We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick stop, across from the Train Station”
Review of Thistle Euston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thistle Euston
Ranked #291 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A quick stop, across from the Train Station”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Thistle Euston is conveniently located across the street from the London Euston central train station. This was quite handy for me coming in late one evening from Heathrow, and catching a train to the North the next morning.

Rooms are small, but comfortable. Being near the train station, noise was a concern, but I found the hotel very solid and quiet.

Service at the hotel bar the night of my arrival was excellent, as was breakfast the next morning.

Though I was only there for 11 hours or so, I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TedNes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Euston, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Euston. I am glad our location to the station was convenient for your travels, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back.


Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    1,260
    371
    94
    43
See reviews for
422
1,094
140
772
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham,North Wales
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My son and I stayed here for the weekend at the end of March. This hotel is in a great location to tour London as you can get to most places from Euston Station. I read a tip on Trip Advisor that advised that if you arrived by train in Euston to look for the Lost property/ left Luggage signs and take that exit out of Euston Station to reach the hotel easily. There are a Marks and Spencer’s simply food and a Sainsbury's at Euston station which are handy for supplies. The staff at this hotel is extremely friendly and accommodating. We had a very nicely furnished room with tea/coffee tray & great air-conditioning. We had an excellent night’s sleep due to the comfy beds and cotton sheets. We had a full English breakfast in the basement brassiere which was gorgeous. The concierge was very helpful with directions to buses and the tube etc. We would definitely stay here the next time we are in London sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuttyNicola13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Euston, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Euston, and I happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel was great, pretty good location (although not right in the centre tube right round the corner and is very quick to get to every where from there) on the first night we walked to covent gardens which only took about 25mins! Room wasn't ready when we got there but left our bags and came back later. Staff were all lovely and friendly as well as very helpful. Now I don't no if we had a bigger room or people who have previously reviews are just expecting something massive but our room was a great size as well as being really clean and nicely decorated. Blackout blinds meant that we had a great nights sleep and not much noise at all. Breakfast was really good didn't have to wait on either morning (Friday and Saturday and there was a good amount of choice.

The only downside we had was that at 8.30am on the Saturday we woke up to the door to our room being open and a guy saying house keeping. Now he could have knocked but as we were asleep we didn't hear him. Really don't think this is on. Was not happy as wanted a lie in and couldn't get back to sleep plus don't like the idea of people being in the room when we are asleep at all. When we checked out told the girl at reception and she said it would be reported as it really isn't on so hopfully wouldn't happen to anyone else.

On a whole great stay and would defo recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We were in room 129 good size and not very noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieDonalson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Euston, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Euston. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, however please accept my apologies for the disturbance in the morning. I look forward to welcoming you back.


Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basford
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I undertsand that this hotel has now been refurbished but I stayed early 2011 and it was awful.

My room was very small, the walls were paper thin and the mattress was the most uncomfortable thing i've ever slept on!

Hopefully its now improved!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeaPodAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Euston, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Euston. Unfortunately your review is over 10 months old. The hotel has now completed a major refurbishment programme, which has seen all 362 bedrooms refurbished and all public areas, including our lounge bar, and lobby.


Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I have to say I had an element of trepidation before arriving at the Thistle Euston. I've previously had disappointing stays at Thistle hotels, but this Thistle Hotel was outstanding.

I hear you ask why was it so good? Well the welcome is excellent friendly welcoming reception staff who really seem happy in their work (a unusual quality in staff working in hotels in London!). At breakfast the staff were equally friendly pleasant and happy to accomodate any additional requests or answer any questions. The hotel itself isn't much to look at from the outside, it's a grey concrete building, but entering reception you realise that the inside isn't anything like the outside of the building. Internally the hotel has been fully refurbished to a high standard. The rooms are clean, smart and well designed for business travellers - though this hotel would also suit leisure travellers as although it isn't close to the London attractions it is close to London Euston railway station, where there is a tube station, and it is also close to Euston Square underground station - these tube stations give excellent access to most parts of London.

Perhaps the only negative thing about the hotel is the location it is situated at the side of Euston station next to a large park, so you can feel somewhat isolated as you walk down to the hotel at night.

Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a1_hotel_rater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Euston, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Euston and thanks for choosing to stay with us again after your previous disappointment. I am glad to hear of your recent exceptionally positive experience following our changes at the hotel, with the major refurbishment and our focus on delivering great service and hospitality. Thank you again for your review and for your recommendation to stay.


Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#639 of 1,067 in London
2,107 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Euston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Euston

Property: Thistle Euston
Address: Cardington Street, London NW1 2LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Business Hotel in London
#142 Family Hotel in London
#184 Romantic Hotel in London
#215 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $186 - $391
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Euston 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic hotel for business travellers and people on the move. Whether you're in London for business or pleasure, Thistle Euston is one of the few hotels near Euston Station making it the ideal hotel for overnight or longer stays. At Thistle Euston, we have 362 newly refurbished bedrooms, including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms, and 10 meeting rooms, the largest seating 100 people theatre-style. Business guests now also benefit from a new meet-and-greet point, a break-out area featuring high tables with laptop sockets and Costa coffee at a touch of a button. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Thistle Euston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Euston London
Thistle Euston Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing