We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Corona
Ranked #565 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed here while on business. It was nice and clean and I had a good sleep in the bed. I had breakast in the morning which was nice enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Corona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 396 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

This was a decent hotel for the price we paid. It was in a good location...we could see the London eye from our room, it was just a few minutes from the Plimlico tube, and pretty close to other attractions. The hotel did provide breakfast which helped saved some money, however, their selection of breakfast items were slim pickings. The receptions were very helpful, the only negative thing I have to say is that the hotel rooms were tiny. Also, wifi is free at the hotel; however, we could never get signal from our room which was on the 4th floor, so we had to always go to the lobby since it had a stronger signal.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chanchan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I just needed a place to sleep and this place was ideally located for my meetings. Plimlico tube is only a few minutes walk. Room was small but clean. Staff very helpful. Breakfast OK.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper a room at the back is probably a good idea.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

While we expected the rooms to be small, we were shocked by all the other issues. The only positive was our location. The bathroom was extremely small, to the point where you would be doused with water when turning on the shower. The water temperature in the sink & shower ran hot. When we brought this to the attention of the manager, she came to the room explaining you need to let it run for several minutes until you get cold water . . . What a waste! Just when you think you have the right temperature, it turned hot again. Miserable! The room was also not clean. Someone left behind hair and there were dead bugs. If you think you can use the phone to call the front desk, think again. There was a "reception desk" button, but it just rang. I went in person to the front desk and was told you are not supposed to use that button, dial "0". Back to the room, dialed "0" and that did not work either. Don't believe the online information saying they are multilingual. An Italian gentleman staying there came to the front desk trying to ask questions, and the clerk shrugged his shoulders. While I don't speak Italian either, I did hear pizzeria in his question. With no knowledge of Italian, I was able to assist by saying "Pizzeria" and pointing in the direction down the street. On another occasion, I asked if there was a phone book so we could find a French or German restaurant. After checking around, he said they must have thrown out the phone books. He then proceeded to call friends so they could find one. He did tell me there was a French restaurant 3 blocks away, but said we would not want to do there because it is too expensive. Since we knew we could not depend on his advice, we went anyway and had a wonderful meal. And the price was reasonable. We will not plan a return trip to this hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend other hotels in the area
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrivner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Although the rooms at the Corona are not air conditioned, they're still comfortable albeit typically London-small. The hotel is kind of boutique-ish. For walkers and other people who like to explore big cities, the Corona is reasonably well situated. Pimlico tube station is about three minutes walk, Victoria station is only an eight minute walk. There are probably two dozen little restaurants of all descriptions (Italian, euro-modern, up-scale vegetarian, mid-scale vegetarian, Indian, mediterranean, pub fare) and several good pattisseries (late night snacks!) and other shopping within a 1-10 minute walk of the hotel. The Corona is one of 48(!?!) small hotels which are located on Belgrave Road stretching from Lupus St in the south to King's Road in the north. That's a lot of hotels on a 2 kilometer long street even for central London, so the Corona staff are used to lots of traffic. That said, don't expect anything but cool, business-like service. The hotel has few amenities, but the well-appointed rooms are very clean and comfortable and that's a lot of value, I think, for $130-$150/night in London. The only downside is wireless internet connectivity, which is handled by a third-party service provider - it's a bit pricey, the connection is slow and if Best Western decides to update/improve only one thing in the hotel, internet service should be it. Slightly less than ten minute walk to the Tate Britain and some great pubs, shops and theatres on Vauxhall Bridge Road and Victoria Street.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Agitater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#215 of 1,072 in London
603 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#542 of 1,072 in London
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#566 of 1,072 in London
442 reviews
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#113 of 1,072 in London
2,094 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Corona

Address: 85-89 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #565 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $146 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Corona 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Victorian conversion, the hotel is centrally located, just a stroll away from Buckingham Palace and close to everything London has to offer, which is a lot! Whether you're here on business or staying with us on a short break, there'll be plenty to do and plenty to look forward to when you come and stay with us again. After all, one trip to London is never enough! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Corona Hotel London
Best Western Hotel Corona
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing