We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very disappointing.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curzon Plaza

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Curzon Plaza
Ranked #961 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Eckington, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Well maybe there is one apartment that looks like the one on the website. We booked a three bedroom one but on arrival were told that it wasn't available. We ended up with a one bed and a two bed apartment both equally scruffy. The bathrooms looked like they hadn't been touched since the 1970's - turquoise suite and the tiles had been painted over. The bedding whilst clean was strange - a blanket wrapped up in a sheet. The building is very noisy - no double glazing. The location is great, and if you have good ear plugs and are in London for some sightseeing then it is a good base.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    33
    27
    21
    43
See reviews for
25
48
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here for 12 nights. We initially had a one bedroom apartment which did have 2 less than comfortable chairs in the living area. While the apartment itself was a bit on the shabby side, the price (for central London) was good, and making our own breakfasts & some lunches gave us even more to spend. The Curzon Plaza is in a terrific location for, and close to a tube station, although we found we could walk to just about everything we wanted to see. When our daughter and grand-daughter joined us we moved to a huge 2 bedroom apartment which we were all extremely happy with. Both apartments we had were cleaned daily! Both the cleaning and reception staff were fantastic - very helpful, cheerful and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I have stayed twice at the Curzon Plaza in the past three weeks and while it is reasonable I would have to say - try a Premier Inn as they are cleaner, with aircon and better beds.

To try and pass this off as 3 star is not right. The quality is not there and if you get a room at the front of the hotel good luck sleeping. The road goes all night with cars, motorbikes and lorries. Took me hours to get to sleep.

The place is like taking a step back in time. The time warp is stuck in about 1940!!

It really is not worth the £150 a night I have just had to pay.

Only benefit is you have a small kitchen in central London so at least you can microwave that dinner!!!

There's better out there trust me.

Room Tip: Get a room on the inside of the hotel or at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kendo012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed in the Curzon Plaza for 3 nights 5th-8th August. On arrival we were greeted by an old shabby run down looking building but then walked into a lovely modern looking reception area with freindly and helpful staff. Once checked in we went to our "appartment" which turnmed out to be a very small room with cupboards that were falling off the wall, a dirty carpet and the kitchen was VERY small and also dirty!

My fiance went down to reception to speak to them about this as he had paid for a "Contemporary appartment" this turned out to be a mix up and we were quickly changed rooms. This time we did have an apprtment which was spacious clean and modern looking. The bathroom did need updating along with the kitchen but itw as a lot better than what we were first given! The corridors need new carpets as they were dirty and the walls need a lick of paint.

Location wise it was excellent a tube station ( Green Park) is less than a five min walk away, next to the tube station is a bus stop for London Bus Tours and you are within walking distance to all the major attractions. Buckingham palace is a 5 min walk through Green Park, London is a huge city but for doing the tourist side of it all you couldnt ask for a much better location.

Room Tip: Pay for the best appartment, its somewhere you actually want to go back to after a long day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxhsxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

had a 1 bed apartment , the living/ dining room was huge , kitchen well equipt , bathroon with bath and shower , huge bedroom with plently of wardrobe space , the place was very clean but could do with a lick of paint . the only down side was the constance traffic noise but your are in the midle of london it is to be expected , would stay again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denbrooks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Washington Mayfair Hotel
#480 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#357 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#388 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#206 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,141 reviews
Mayfair
Mayfair House
Mayfair House
#681 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#544 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curzon Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curzon Plaza

Property: Curzon Plaza
Address: 56 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1Y 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #961 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): $178 - $446
Hotel Class:3 star — Curzon Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel housed within a redbrick building dating from 1934. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curzon Plaza London
Curzon Plaza Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing