We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Nearby Hotels
USD 250*
USD 202*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 307*
USD 264*
Marylebone Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 622*
The Milestone
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel 41(London)
USD 880*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Park Grand London Lancaster Gate(London)(Great Value!)
USD 185*
USD 166*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 212*
USD 198*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 394*
USD 293*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 194*
USD 151*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 240*
USD 224*
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 371*
USD 351*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,691)
Filter reviews
2,691 results
Traveller rating
1,411
995
220
40
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,411
995
220
40
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungetube stationumami restauranttwo double bedsduplex suitethe natural history museumcromwell roadunagiwaitrose supermarketoverlooking the gardenthe royal albert hallpiccadilly lineholiday innheathrow airportconcierge staffhyde parkexcellent location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,718 - 1,723 of 2,691 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Crowne Plaza Kensington has a modern and clean lobby when you enter, and I was greeted by friendly reception staff.

The room was done to a nice standard although was quite cramped overall (as you expect in London). The only issue this caused was having to move the bed when accessing the mini bar and amenities tray!

The bar/restaurant was closed when we visited so the Club bar was being used instead. This was a glass fronted room with large TV; unfortunately the bar had already been well-used by other guests and the floor was filthy with food people had dropped and staff had not had time to clean up.

As well as the great location just a couple of minutes from the tube station, the staff were friendly and attentive. I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny_c-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear johnny_c-l
Thank you for leaving feedback on your stay with us.
I am sorry that when you stayed in December 2011, our restaurant and bar were closed for refurbishment. Our ground floor upgrade is now complete and we have a barnd new and enlarged bar and lounge overlooking our 1 acre garden, a stylish new Asian restaurant called Umami and a brighter larger reception lobby. I do hope you will return to see all the improvements we have made.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

Great location, very helpful staff and spacious clean room. I have just returned from a 4 night stay my family, six year old daughter, partner and I had a great stay. My only criticism would be on one night there was a group of noisy young drinkers in the bar using bad language, not the hotels fault but perhaps a quiet word from a member of staff would have been in order. This didn't spoil another wise very good stay.

Thank dgbrighton72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear dgbrighton 72
Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Sorry that the language of some other guests spoiled the atmosphere in the bar. We will of course keep an eye on this and I have briefed our bar team on how to tactfully deal with such situations in the future.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here with wife and kids. It's very well situated, close to natural history museum and stones throw away from the Gloucester road tube station.
Family room was very good, it had two double beds and a nice view out the back, but wasn't too cramped.
Took the deal on breakfast at 12.50 each, as the kids ate free, so pretty good value overall, as the buffet breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Mike B
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel. I am pleased that you found the room comfortabale, (they are larger than average rooms for London hotels).
I hope you will be back again very soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights in March. Our room was comfortable and quite spacious for central London. Lovely bathroom, comfy beds and a view of the garden so really quiet. Wifi on main floor and a garden out back which was a peaceful oasis. Add in a fab location across from Gloucester Rd station ( handy for everything including Heathrow) and lots of local restaurants ( and a Starbucks!) and I think this hotel is a wonderful find. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank caseycatkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Caseycatkids
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our 1 acre garden - it is quite unique for a central London hotel.
You will be pleased to hear that we are currently installing wi-fi in all our bedrooms to replace the hard wired internet connection - this will all be live by the end of April.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel is truly great (and we have stayed in many London hotels).
The staff are genuinely friendly and welcoming, the hotel is spotlessly clean and the bedroom that we were allocated was superb (split level with lounge downstairs and en-suite bedroom upstairs).

Don't leave this hotel without experiencing the brand new UMAMI restaurant on the ground floor. Full of Eastern promise, the Asian cuisine is beautifully presented and, as all the dishes are freshly prepared to order, you can choose just hot hot/mild you would like each dish.

The location (on Cromwell Road) is great for the Natural History, the Natural Science and the V&A Museams and, as my wife has just reminded me, Harrods is only a short work away.

The General Manager is a great host and even works from a desk in the foyer of the hotel - a refreshing change - and always on hand if needed.

Will we return? - try and stop us.........

Room Tip: Our bedroom overlooked Cromwell Road - the tripple glazed windows, black-out curtains and huge bed ensured a perfect nights sleep. The friend who travelled with us had a room at the rear of the hotel which overlooked a large peaceful garden (where you can enjoy a sundowner or two and totally forget that you are in the heart of London).
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Garth P
Thank you for your kind comments about our hoterl, my team and I are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
We are delighted that you had time to try out our new Asian restaurant, Umami, which opened in March. We are already working on the next change of menu for June to add more dishes.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. On your next visit you will have the benefit of wi-fi, which will be in all rooms by April 27th.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews