We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Churchill War Rooms

Churchill War Rooms
Book In Advance
USD 53.98*
and up
Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War...
Ranked #7 of 1,514 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The underground headquarters of the British High Command served as the nerve center of Britain's war effort during World War II.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

To be honest, I did not want to go. My husband really wanted to go, so I agreed. This was a fabulous surprise. It was so interesting. To see these rooms intact as they were when the war ended in 1945 was amazing. The interactive timeline was very cool. Make time for this, especially if you are interested in WW 2.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank sisi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,802
    3,269
    600
    83
    32
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour Through History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Fantastic look at the underground headquarters for the UK during WWII. My whole family was entranced. We spent the most time in the Churchill museum with the interactive electronic exhibits.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Napa5222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting, but too long for me.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I liked walking through the war rooms, perhaps I was jet lagged, but it is not my first choice for a must see I. London. The interractive displays were dated .

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank leformi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Took a couple of family members visiting us in London. Although had heard plenty about the place and have always planned on going had never had an opportunity.

I must say that the museum is incredible. To say that the place was locked up after the second world war and only reopened later to be turned into a museum is incredible.

All the beds, bunkers and pans, documents, ashtrays, cigars, maps, communication equipment gives a complete feel of what used to happen on a day to day basis during the war.

It;s very easy to picture a cigar smoking Churchill make all the decisions on the war. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank adarshry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Valley City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fascinating look at WWII”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We could have spent all day here. We had a good experience and learned a lot.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Grammahbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Churchill War Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Churchill War Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing