apollo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews