We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel and apartments-brilliant!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Milestone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
White Plains, NY
1 review
“Awesome hotel and apartments-brilliant!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just returned from April holiday visiting our son who is studying at King's College this semester. We rented an apartment at the hotel-which truly surpassed our expectations. The apartment was beautiful, with magnificently appointed rooms for ourselves and two of our children- ages 18 and 15. We also had a lovely living/sitting room where we could read, relax, watch movies, visit with our older son and his girlfriend, etc. The kitchen came already stocked with juice, milk, coffee/tea, cereals, yogurt and fresh fruit. The staff is amazing- kind, helpful, hospitable--you truly feel "at home", welcome and part of the family. They are solution oriented-- if your college junior decides on the spur of the moment that he wants to sleep over- they have a comfortable bed set up in the living room 5 minutes later. If you have a reservation for tea for four, and two more guests show up at the last minute- they are received-- without skipping a beat-- with warmth and true hospitality.
We have been lucky enough to vacation at some truly wonderful places--Palazzo Sasso in Ravello, Gran Hotel Serbilloni in Bellagio, King David in Jerusalem--this is more than a match for any of them.
Please note- the team is what makes this place great- wonderful doormen, warm friendly front desk, rockin' concierge-kudos to Jose, Andrew- the "heart" of the hotel, and awesome bartender Markus. Thanks to all of you for an awesome vacation.
Steve, Barbara, and family

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Steve, Barbara and family,
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us in our apartments. We have received some great comments about how these apartments work well for longer stays and I'm especially pleased that you were able to make full use of the hotel services and most of all spend time with our team who are passionate about what they do. I will take much pleasure in passing your kind comments onto each member of the team including Markus and Jose of course. We very much hope that we have won you over as future guests who will regard us as your "home from home" in London.
Your warm validation is hugely appreciated and most encouraging. Please rest assured that we will keep working hard for you and look forward we hope to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Warm regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,684
    135
    36
    3
    2
See reviews for
478
861
90
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
453 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,353 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I went there with a bunch of friends for afternoon high-tea. I didnt actually pay for the high tea so i can't tell you how much it cost. There were scones with whipped butter and jam. Prawn mayo sandwich (I think), tuna sandwich, ham and cheese sandwich. There are sweets ranging from cheesecake, strawberry cheesecake, fruit tartlets and etc. They were all very yummy and if you want a classy, high-class and girly high-tea with your girly friends, this is the right place.

After the high-tea, there were complimentary cocktails which i think its pretty standard.

The service from the waiter was very good, toilets are clean and atmosphere was very good too.

Please click YES if you think this review is helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelQueenie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milestone_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for reviewing The Milestone Hotel’s Afternoon Tea

I am delighted that you and your girlfriends enjoyed our tea and service so much. Our team do strive to deliver the best service combined with only the finest array of mouth-watering delights from our Chefs. We have also again been awarded The Tea Guild’s Award for Excellence for 2012 which is a testament to what our team constantly strive to achieve.

I sincerely hope to see you and your friends again soon.
Kindest regards

Geoffrey Wild
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed there with my family (wife and three kids 2,4,9) over the easter weekend and i never had a better one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanx to the whole staff, they´ve been so nice and everything was perfect!

The best Hotel ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Michael

Room Tip: Tudor Suite or any other! Every room looks brillant!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milestone_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Michael

Thank you for your wonderful comments about The Milestone Hotel

I am delighted to read that you had perfect Easter celebrations with us. I am very happy that your family enjoyed our hotel and sincerely hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards

Geoffrey Wild
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My family recently had the pleasure of staying at the Milestone Hotel in the Kensignton area of London. In all our years of traveling, we have had the opportunity to stay at several high quality hotel establishments including the Ritz, Four Seasons, Cloister at Sea Island, Sanctuary at Kiawah Island and the Breakers in Palm Beach. However, we have never had an experience quite like the Milestone. The entire staff from the front desk, to the doormen to the concierge went above and beyond our expectations. The staff covered every request with genuine courtesy, precision and the utmost professionalism. More importantly, they made our daughters feel special each and every day. The highlight of our stay was an afternoon tea that will remain in our hearts for years to come. The Milestone embodies a level of old style "British" service that we thought was gone forever. Thankfully, we were mistaken.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milestone_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Scott

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Milestone Hotel

I am delighted that you chose The Milestone for your recent visit to London. Our team were very happy to read you comments about their excellent service; they do strive to exceed our guests’ expectations at every opportunity. We were over the moon to read how favourably we compared to the Luxury hotels you stayed at before. I am also very happy that you managed to join us for afternoon tea and had such a memorable experience.

I hope you will be keeping us in mind for your future travel endeavours and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Geoffrey Wild
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I do not dish out the 'excellent' badge very often, but came close this time. This is a top class hotel, whilst remaining to be a little quirky and British. No fancy palm filled atrium here, but some nice cosy snugs and other little hideaways. Aims to provide impeccable service, and came rather close.

My only complaint was that the cooked breakfast really was made to order, possibly even sourced to order, as it did not arrive in time for me to eat it. Breakfast here is clearly to be enjoyed at a more leisurely pace than I could afford.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Origami_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you so much for your kind feedback following your recent stay with us at the Milestone.
Whilst I'm pleased and encouraged that we came close to ticking your "Excellence Box" I am disappointed that we missed this opportunity by your having to wait longer than you should have for your breakfast. Please accept my sincere apologies for this. Whilst we do prepare our hot breakfast dishes to order this should not have taken so long that you did not have the time to take it. Our team are always aware that our guests have different time constraints and we should always be able to pick the pace up if required to delivery a speedier service. One or two of our hot dishes are also a little quicker to prepare and serve and our breakfast team will always advise on this. Please do remind us about this when you next have the opportunity to stay and I will ensure that not only will breakfast be with our compliments but we will also ensure that you are able to enjoy it as intended.
Kind regards
Andrew Pike, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Property: The Milestone Hotel
Address: 1 Kensington Court, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): $528 - $1,472
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel housed within a meticulously restored grand Victorian mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing