We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great small hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kensington House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kensington House Hotel
Ranked #505 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Kensington house hotel in mid January in order to go to the Royal Albert Hall to watch the Cirque de Soleil.This hotel is in such a good location for the RAH and for the museums, shops and restaurants. It is well served by the underground and local buses to take you all over London. The rooms are small, but clean and with plenty of storage. Although there is major building work going on across the road it did not trouble us as we were out during the day. The building site was well organised too with street cleaning machines keeping the area clean. Staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. We asked for non feather pillows and they arrived in seconds. brekfast was plentiful with a good choice of cereals, fruit and pastries. Cooked breakfast was available at an extra charge.This was our 2nd stay here and I am sure we shall stay here again when we next go to London

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patanddaij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    140
    64
    19
    11
See reviews for
48
124
50
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

This was my third stay at the K-House and I just think it is a great, little hotel. I was traveling with my husband and our daughter/son-in-law and we booked 2 standard rooms. The rooms are small, but are clean and have comfy beds and decent bathrooms. The breakfast is great and the fact that it is included helps contribute to the overall value. (you do pay extra for any hot/prepared items like eggs/meat etc., but the continental is free and includes several breads, cereals, juice, cured meats/cheese....). As mentioned in other reviews, the lift is quite small, but we just sent all the bags with one person and the rest of us used the stairs.

There is currently construction going on right across the street (i suspect London is scrambling to prepare for the Olympics) - so there was noise pretty early in the morning. This was not true the other times I stayed, so once it is complete I would imagine things will become far more peaceful.

The location is great - 2 underground stations w/in a 10 minute walk and lots of shopping/dining opportunities close by.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed in a single room here for a couple of nights, and was really happy with my stay. Yes, it's not the flashest hotel in town, but considering the price you pay, and the location - it's a winnner. Positives are... very friendly and obliging staff, walking distance to a couple of tubes stations, over the road from Hyde Park in a lovely upmarket London street, and at the end of High Street Ken. Also, free wi-fi, nice continental breakfast (or cooked breakfast for a reasonable price) and free welcome drink. My room was very clean, and looked like it had recently been refurbished, as it was in a far better state than most other more expensive hotels I've stayed in in London. The staff were very obliging with free (very) late checkout, as my flight from Heathrow was not until the evening. If you're looking for a very spacious room, lots of hotel facilities (or require a large hotel reception to make you happy like the author of the previous comment!) etc. then this might not be the place for you, but if you are in London to be out and about enjoying what the city has to offer, and want a clean, friendly base to come back to in a great location, then I'd recommend Kensington House Hotel.

Room Tip: Lower floors are better if you don't like stairs. There is a lift, but it's easier to just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mango212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night only, which was more than enough. I have stayed in many 3/4/5 star hotels throughout the world and especially in London. This hotel was not deserving of even a 3*. The only thing to recommend this hotel would be the location near to Kensington Gardens. The hotel is opposite a very large building site which starts work at around 7.45am with heavy lorries moving in and out of the site all day long. The reception is in a pokey little room, although we were checked in very promptly. Went up to the 4th floor by lift which says it could accomodate 4 persons but I would not like to try this out.
The room itself was the smallest room I have ever stayed in, it was very dated but not as bad as the bathroom which was a very unpleasant environment to spend any time in.
The breakfast was OK when it finally arrived although we were left sitting there for about 10 minutes before my friend went to ask if we could have some coffee and hot food.
Fortunately we did not spend a lot of time in the room, we moved the next night to the Jumeriah Carlton Tower which was beyond comparison.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ypadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

A few suggestions before you book your hotel in London. Make sure the hotel you are considering is easy to access from the airport or railway station that you will be arriving into. Secondly, how easy will it be to get to the main tourist sights from this hotel.

We found the Kensington House Hotel to suit our needs admirably. ( Be careful when looking thru' hotels as there are many hotels with very similar sounding names ... make sure you are looking at the correct one ! )

We were flying into Heathrow and used the Piccadilly Line ( NOT the Heathrow Express ). OK , it takes about 40 mins to get to Gloucester Road tube station but you don't have to worry about making any changes. Cost is on £5 per head. The hotel is only 6/7 mins walk away.

The hotel is located in lovely part of Kensington. Your neighbours will be the most affluent of London residents ( house prices start around the £2m mark !! ) and numerous foreign embassies can be seen in the adjoining streets. Kensington Palace and Gardens are literally across the road from the hotel. ( we were lucky enough to have good weather on our visit and enjoyed beautiful walks every morning thru' the gardens which will take you all the way to the Diana Memorial garden and all the way to Knightsbridge if you so wish )

What really impressed us was how friendly the staff in the hotel were. From receptionists to the staff in the b/fast room to the congenial manager Antonio, each was just so helpful.
For example, we really do not like using the underground and intended using taxis to get around. However, Antonio explained how easy it was to use the numerous buses which run along Kensington . ( these worked out so well that we did not need to spend the money on an Open Top Bus tour ). We really had the full services of a local tourist guide on the premises.

Hotel is very clean and comfortable. The lift is tiny and only takes two people. We never used it as thankfully we are both fit enough to be able to use the stairs to our 2nd floor room.

B/fast room is nice and bright and the Continental b/fast is excellent. As stated above, staff are very friendly. All the principal International newspapers are provided.

Royal Albert Hall, Natural History Museum, Victoria & Albert Museum are all about a 15 min walk from the hotel.

For getting around, we purchased Oyster Cards which allowed us to use all the buses and the Underground. ( we both used approx £25 of credit on our 4 day trip )

One final point. If you intend to spend a lot of time in your bedroom, this hotel may not be for you as there is extensive rebuilding going on nearby. However, if like most tourists, you intend getting up around 8.30am and heading out for the a day's sightseeiing after b/fast, the building work will not be a problem. We hardly noticed it. All work has to cease by 5pm to comply with building regulations.

So many fab. restaurants around the area. Will pass on our views to anyone who needs a bit of advice on the ones we found to be worth a visit.

All the best .

Eamon & Ruth

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TheGannetIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Gardens Hotel
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#169 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#370 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#239 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
South Kensington
51 Kensington Court Limited
51 Kensington Court Limited
#694 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#324 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Hotel

Property: Kensington House Hotel
Address: 15-16 Prince of Wales Terrace, London W8 5PQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#319 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $174 - $376
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel with classic designs, tasteful decor, restaurant; situated near Kensington Gardens & Albert Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Kensington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing