We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #134 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Villanova, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My family of four stayed at this hotel during the first week of April 2012. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and were delighted to be told that we had been upgraded to club level for our stay. Our room was clean and comfortable. The water pressure in the bathroom was good. The blackout curtains close easily and block any light. We left the hotel for one night and returned for 3 more nights. When we returned, not only did we continue to enjoy the club status, but we were given a larger room with two double beds and a comfortable lounge area. It made the second half of our stay very enjoyable.
The location is perfect, close to the Gloucester Road tube, lots of shops and restaurants close by, as well as museums and Harrods. Still, it is a quiet area so it's peaceful to return there at the end of a long day of sightseeing.
I also want to mention how much we enjoyed our breakfasts in the club lounge. Giorgio took wonderful care of us. He made sure we had any breakfast item we needed and helped us arrange our daily plans. Giorgio is a keeper. The Crowne Plaza is lucky to have him. We wanted to take him home.
I highly recommend the Crowne Plaza!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echobean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear echobean
Thank you for your review of our hotel, we are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your kind comments with Giorgio who is looking forward to seeing you in the club lounge again very soon. (we are upgrading the club lounge and all the furnisture is being replaced the week begining 23 April)
Best regards
Lawder Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    869
    201
    36
    22
See reviews for
953
601
109
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Crowne Plaza Kensington has a modern and clean lobby when you enter, and I was greeted by friendly reception staff.

The room was done to a nice standard although was quite cramped overall (as you expect in London). The only issue this caused was having to move the bed when accessing the mini bar and amenities tray!

The bar/restaurant was closed when we visited so the Club bar was being used instead. This was a glass fronted room with large TV; unfortunately the bar had already been well-used by other guests and the floor was filthy with food people had dropped and staff had not had time to clean up.

As well as the great location just a couple of minutes from the tube station, the staff were friendly and attentive. I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny_c-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear johnny_c-l
Thank you for leaving feedback on your stay with us.
I am sorry that when you stayed in December 2011, our restaurant and bar were closed for refurbishment. Our ground floor upgrade is now complete and we have a barnd new and enlarged bar and lounge overlooking our 1 acre garden, a stylish new Asian restaurant called Umami and a brighter larger reception lobby. I do hope you will return to see all the improvements we have made.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

Great location, very helpful staff and spacious clean room. I have just returned from a 4 night stay my family, six year old daughter, partner and I had a great stay. My only criticism would be on one night there was a group of noisy young drinkers in the bar using bad language, not the hotels fault but perhaps a quiet word from a member of staff would have been in order. This didn't spoil another wise very good stay.

Helpful?
Thank dgbrighton72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear dgbrighton 72
Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Sorry that the language of some other guests spoiled the atmosphere in the bar. We will of course keep an eye on this and I have briefed our bar team on how to tactfully deal with such situations in the future.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow upon Humber
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with wife and kids. It's very well situated, close to natural history museum and stones throw away from the Gloucester road tube station.
Family room was very good, it had two double beds and a nice view out the back, but wasn't too cramped.
Took the deal on breakfast at 12.50 each, as the kids ate free, so pretty good value overall, as the buffet breakfast was excellent.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Mike B
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel. I am pleased that you found the room comfortabale, (they are larger than average rooms for London hotels).
I hope you will be back again very soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights in March. Our room was comfortable and quite spacious for central London. Lovely bathroom, comfy beds and a view of the garden so really quiet. Wifi on main floor and a garden out back which was a peaceful oasis. Add in a fab location across from Gloucester Rd station ( handy for everything including Heathrow) and lots of local restaurants ( and a Starbucks!) and I think this hotel is a wonderful find. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank caseycatkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Caseycatkids
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our 1 acre garden - it is quite unique for a central London hotel.
You will be pleased to hear that we are currently installing wi-fi in all our bedrooms to replace the hard wired internet connection - this will all be live by the end of April.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#128 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#190 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $266 - $569
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, IHG, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing