We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #370 of 1,078 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel has one of the best location in London. Close to Covent Garden, the Embankment etc. Easy to get from Waterloo or Victoria.
Staff very friendly and efficient
The double room that we were allocated on the 2nd floor was standard size
Bed was only 4ft 6in and very hard
Bathroom needed a little TLC

Room Tip: Maybe worth paying the extra for a Kingsize bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,475
    3,496
    1,530
    537
    310
See reviews for
1,059
2,839
1,139
1,794
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,390)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Strand is in an excellent location and one can walk to most major attraction. The rooms tended to be a bit small, but that is the norm for London. I had an executive room and it was enough room. The bed was comfortable, the room well-appointed, and clean. There was only one of each towel, which was a small inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrons55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield England
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just stayed at the Strand with a group of Friends. The good points about the hotel are: Excellent Location right next to Covent Garden, all of the inside has now been completely refurished so everthing is new and clean, with bright bathrooms. Rooms are on the smallish side, but then again so are a lot of others in London. Nice friendly cocktail bar.
Slight negatives were: You had to pay when you checked in rather than when you leave, which I have never known before. There is no air conditioning in the rooms - and they were quite warm. This did'nt really affect us as we went on quite a cold weekend and could have the windows open - but I would'nt stay in the summer! You had to pay for luggage storage - only £2 per bag, but a bit cheeky I think this really should be free! We ate breakfast out, but had you wanted to eat in the hotel you would have had to queue. Would I stay again - yes quite probably.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Helen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRALEE
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I have been staying at this hotel on visits to London with my wife since we married almost forty years ago. It was always our first choice, particularly with its proximity to theatre and restaurants . We have recommended it to our friends on many occasions.

I have just returned from a two night stay there and will not be returning. We took an Executive Room whichv was not good value considering the extra amount we were charged above the Club Room rate. For two specific examples of this- There was no shower cap provided and no refrigerator. We had to call reception for both these items and in the case of the refrigerator. it was not working.

However, my main criticism of the hotel concerns the fact that in neither the Mask Bar nor the Lounge Bar was there any draught beer available. In all my previous stays in the hotel there was draught beer available. When I complained about this I was told that this was a decision of management. To my mind a functioning bar is essential to any establishment which calls itself a hotel, particularly one which purports to cater for tourist visitors who visit London for thje attractions. I have no doubt that the absence of draught beer is as a result of some accountant's advice. The result is two sad and soulless bars which are offputting. I had looked forward to a few pints in the bar as in days of old. Sadly, it would seem people of my vintage are no longer welcome in this hotel which has lost its soul.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Strand Palace. I do apologise that there was no shower cap in your room. This must have been an oversight by our housekeeping department who have been made aware of your review. Regarding the refrigerator none of our rooms have them, and indeed have never had them, and although we seem to have supplied one, i agree it is unacceptable that it did not work. Regarding draught beer, we have not been serving this for some three years now, and have received very few complaints due to the extensive selection of bottled beers we stock. It was also perceived and has proved to be the case that draught beer is rarely requested in our cocktail bar. I apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, and assure that we welcome customers of all 'vintages' and can confirm that our accountant had no input in the decision to not sell draught beer in either of our busy and popular bars.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I have stayed in Strand Palace Hotel several times. The reason why I chose it was primarily its location. It is 5 minutes away fom Trafalgar/Covent Garden. However, you should bear in mind that rooms are very small. I suppose it is normal for London, but when you pay almost 200 pounds per night, you expect a decent size room, well, not in Strand Palace Hotel. I could hardly fit my suitcase in the room! The rooms do not seem to have adequate conditioning level. Customer service was good, check-in was easy. There is no swimming pool or fitness centre in the hotel, but if you go to the reception they will give you a pass/ ticket to the health centre across the road, which is free bonus

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki_Elchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#212 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#185 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#263 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $196 - $403
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and HotelsClick so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing