We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #119 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lutherville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent location and quiet”
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights , the hotel staff was excellent and our room was upgraded without request. The tube was very close as were many restaurants. the front desk staff were especially helpful and made our stay that more pleasurable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the UK. Steve & Fran Maged. Lutherville Maryland USA

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlandfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Marlandfirst
Thank you for your review, I am so happy to read how much you enjoyed your visit to this hotel and that you would recommend it to anyone visiting London.
best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    905
    206
    38
    23
See reviews for
1,022
642
112
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls
Level 6 Contributor
631 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This was our first stay at this hotel and we were uncertain about what to expect as hotels in London even in the same class can vary widely. This was a pleasant surprise.

We checked in around 6:00 PM and our room was ready. As a Platinum Club member we were offered the Club Room facilities for £20 a day which we took. The front desk staff was super throughout the entire stay. They even called a taxi for us when we checked out very early in the morning which arrived in 5 minutes.

The room was spacious for London, two double beds and a nice bathroom with tub and a good shower. The windows in the room also opened to the back of the hotel. The fresh air was very nice. We visited during a very rainy and cold mid-May. Housekeeping was wonderful. The room was always fresh with new complimentary bottles of water left each day.

The Club Room was phenomenal. Giorgio who manages the area in the morning is wonderful. He greeted us with a smile, jokes and good cheer. He made sure all the items on the breakfast buffet were well stocked and our coffee was poured immediately. The breakfast buffet was excellent with bacon, sausage, eggs, cereal, croissants, toast, pastries, juices, etc. It was a full English breakfast buffet which is a real surprise especially in a club room in a London hotel. There were available drinks [ water, juice, etc.] throughout the day and in the evening there were cocktails and canapes.

The location is very good. The hotel is on Cromwell Road and across the street from the Gloucester road underground station. This station has access to the District and Circle lines as well as the Piccadilly line which has easy transfers to all the other main lines.

There are several excellent restaurants , including DaMario pizzeria which we highly recommend, within a short walk. The hotel also is located about a 20 minute walk away from Kensington Palace. Boots is across the street as is Waitrose, Starbucks, Tesco express and several other convenient stores.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again on our next trip to London.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms facing the back of the building have windows that open to a quiet area of Gloucester Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journeymaid48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Journeymaid48
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel and I am so pleased that you felt able to give us a 5/5 rating.
I will certainly pass your kind comments on to Giorgio in our Club Lounge.
I hope you will be back again very soon.
Best Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Had another nice stay and will come back. I especially enjoyed the free lobby wifi that was available in the guest room.

Room Tip: Enjoy free guest room wifi if you're just above the lobby. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svencito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Svencito
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.
We have recently installed a new wi-fi system throughout the hotel. This is free anywhere in the hotel for guests in Club rooms and suites and also we offer it free to all our Platinum Priority Club members. ( Have you joined Priority Club Yet ? Just ask reception on your next visit)
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

In room 630. Bed extremely hard so I didn't sleep at all for the entire night. The room is extremely small. The desk is chipped, worn and scruffy looking. Mirror covered in smears and badly scratched - looks scruffy. TV doesn't work. One bedside light doesn't work, the other is loose on the wall. Picture on the wall of a policemans helmet. Not really a bedroom picture certainly not in a designated 'quiet' room. Ripped wall paper. Damaged split wood work on and around window frame. Chipped bedside cabinates. Stained carpet. Oh and despite this quiet room meaning we don't get disturbed by the cleaners we get an early morning knock from them! Breakfast - spread not butter. Toast that's not been toasted and cold coffee. Two good points are the room and bathroom are spotlessly clean (apart from wardrobe mirror) and the location is superb. Nice touch to have free bottled water in the room too. I would stay here again but I would make sure I didn't have this room. We were very very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlitNorthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear AlitNorthamptonUK
I am so sorry to read of your disappointment with your room on your recent visit. I will certainly have maintenance check this room to ensure it is maintained to the same standard as our other rooms.
I am delighted to read that despite this, you would stay with us again and I look forward to having an opportunity to restore your confidence.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Right next to gloucester road tube allowing for easy access to all attractions in London. Hotel room was nicely decorated and served all the functions myself and my partner needed for our weekend away. Only downside was that we booked a double room and were given a family room. Quite disappointing as we only checked in a short while after check in was available. We did check with the hotel staff that this was the correct room as the beds seemed quite small for doubles and we had payed for a double not a family room however we were told that all rooms had this sized beds and that it just happened ours had 2 of them. Apart from this a nice hotel in a good setting

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maysy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Maysy88
Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

I am sorry that you were not hapy with your room. You were in fact upgraded to a Deluxe room as we do always try to upgrade guests if we have other rooms available. Our standard rooms have 1 double bed, whereas our Deluxe rooms are much larger and have 2 double beds ( there is of course no obligation to use both beds).
For a larger bed, our Executive rooms and suites have king size beds.

Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,730 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#142 of 1,069 in London
649 reviews
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#210 of 1,069 in London
3,231 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $230 - $422
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing