We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room 409 elegant and stylish...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blakes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blakes Hotel
Ranked #452 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Room 409 elegant and stylish...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed with my lover for a romantic night...room 409 is on the top floor has a gorgeous big bath a very confortable big bed and a shower. Nice little suite just enough for our needs. A big TVS sofa and various interesting ornaments make this room warm and stylish.Must be fabulous in the summer as on the same floor there is a small terrace where you can enjoy a relaxing evening with a nice chilled rose.
Breakfast was ok, prompt service, oeuf benedicte a little over cooked, tasty orange juice and staff could be with being a little more smiley!!!
But I d for sure come back and try a different room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Ladyejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thankyou very much for taking the time to highlight your experience at Blakes. I am certainly looking into why your breakfast was served over-cooked, and will ensure that our chefs provide you with the usual high quality cuisine next time you visit the restaurant. With your experience in mind, I will remind our staff to ensure the highest level of service at all times. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to book a further visit to Blakes.

Julian
Julian Payne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    97
    47
    47
    23
See reviews for
34
242
44
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband booked 2 nights at Blakes Hotel for a surprise birthday weekend treat. Escaping from 2 toddlers is a luxury itself so I was very excited to think of the luxury of 2 quiet nights and 2 long lie ins! Sadly our first night was so noisy from the street (no double glazing) that we were awake most hours and then visitors in the room above us returned at 5am stomping around...We requested to change rooms for the following night and the staff were very obliging and found us a different room. Even though we were 2 visitors we only had 1 set of towels and 1 bottle of water in the room at 'turn down'. No kettles, tea or coffee in the room so HUGE service charges for everything brought to your room including lonesome cups of tea! However on the plus side the staff are very friendly, the rooms are very clean and the food (although very pricey) was delicious even the breakfasts...Overall an average but very expensive stay - disappointing considering how difficult it is for us to have a weekend without children :(

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bexieball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
We are all extremely grateful to you for taking the time to write this review. I have spoken extensively to all departments involved with your experience. We do not place kettles in the rooms at Blakes due to our high standard of furnishing, therefore any tea or coffee purchased would go onto the room bill. I would like to invite you in for tea at your convenience to experience our usual high standard of presentation and service. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the restaurant, and please contact me directly to arrange a further visit to the hotel that I will organise personally.

Julian
Julian Payne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Had such a fantastic stay at Blakes.. Everything was perfect, from service, room, drinks & food. I was taking my boyfriend for a birthday surprise and requested a certain room, which was one of the double luxurys with newspaper wallpaper and two bang & olsufen TVs.. I wrote a little note on the special request part of booking asking for that particular room and thought it wouldnt even get looked at.. but when we arrived we got it - such a nice surprise! Also got two glasses of champagne sent to the room on arrival which was another lovely little touch!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank AlfieF2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
I am thrilled you received our continued high service during your stay, and thank you for this highly complimentary review. We appreciate guest feedback greatly, and I am delighted you were able to experience one of our Luxury Double rooms on your stay here. We like to add special touches to make our guests’ stay that much more special, and will continue to satisfy all our guests as much as possible. I look forward to welcoming you back to Blakes!

Julian
Julian Payne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed here for New Year's Eve with my boyfriend, we absolutely loved our room and couldn't have found the staff more helpful. We ate dinner in the restaurant which was delicious and had a few drinks in the bar afterwards! Again delicious.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank morrisandmoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thankyou so much for taking the time to share your experience at Blakes Hotel, and I am thrilled you were able to experience all aspects of the hotel at their continued best. Do not hesitate to contact me directly for any further bookings, and I will oversee the arrangements personally.

Julian
Julian Payne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I decided to surprise my (then) girlfriend with an overnight stay at Blakes in late November (notwithstanding that we live only 10 minutes away). The vibe of the hotel - boutique and avant garde - is boldly on display as soon as you enter the quirky reception area. The hotel decor tends toward the dark and eccentric. The room that we stayed in had a 'Cleopatra bed', heavy drapes and a distinct absence of light. Unfortunately, it doesn't require close inspection to see that this hotel is getting old and tired. The carpets and wallpaper are frayed and torn, and we had the impression that this was a hotel living on past glories. The restaurant was emphatically overpriced and the food sub-standard. The total bill for one night stay and dinner in the restaurant was over £500 - which really galled. You can do much better.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UKBen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Firstly, I’d like to thank you for taking the time to review the hotel; we appreciate all feedback. We are currently going through soft refurbishments to amend anything that does not compliment the luxury accommodation we provide, and I have been assured that the points mentioned have been seen to. It is not our intention to over-price, only reflect the high level of cuisine that is produced by our chefs, and I sincerely apologise that you or your guest did not experience this. I am delighted to read you liked the quirkiness of the hotel, please get in touch directly to book your next stay with us and I will handle all the arrangements myself.

Julian
Julian Payne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#348 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
South Kensington
Number Sixteen
Number Sixteen
#174 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Sydney House
Sydney House
#243 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#37 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,627 reviews
Shoreditch
Boundary Rooms & Suites
Boundary Rooms & Suites
#619 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakes Hotel

Property: Blakes Hotel
Address: 33 Roland Gardens, London SW7 3PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#221 Business Hotel in London
#231 Romantic Hotel in London
#304 Luxury Hotel in London
#384 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $376 - $694
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by Anouska Hempel, the London hotelier and internationally renowned designer, the hotel offers style, elegance and sensational service to the well-travelled connoisseur. Blakes is established as totally unique and has been the model for the "fashionable small hotel" in London and cities around the world.Respected for protecting the privacy of its clients against the paparazzi, it is the London base for film stars, musicians and all the top designers, earning its reputation as The "Couture" Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Blakes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blakes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing