We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Lancaster London
Nearby Hotels
USD 182*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 218*
USD 197*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
USD 215*
USD 201*
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Lancaster Gate(London)(Great Value!)
USD 287*
USD 261*
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 268*
USD 252*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 302*
USD 274*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 483*
USD 461*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 299*
USD 253*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 258*
USD 234*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 288*
USD 252*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,735)
Filter reviews
3,735 results
Traveller rating
1,758
1,352
436
122
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,758
1,352
436
122
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshyde parkisland grillpark viewpaddington stationlounge barcentral lineoxford streetheathrow expresslondon skylinesuperior roomafternoon teabuffet breakfastkensington gardensmarble archan upgradefantastic hotellondon eye
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,527 - 2,532 of 3,735 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Good attentive service, clean room, comfortable relaxing bar, central location

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We spent 6 nights here over Christmas 2011. Both inside and out the Lancaster London might easily pass for the sort of higher-end chain hotels in the U.S. (Hilton, Marriott, Hyatt, etc) and what it lacks in local charm it more than makes up for in comfort. We paid a bit extra for a high floor room with a great view across Hyde Park and much of London. The room was spacious, nicely decorated, and very comfortable...palacious compared to our tiny room in Paris. We pre-ordered the daily buffet breakfast for a slight discount and were glad of it for the many food choices and good service. Also pre-booked our Christmas dinner as most London eateries are closed on the holiday. Not exactly a bargain, but good fare in a lovely setting. The Lancaster is on top of the Lancaster Gate tube station and buses (public transit alsoshuts down for the Christmas holiday, so plan accordingly) also stop just outside. We were blessed with moderate weather and walked most places, often through wintry Hyde Park where a Christmas carnival drew many local families.

Room Tip: For us, and for a special holiday treat, the extra charge for an upper floor room with the park and city view was worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayerman38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The Lancaster London is our favourite hotel for service, quality, location and availability. We have been using the hotel for at least 10years as a family place to stay overnight in London and on business. We have also booked a series of very successful large sales and business conferences requiring in excess of 200 rooms for a week. All is handled very efficiently by the hotel and staff, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel has recently been updated and refurbished and is looking good in the public areas although some of the rooms are just showing signs of needing some TLC too. The restaurants are great, the Express menu in the island restaurant served our meal within an hour in time for the 6 of us to go to a show at the Royal Albert Hall, just across Hyde Park from the hotel.The view acreoss the Park, or the City, is fantastic at any time of the year and especially the winter in the morning sun and mist. the views from the Nipa and Island restaurants provide an excellent backdrop for any meal. If you are travelling into London, theatre or shopping etc, I would not use their courtesy cars unless you have a party of 5 or more. Taxis are very readily available in the road at the entrance to the hotel and are ok for price although for a bit more inconveience but less cost the tube network is right under the hotel and no you cannot hear it, even at night! I cannot wait to have another excuse to stay and sample their excellent breakfast buffet, for £15.50 each it kept us all going for the whole day. Our two young twenty year olds (and me) visited the buffet at least 4 or 5 times for repeat breakfasts!! I couldn't move; back to the gym Monday! I can honestly say I/we would recommend the hotel to anyone who asked with a 10/10 rating.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a Park view and Superior grade.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DominicBenoist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We had a faultless nights stay whilst attending the International Dancing Teachers Ball last week. A pleasant cocktail in the bar followed by great catering at the vent itself. The view from our room over London was wonderful and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Altogether a heartening experience

Room Tip: Better views from higher up (but also more expensive - £20 to upgrade)
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musidorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Trying to find a good value for money hotel in London seems to be nearly impossible but I have to say Lancaster pretty much fits the bill. Hotel is conveniently located next to Lancaster tube or 5 mins walk from Paddington station . I have stayed here twice. The service during both stays was impeccable. First time I stayed in a Deluxe room. Room was spacious in London standards, had a stunning city & park view and sparkling bathroom appeared to be recently renovated.
The second stay was in a Superior room . View from the room was again amazing but the room was significantly smaller and desperately needed some work done. Safe deposit box was not working and toilet did not flush properly. In addition, it was supposed to be a non- smoking room but a previous guest had ingeniously placed a shower cap on top of the fire detector so he can smoke. This left me wondering about the fire safety of the building as no one had noticed the cap in the ceiling until I asked it to be removed .
Despite these mixed reviews I would definitely stay in Lancaster again, as I have tested a few alternative hotels in London and have always ended up feeling disappointed and ripped off.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damselfish_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews