We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12,533)
Filter reviews
12,533 results
Traveller rating
3,594
4,919
2,404
990
626
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,594
4,919
2,404
990
626
Show reviews that mention
All reviews covent garden gin palace wooden shutters great location trafalgar square single room charing cross station lounge bar west end executive room theatre land central location rooms are small london eye full english london hotel afternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
9,512 - 9,517 of 12,533 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here April BH weekend, as took the girlfriend to see a show. After booking a couple of colleagues advised they had stopped here and it wasn't "that great" because of rennovation work being undertaken. A little downhearted, but went to the hotel with an open mind.

Check in process very good, staff extremely helpful. Had booked a King room without a view, as most of the buildings in the area are of similar height, i wouldn't have expected much of a view anyway, but none the less ended up with a rather large executive room, facing the Savoy. Bathrobes, slippers and wifi all complimentary, room very clean, bathroom a little small, but still clean and functional.

Breakfast was a little manic, with one restaurant filling up and having to create an overflow in the restaurant next door, still didn't stop me from enjoying a full english though.

Bar open very late for guests, bar staff very friendly/attentive even into the small hours.

Only a 2 minute walk from Covent Garden, 15-20 minute walk from the London Eye and 20-25 minute walk from Buckingham Palace, this hotel was also ideally located.

Overall very happy with the room/breakfast/location for the £250 paid for 2 people for 2 nights and i would consider this hotel again.

Room tip: Book well in advance if you can to get the best rates.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreamDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just returned from the strand palace and was pleasantly surprised. Clean and reasonable value despite the small room and lack of draught beer. Food was also quite goos and reasonably priced. I would consider going back for a weekend break.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verygoodlad-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel has one of the best location in London. Close to Covent Garden, the Embankment etc. Easy to get from Waterloo or Victoria.
Staff very friendly and efficient
The double room that we were allocated on the 2nd floor was standard size
Bed was only 4ft 6in and very hard
Bathroom needed a little TLC

Room tip: Maybe worth paying the extra for a Kingsize bed
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Strand is in an excellent location and one can walk to most major attraction. The rooms tended to be a bit small, but that is the norm for London. I had an executive room and it was enough room. The bed was comfortable, the room well-appointed, and clean. There was only one of each towel, which was a small inconvenience.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrons55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just stayed at the Strand with a group of Friends. The good points about the hotel are: Excellent Location right next to Covent Garden, all of the inside has now been completely refurished so everthing is new and clean, with bright bathrooms. Rooms are on the smallish side, but then again so are a lot of others in London. Nice friendly cocktail bar.
Slight negatives were: You had to pay when you checked in rather than when you leave, which I have never known before. There is no air conditioning in the rooms - and they were quite warm. This did'nt really affect us as we went on quite a cold weekend and could have the windows open - but I would'nt stay in the summer! You had to pay for luggage storage - only £2 per bag, but a bit cheeky I think this really should be free! We ate breakfast out, but had you wanted to eat in the hotel you would have had to queue. Would I stay again - yes quite probably.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Helen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews