We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of The Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Rembrandt
Ranked #233 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The location is excellent - opposite the museums in London - but don't try to get there on the train with luggage. The access from the station is shocking! The hotel was clean, the beds comfortable, and the staff polite. The breakfast was amazing - the choice in the buffet was spectacular. Next time we are in London, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrRie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,780 - 1,784 of 2,738 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

As part of my business trip to London, I stayed for One Night (17/2/2012) at Rembrandt, South Kensington, London. The room offered to me was twin bed room at a very reasonable rate for the kind of location and services provided. Although it was a little confusing to reach the room at times however for people staying for more than one night can get used to it. The staff at front desk was very helpful. About the room, it was very cosy and provided a comfortable stay. At times there were issues with the wifi within the room. The restaurant provided good dining options.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivek_Neelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed at The Rembrandt in 2006 and recently returned for a three-night stay in February 2012. This hotel offers a great neighborhood location directly across the street from the Victoria and Albert Museum and just a few blocks from Harrods. The location is fantastic for tourists!

The hotel is just outside of the central London bustle but situated near the South Kensington tube so that you can get to any part of London easily (buy an all-day travel card to save money – offered at the ticket machines – and good for buses and the tube). We like the hotel’s location as it allows you to experience London but stay in a smaller neighborhood with nice shops and restaurants – and without the crowds. A few more reasons we enjoy this hotel:

- Convenience from the airport – The property is near the South Kensington tube stop on the Picadilly Line with trains running direct from Heathrow. I loved not having to change trains, and the ride on the tube saves you considerable money over other forms of transportation into London (the one-way tube ticket from the airport costs just over 5 pounds – you need a zone 6 to zone 1 ticket. By comparison, the Heathrow Express Train costs over 19 pounds one way, and you will still need to take the tube or a cab from Paddington Station to the hotel. Taking the tube saves you a ton!) The walk from the tube to/from the hotel takes about 5 minutes along an easy, safe path through a lovely neighborhood. By the way, I timed the journey to/from Heathrow, and each train trip took about 40 minutes.

- The Kensington Neighborhood – The area around the South Kensington tube stop offers many casual, affordable food options that won’t break your budget. We enjoyed Muriel’s Kitchen for breakfast on our arrival morning and for coffee/tea and snacks we visited Gail’s and Paul (two separate bakery shops). Additionally, we ate at a local café named Greenfield’s (where two of us enjoyed breakfast with tea for under 12 pounds total) and a wonderful Lebanese restaurant – all located right around the entrance to the tube. There is also a Starbucks and Pret Manger for snacks. If you leave the hotel and walk in the opposite direction of the South Kensington station (Harrods is only 2 blocks in this direction), you will pass many more moderate to upscale restaurants, coffee houses and pubs. All to say, there are lots of nice options located near the hotel.

Finally, we found this property to be both safe (you need a guest room card to activate the elevator, which we appreciated) and clean. There is free wireless internet throughout the hotel (a nice amenity) and a lovely bar and restaurant. The staff is very efficient, and we had no issues. Our room was not available until about 1:30 p.m. on the day of our morning arrival, but the staff kept our bags and we walked to Kensington Park and Kensington Palace – a lovely way to stay awake after a red-eye flight from the U.S.!

While I do like The Rembrandt, I will mention that the hotel rooms are a bit small (see photo) but nicely decorated and very clean. My only complaint with this hotel is that the room doors slam and noise travels easily through thin walls. We were awakened every morning around 8:00 a.m. with the sounds of housekeeping knocking on doors and entering/exiting rooms – with the sounds of doors slamming – while performing their morning duties. It was a bit much.

Overall, I enjoyed The Rembrandt, its location and the neighborhood. I will definitely consider staying there again when I next visit London.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OnTheGoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The staff were friendly and poilte. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. The health club was superb. The best hotel we have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: 636 was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We arrived at 7am after a 21 hour journey from Australia and the polite and helpful reception staff found us a room immediately. Breakfast was great and the variety and service were also very good. Our rooms were very comfortable and extremely clean, top marks for house keeping. We stayed for 5 nights and as the hotel is opposite the Victoria & Albert museum we were well placed for the Natural History and Science museum too. Harrods, Harvey Nicholls and Hyde Park are all a short stroll away and the city and Oxford Street are also very close to this hotel. I would recommend the Rembrandt to anyone wanting to be close to the city and where comfort and cleanliness is a priority.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelperth_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#136 of 1,076 in London
754 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,076 in London
3,391 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#33 of 1,076 in London
2,945 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#367 of 1,076 in London
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
#174 Luxury Hotel in London
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $276 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing